We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Channings is Charming”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #39 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Coleman, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Channings is Charming”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Great boutique hotel, about 20 minute walk from tourist attractions (bring raingear). Wonderful small bar with fireplace, frequented by locals each evening. We stayed over a week and used the hotel as a base for day trips. Staff was superlative. Excellent breakfasts included in room rate. Comfortable beds and pillows. Very clean. Our first few nights were in a small room with internet not working and rather stuffy. Switched to a slightly larger room, good internet access in room, nice breeze through windows. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Great staff and comfortable reading areas in lobby.
  • Disliked — Windows would not open fully.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColemanNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    412
    132
    36
    20
See reviews for
149
710
60
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Where can I start! This hotel is in a fantastic location. Right in the heart of Edinburgh but on a quiet and very beautiful street! It is only a fifteen/twenty minute walk up to the castle which we did as we were staying at this hotel while we went to see a Runrig concert at the castle for my boyfriends birthday.
The hotel itself is very cozy,welcoming and beautifully decorated. The staff are attentive and the rooms are fabulous. We stayed in the James Caird superior room which was a bit more expensive but well worth it. We had a very large room with amazing prints of Shackletons adventures on the wall. The room was equipped with a large tv and entertainment system with internet, email, tv, films and a jukebox which was great to get ready to! The room also had a gorgeous and very large bathroom with a modern freestanding rolltop bath and a large shower. This made our stay that extra little bit special as did the lovely molton brown toiletries. The bed in the room was extremely comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep.
Unfortunatly our concert started early so we did not have time to sample the hotels restuarant but we did have a meal in the bar area which was very good. I had wild mushroom risotto and my other half had posh fish (monkfish) and chips which were also very tasty and well priced. On returning to the hotel we went to the bar to try the cocktails which were also very good. we were the only people sat in the bar and it wasnt even late. Apparantly it is always very quiet as it tends to be older people who stay at this hotel.
In the morning we ordered room service which was BRILLIANT! everything was cooked to order and there was lots of choice and you could tell that everything was to the highest standard-freshly squeezed orange juice etc. We felt sorry for the poor guy who had walked the three flights of stairs to carry our tray up though!
This set us up nicely before we hit the road again. We were just sorry that we could not have spent longer at this hotel and we will hopefully return one day! The only downside to this hotel that I can think of is that the different areas of the hotel are not signed at all so we had to ask everytime we were trying to find somewhere. This wasnt a problem as all the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Liked — Beautiful and comfortable surroundings and friendly staff
  • Disliked — If i really was being picky, the lack of signage to different areas of the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank looooosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpclemy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Large, clean!!, beautiful room with a large very modern bath. This hotel was more than you could ask for. The staff was suberb!! Only a 5 min. walk to the bus to get to downtown Edinburgh. Very safe neighborhood.
The breakfast was excellent, book your room with it included. The bar downstairs stayed open as long as there were guest to be served. It was a great place to top off a day of sightseeing.
We would highly reccommend this hotel to our friends and would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleaniness and size of room
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jpclemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

My in-laws had stayed here twice before us. The beds were very comfortable and the bar in the basement was nice. We also were able to walk to town from the hotel yet there didn't seem to be a lot of traffic around the hotel.

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank layla207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk into the city and in a very leafy and quiet area. There are several buses into town.
The hotel was originally several large town houses elegantly refurbished into one large premise. There are fascinating photos of Shackleton, the explorer who apparently lived in the house.
The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast is huge and the food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious.
We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

I would highly recommend this hotel, views from our room where of leafy quiet suburban street with mature trees, goregous rooms, great restaurant & bar. 10 min walk from city centre... staff exceptionally helpful... would definately stay again!

  • Liked — Location in a quiet leafy suburb within 10 mins from the buzz of city centre.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Booked this hotel based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Would agree with most of what is been said in terms of cleanliness, nice decor and good food. The bedrooms have been updated with modern soft furnishings which look great. Whilst the bathroom was spotless it could benefit from a makeover as the tiling is pretty old style and the style is basic. As it was a small honeymoon for us we siad to the staff but unfortunately this didnt give us any extra perks! The one thing we did notice that when waiting in reception there was a lovely fire burning but the atmosphere was a bit stiff as people tended to whisper to each other. It could have been softened with some decent background music or something!! Would recommend it but personally would prefer a hotel of a similar standard but less stuffy.

  • Liked — Beautiful and comfortable bedroom
  • Disliked — Stuffy reception atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,938 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing