We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is subjective!”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The only criticism from me was the location. I read all the reviews that said about the location but unless you stay there it is not meaningful............it is in a residential street so away from the hustle and bustle entirely. It is a good brisk walk and quite hilly in both directions a taxi is an option about 8.00 to the station.

The rooms are very spacious, the bathroom was lovely. It is spotlessly clean and nice and light. The bedrooms are quite dim as all the light is from lamps this could be addressed in my view.

Breakfast was lovely beautifully presented and huge choices. We had dinner in both the bar and restaurant- as a really fussy eater I found something on each occassion although it is quite a limited choice.

Staff were all polite and helpful if anything I would say they could be less starchy - a little too formal for me more chatty but perhaps this is the preference. All very polite. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Sumptuous hotel reminiscent of a gentlemen's club in a lovely old Georgian terraced property.Located in a quiet residential street there was very little if any road noise .Taxi fare into Edinburgh was approx £7 single.The bedroom was light and airy with street views and decorated in autumn colours.The beds were large and comfy.All the extras like tea/coffee/ trouser press in the room and white Company toiletries.Surprisingly there was no heated towel rail in the bathroom.I personally found the room a tad cool but quite toasty in bed .Breakfast was served downstairs in a modern room .There was a large choice although it was extra for smoked fish.We found the staff very friendly and welcoming and overall a very nice atmosphere.Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Accommodation location offered a chance to view some impressive architecture on a twenty- minute walk to Castle ,&c. area.

Professional, attentive & personal service, especially noted from dining room staff.

"Relaxed atmosphere".

prompt, professional response to 'tourist' qureries.

Room Tip: Room 1 for the four poster! (if you can handle traffic over the cassies!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanBerry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My colleague and i were booked into this hotel for business. We arrived late evening and were told we had been double booked - after a confirmed booking through our company and had to be moved to the City centre. This was not acceptable but we had little choice as we had been on the road since 4am. Now I love Edinburgh, a great city but to go into the town centre the night of the festival was not great. we stayed in the Old Waverley which I will review separately. May concern here is that we were never informed of the change, we have never received an apology and this is despite other members of staff staying here on a regular basis. A really poor lack of respect and I and my colleague will never book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel..........................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a non-chain hotel, away from noise, but convenient enough to the city centre if you are happy with a 15 minute walk. We had a top floor room that was large, comfortable and with an excellent bathroom. When in our room, we heard nobody else in the hotel. The service was good and the breakfast was first class. The place was clean and the staff were courteous.Parking was on the street outside at a £1 and hour until 1730. The front of the hotel looked out onto a garden and the atmosphere was one of serenity. The cost was not overly expensive but in the mid range and represented pretty good value for money. You are close to a range of shops and eating places in a fairly classy area of the city. If you have got the impression that this is a good hotel, then you have got it.

Room Tip: The large rooms at the top of the building are roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a lovely hotel, old world charm and service with a smile. Would certainly recommend to any-one staying in Edinburgh. We stayed 5 nights when visiting the Tattoo, again a brilliant experience. It is a 10min walk out of the city but in a quiet area.
We had room 40 which was a little bit extra but well worth it. It had a double bedroom separate to the comfortable lounge and both of which had big bay windows with superb views. Obviously a bathroom as well: it felt rather like your own private quarters. Both rooms had a television in each room. Breakfast was delicious and the smoked salmon/scrambled eggs were scrumptious. All staff were very helpful, especially Olivia on the front desk, nothing was too much trouble. As I say, old world charm in all respects. Not meaning Olivia was old! Would certainly visit Channings again.
Many Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: As said room 40 was good in all respects
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newpastures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

A super review of Channing's and one that summarises what we aim to achieve perfectly. Many thanks for the kind words regarding our rooms and breakfast offering, and for singling out the newest member of our team, Olivia, for such high praise. I will pass this on to her - she will be thrilled!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hotel was booked as a birthday treat. Certainly lived up to the high standards and excellent service. Neither of us knew which room we were booked into so the four poster bed and jacuzzi bath were added bonuses. Very relaxed atmosphere within lounge areas. Hotel appeared to have many guests on business. Good location for west end. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1 which had the four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. The bath took forever to fill so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Another excellent review for Channing's - many,many thanks!!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,393 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#22 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing