We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Three of us went in 2011. Two of us returned in June.
We liked the service and personal.
Scott is wonderful and remembered us. He even asked about the third person'
The tea was just what I expected from an excellent place.
I am from Texas and could not believe the delicious nachos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper2heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location, only a short walk from town. Hotel is traditional in decor spread over five houses, this leads to a slight mish mash of rooms for example we had to walk via another floor to gain access to our room when the adjoining dinning area was being used. Internally the decor is good although our room was especially dark. Four poster bed was a treat as was the huge bath. The only let down is the water which you have to run for several minutes for it to be warm enough to wash in (strange for a hotel with an Eco conscience !) also the waitress with what looked like staples in her cheeks. Personal taste obviously but we found it strangely not in keeping with the ambience and not very nice. Overall a great hotel and our second visit, we will visit again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank charliechucklechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The rooms totally blew us away with the attention to details, massive bath tub and a huge four poster bed. The hotel is actually 5 Edwardian town houses knocked together. The staff could not have been friendlier. Only downsides: the breakfast was a bit lack luster (standard anemic B&B fare) and the reception desk did not answer their phone 24 hours like they were supposed to... a very bad thing for me as I had food poisoning and was desperate for someone to fetch me some medicine :/

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriadofsins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great bedroom, enormous comfortable bed, lovely furnishings. Reception and bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom in our room was tired, cracked sink, loose fittings and the shower took an age to warm up (what a waste of water)! Breakfast was disappointing ,cooked breakfast clearly zapped in a microwave, hard poached eggs and bacon welded together! Not the worst we've had by any stretch but not good enough for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We're regular visitors to Edinburgh and treated ourselves to a stay in this fantastic venue. The staff were superb, the room spacious and clean and the breakfasts could not be faulted.
Only downside may be the bathroom was a little cold despite the radiator pumping out heat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

A superb review for Channing's and my thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their thoughts on their experience with us. My apologies for the heating not being 100% - we had a faulty pump which has now been replaced.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This extremely comfortable and well appointed hotel has been formed by linking five town houses together, one of them originally having been owned by the Antarctic explorer Ernest Shackleton. Not only is the hotel itself peaceful, having a number of lounges for guest wishing to relax and read, it is located in a quiet residential area about 20 minutes walk from Princes Street. The rooms are generously sized and comfortable, the housekeeping staff having the uncanny ability to clean and tidy the bedrooms while the guests took breakfast. All of the staff from reception, cleaning and the catering areas were so willing and friendly. The food was so good in the downstairs bar area, which also had a wonderful atmosphere, that we took all our meals there - the quality of food and its presentation were excellent . If you want peace and quietness away from the hustle and bustle of the vibrant city, you should try Channings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Another superb review for Channing's Hotel - many, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a nice friendly hotel which is really 3 victorian houses linked together. Our standard room was quiet and of nice size with all the mod cons. The breakfast was very good (although the eating area looked a little tired) all the staff were very friendly and helpful. They have restaurant which we did not use only because we prefer to go out, but there are several restaurants and gastropubs 10 min away in Comely Bank. The hotel is pleasant 25min along Princes St from Waverely Station (Haymarket is a tad closer).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
822 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#51 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#25 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,196 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing