We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor, professional staff”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, professional staff”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here for one night with my husband for our anniversary. We booked a suite, which was beautifully decorated and a pleasure to stay in. The receptionist was professional but perhaps could have been a little chattier to make the customer service a bit more personal. We had breakfast in the morning, there was a good range of food and it was all lovely. The service in the restaurant was great, the lady who seemed to be in charge was really friendly. Would stay again, was worried after reading other reviews about how far out it was from the centre but it's only a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
A superb review and I am thrilled to read that this guest was so enamoured with the decor. Many thanks also for taking the time to praise the staff - much appreciated!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    405
    129
    36
    20
See reviews for
145
706
58
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The only criticism from me was the location. I read all the reviews that said about the location but unless you stay there it is not meaningful............it is in a residential street so away from the hustle and bustle entirely. It is a good brisk walk and quite hilly in both directions a taxi is an option about 8.00 to the station.

The rooms are very spacious, the bathroom was lovely. It is spotlessly clean and nice and light. The bedrooms are quite dim as all the light is from lamps this could be addressed in my view.

Breakfast was lovely beautifully presented and huge choices. We had dinner in both the bar and restaurant- as a really fussy eater I found something on each occassion although it is quite a limited choice.

Staff were all polite and helpful if anything I would say they could be less starchy - a little too formal for me more chatty but perhaps this is the preference. All very polite. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Sumptuous hotel reminiscent of a gentlemen's club in a lovely old Georgian terraced property.Located in a quiet residential street there was very little if any road noise .Taxi fare into Edinburgh was approx £7 single.The bedroom was light and airy with street views and decorated in autumn colours.The beds were large and comfy.All the extras like tea/coffee/ trouser press in the room and white Company toiletries.Surprisingly there was no heated towel rail in the bathroom.I personally found the room a tad cool but quite toasty in bed .Breakfast was served downstairs in a modern room .There was a large choice although it was extra for smoked fish.We found the staff very friendly and welcoming and overall a very nice atmosphere.Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Accommodation location offered a chance to view some impressive architecture on a twenty- minute walk to Castle ,&c. area.

Professional, attentive & personal service, especially noted from dining room staff.

"Relaxed atmosphere".

prompt, professional response to 'tourist' qureries.

Room Tip: Room 1 for the four poster! (if you can handle traffic over the cassies!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanBerry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My colleague and i were booked into this hotel for business. We arrived late evening and were told we had been double booked - after a confirmed booking through our company and had to be moved to the City centre. This was not acceptable but we had little choice as we had been on the road since 4am. Now I love Edinburgh, a great city but to go into the town centre the night of the festival was not great. we stayed in the Old Waverley which I will review separately. May concern here is that we were never informed of the change, we have never received an apology and this is despite other members of staff staying here on a regular basis. A really poor lack of respect and I and my colleague will never book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel..........................
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a non-chain hotel, away from noise, but convenient enough to the city centre if you are happy with a 15 minute walk. We had a top floor room that was large, comfortable and with an excellent bathroom. When in our room, we heard nobody else in the hotel. The service was good and the breakfast was first class. The place was clean and the staff were courteous.Parking was on the street outside at a £1 and hour until 1730. The front of the hotel looked out onto a garden and the atmosphere was one of serenity. The cost was not overly expensive but in the mid range and represented pretty good value for money. You are close to a range of shops and eating places in a fairly classy area of the city. If you have got the impression that this is a good hotel, then you have got it.

Room Tip: The large rooms at the top of the building are roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a lovely hotel, old world charm and service with a smile. Would certainly recommend to any-one staying in Edinburgh. We stayed 5 nights when visiting the Tattoo, again a brilliant experience. It is a 10min walk out of the city but in a quiet area.
We had room 40 which was a little bit extra but well worth it. It had a double bedroom separate to the comfortable lounge and both of which had big bay windows with superb views. Obviously a bathroom as well: it felt rather like your own private quarters. Both rooms had a television in each room. Breakfast was delicious and the smoked salmon/scrambled eggs were scrumptious. All staff were very helpful, especially Olivia on the front desk, nothing was too much trouble. As I say, old world charm in all respects. Not meaning Olivia was old! Would certainly visit Channings again.
Many Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: As said room 40 was good in all respects
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newpastures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
A super review of Channing's and one that summarises what we aim to achieve perfectly. Many thanks for the kind words regarding our rooms and breakfast offering, and for singling out the newest member of our team, Olivia, for such high praise. I will pass this on to her - she will be thrilled!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,913 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#20 of 148 in Edinburgh
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing