We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable, friendly hotel - recommended”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for three nights and had a great stay. Comfortable rooms and very friendly welcoming staff. The hotel itself is close enough to walk into the centre but far enough out to be quiet and very relaxed. The room was very comfortable and clean.
We had a meal in the bar and the food was very good. The bar had a good atmosphere and was very welcoming.
Would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Despite having hiccups booking through hotels.com (I recommend booking directly with the hotel!) it didn't dishearten us and the management were good with communication whilst sorting the issue out.

The hotel is in a quieter part of town and we enjoyed the walk into Edinburgh each morning after breakfast. To get to the royal mile where all the touristy bits etc is took is about half an hour.

The hotel is gorgeously decorated. We were in room 1 with a huge four poster bed and the biggest bath that could fit a fair few people in!

We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The staff are very polite.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We paid £99 for the Quest room and I highly recommend this hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom was bigger than the entire room at the last hotel I stayed at in London! Breakfast was superb and the staff were all courteous and friendly. It only takes ten minutes or so to walk to Princes St.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MudmanLuanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is very handy for Princess Street. 10 mins walk and you are on the street. You can park out side the hotel for free between 5.30pm and 08.30am. There are parking machines which you can pay for 4 hours max at £1.00 per hour.

The hotel is very clean. and friendly. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff were all very friendly and professional.

Will defiantly go back especially when we got a great deal with Late rooms

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelineflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ok so my boyfriend and I stayed here in the Endurance Suite and there's just a few points to mention...
Pros:
• room large
• separate seating area
• separate shower and bath (in HUGE bathroom)
•windows that actually open a proper amount!
•free wifi with good connection
• most of all.. The staff in the bar are the hotel's hidden gem. They are friendly, accommodating, make an effort to remember you and also make great drinks. It's a crying shame they aren't front of house because the combination of professionalism, jollity and skill are crowd-pleasing for the majority of customers
Cons...
• I don't think a £4 tray charge on room service for a £6 sandwich is acceptable... Even in Edinburgh. Other hotels closer to the station/bars/restaurants have no tray charge. We've stayed at these hotels, and spent a lot more money. Channings have got themselves into a false economy.
• Seeing trays with sandwiches with one bite out of them outside rooms on your arrival makes one even less likely to spend a fortune on getting one.
• No fridge/minibar... Can't quite believe it given the standard of the room.
• Bathroom is major selling point of room- so why no bathrobes? No bubble bath? Mainly mediocre, standard toiletries. Odd.
• outside space- we like to cool down outside, they have a lovely courtyard, so we decided to finish off our drinks there... Only to be locked out by the receptionist! No lights on or anything, they are pushing away clientele that smoke or are Geordies like us and therefore love a bit of cold air!
• Take a note from the Tigerlily, offer breakfast past silly o'clock in the morning! Look, be a business! Get people to stay up late, order drinks and food to their hearts content, sleep in and start again! We're here for a rest I don't want to have to get dressed at 10am to even make breakfast in my room! Come on people... Get your business hats on.
• £10 for a 1 hour later check out is ludicrous- my boyfriend is on crutches and uncomfortable, we wanted to spend as little time as possible in the station, so paid the money. But I think it's again, bad business sense.

Will give them another go. But Howay, you could tweak this hotel and spend next to no money and you'd get 5 stars across the board. Get on it people!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SophieLMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were on the Shackleton floor and our room was spacious, comfortable and had a huge bathroom with a fabulous tub. The views over the city were gorgeous. The hotel is charming, with various nooks and crannies to wile away any spare time. We enjoyed the pub and the breakfast was great. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Shackleton floor. They are big and roomy and have wonderful views. And then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryW49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

People were very friendly & welcoming.
The hotel is made of 5 or 6 old homes joined together - very well done.
Room was nice & big (unusual for Europe) and well decorated. We had a very nice view of a park.
Bed was perfect - great couple of nights sleep.
Bathroom was well done & plenty of room.
Had dinner first night in Pub -was very good light dinner.
Breakfast was well done & more than enough choice for anyone.
Only thing I didn't like was parking. You can leave your car in front on street at night - but you have to move it during day - to approximately a mile away - very in convenient.
I would recommend this hotel & have to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,388 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,312 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing