We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #44 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

People were very friendly & welcoming.
The hotel is made of 5 or 6 old homes joined together - very well done.
Room was nice & big (unusual for Europe) and well decorated. We had a very nice view of a park.
Bed was perfect - great couple of nights sleep.
Bathroom was well done & plenty of room.
Had dinner first night in Pub -was very good light dinner.
Breakfast was well done & more than enough choice for anyone.
Only thing I didn't like was parking. You can leave your car in front on street at night - but you have to move it during day - to approximately a mile away - very in convenient.
I would recommend this hotel & have to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    417
    134
    37
    20
See reviews for
150
715
60
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The receptionist was welcoming and the entrance lobby and lounge are pleasant. The room (36) was small but very clean as was the bathroom. The radiator was switched off when I arrived in the room although it was February; surely staff should check that it is on during the winter months before guests arrive. It worked when I switched it on but did not give out much heat. It was impossible to get the shower at the right temperature. It was either scalding hot or cold.The hot water in the basin also took ages to heat up.There was no "Welcome Pack" which I had been told would be in the room so no information about meal times, etc.Although I told the receptuonist it was missing, they never supplied one. The mattress was very uncomfortable and there was constant noise in the early hours from other guests banging doors and talking loudly so I had two awful nights. On the second night, something that sounded like a fog horn went off. The restaurant food was good if rather over-priced. The hotel seems to promise more than it can deliver. A shame as a little more care and attention would improve things. There should be a lift going down to the bar and restaurant which are in the basement - not good for older travellers. The existing lift to the bedrooms is small and ancient and takes forever to arrive.

Room Tip: Avoid 36 if possible. If you have limited mobility, you will find it hard to get to the bar and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaElt46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from a lovely weekend at Channing's Hotel. From start to finish we were looked after by courteous and friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a Shackleton Suite which was spacious, stylish, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We certainly would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HollyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From a warm friendly welcome to a gorgeous room this was a wonderful hotel experience. Only five minutes walk from City Centre the location was superb.The breakfast was also excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful from beginning to end.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavieMWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a fabulous boutique hotel! Rooms individually decorated, each as comfortable and elegant as the other. We were upgraded to a suite which was really lovely, but both the superior double and the petite double, which my mother and in laws stayed in, did not disappoint.
Staff were really courteous and helpful, the atmosphere was relaxed and informal.
The only disappointment was the hotel restaurant, which we chose to eat at on our first night. I had a terrine to start with, followed by fillet steak. Whilst I couldn't really complain about the food, it just didn't impress and it certainly seemed over priced for the size of the meal I had. Unfortunately the other four diners with me all felt the same.

Room Tip: Rooms 40, which was a suite, 22 and 26 were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It is not easy to find good, reasonably priced hotels in Edinburgh so I was pleased to get Channings for £100 per night B&B. I had been in the hotel about 10 years ago for work purposes and although a tiny bit shabby round the edges now, represented good value for a boutique hotel. Even though we had the smallest double, our room was big enough for a few nights. A couple of things make Channings special however - cosy Reception area with burning fire, friendly staff and its lovely location. We just loved the area with its town houses, cobbly streets and private gardens - so peaceful. A 5 min walk southeast takes you Stockbridge with it's independent little shops and pubs (try the Stockbridge Tap) or 10-15 mins uphill to Edinburgh's West End and Princes Street. Edinburgh is a beautiful city and Channings is an ideal base from which to explore. We would definitely return and recommend to others

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendsPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel 1st -3rd February 2014 and we found the staff extremely helpful & polite.We arrived early but our room was ready.We stayed in a basement room no 16 and it was spacious,comfortable & quiet with a huge bed and because the hotel is in a quiet area we slept very well .Breakfast was very good with a excellent selection.Only a 10 minute walk to Princess Street so this was not a problem for us

Room Tip: Although we did not have the view from room 16 it was still very nice & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjones59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,261 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
843 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#49 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing