We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day for a family celebration”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great day for a family celebration”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

How well we were looked after on Sunday. We were celebrating a 60th Wedding Anniversary and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We weren't hurried away when a group of us just wanted to sit around talking afterwards. Thanks to all the staff

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PAnn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review of Channings. It is a pleasure to see that you have chosen us for your 60th Wedding Anniversary and that you have enjoyed your visit. Thank you once again for your high rating and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    405
    129
    36
    20
See reviews for
144
706
58
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Channings appears to have had almost a complete change of staff since we last visited, and the bar has been refurbished, which was long over-due (doesn't quite continue the 'Town House' theme, but that's just really a quibble). I'm pleased to say that, with the notable exception of the member of staff in the restaurant who seemed to be chewing gum as she took out order and obviously hadn't been trained to serve wine properly, the new staff maintain Channings' high quality of service (especially where overseas visitors are concerned, which is always good to see). Usual excellent breakfast, good coffee and friendly attentive service from the 'breakfast staff'. Furniture in the rooms is still a little battered and 'tired' in places (which may actually add to the hotel's charm!) and the rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean, which is a real credit to the house-keeping staff. The food in the restaurant is OK, but nothing really special and there is a lot of competition from the restaurants in nearby Stockbridge, which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view of the gardens, and the road is not particularly busy as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I have just enjoyed a lovely short break in Edinburgh. The stay at Channings Hotel was great. The room we stayed in was superb with lovely unusual decor, large comfortable bed and large bathroom with underfloor heating . The breakfast was beautiful and plentiful with a good choice.The staff are very professional and friendly.We only had one evening meal in the bar which was disappointing as the chips were not fully cooked. We should have complained, along with another diner, but did not want to spoil the good time we were having.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for Princes St. which is about 15 mins walk away or you can take advantage of a regular bus service with a stop nearby. All bus journeys in Edinburgh cost £1.50 regardless of distance or an unlimited day ticket costs £3.50.
A slight inconvenience is the lack of free parking and the nearest free street parking is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. However , because of the proximity of the town centre , we never found this a problem. We simply parked up for the duration of our stay.
I hope we can visit Edinburgh again as there are so many things to do. We would look forward to staying at Channings again.

Room Tip: Our room was actually a suite on the top floor and is probably the nicest room we have ever occupied
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a positive review of Channings. It is always good to see that our guests enjoy their stay with us and would choose us again in the future. I would like to apologise for your dinner experience regarding the chips, and I can assure you it will never happen again. If however you will experience something that you feel is not up to standard please bring our attention to the problem and we will try to fix it as soon as possible.
In regards to the parking spaces, we hope it did not cause much inconvenience as Edinburgh is a very difficult city for parking and since we are located in the residential area most of the spaces are offered to the locals.
I am more than glad to see that our service met with your approval and please be sure that your comments will be passed on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back at Channings!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After deciding very last minute that we needed a wee break, I made contact with Jamie at Channings who was wonderfully efficient, helpful and determined to get us to stay at the hotel. After negotiating a good rate inclusive of dinner, breakfast and wine, I booked up. Upon arrival at the hotel we checked in smoothly and then made our way up to our room - we were in the Discovery Suite, one of the Shackleton Suites. The room was absolutely fantastic with masses of space and places to sit down and relax. The bed was very comfortable but perhaps the best thing about the room was the bathroom. It was massive and had a lovely shower (although temperature was difficult to get right at points) and a massive bath. The decor throughout was tasteful but classy. Dinner that night was absolutely lovely - we both had the scallops to start followed by the fillet steak. Desserts were also lovely and we had cheese and biscuits and the chocolate mousse - no complaints at all and the waiting staff (our server was from Romania) were top class. We slept soundly on an unusually warm Scottish night and both opted for the full Scottish breakfast the next day. This too was top notch and we will have no hesitation in returning to Channings again at one point in the near future!

Room Tip: Discovery - amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrburrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time and writing a review of our town house hotel.I do appreciate your positive feedback of our rooms, services and amenities. Please be sure that I will pass on your comments to the rest of our team; they will be definitely delighted to see that they have contributed to your spontaneous break.
Thank you for choosing Channings and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Channings for 2 nights prior to an Isle of Skye tour and then again for one night after, before heading home. This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are beautiful, ours had a wonderful view of Fettis University and the city. It is a 20 minute walk to the center, or a short bus ride. Hotel has a excellent upscale restaurant plus a bar with bar food. Nice breakfast in a conservatory and a lovely garden in the back with tables and chairs. Staff could not have been more accommodating. Edinburgh is a wonderful and beautiful city and I hope to return. If I do, I will always stay at Channings. LOVED it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeggyB3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Peggy,

Thank you for your fabulous review of Channings. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and that we could contribute to your positive experience. We strive to provide the best service possible and I am more than glad to see that we have met your high standards.
Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation in Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were at the Channings Hotel on Fri 4th July for a wedding and I can honestly say that the staff were great, nothing was to much trouble for them. The rooms were also great especially ours which was right next to the bar (so not far to fall into bed, lol) and we also had a jacuzzi which was very nice. The breakfasts were a wee bit of a let down as my daughter put it (they have rubbery mushrooms and tomato sauce which was not Heinz) but my husband thought it was very tasty even without the Heinz sauce. I would like to mention Joe he was very friendly and always around when you needed him. Our stay could not have been better and everybody enjoyed themselves. A well deserved thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie9262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Annie,

I would like to express many thanks for this fantastic review. It is great to hear that you were impressed with our service staff, please be sure that I will pass your feedback to our team. I will also pass your notes about the breakfast to our chef, thank you for pointing that out.
I do hope that you and your family had a great time in Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My son and I stayed three nights in june, and we had a wonderfull stay. We had a suite on 2. floor overlooking the pretty surroundings. We found the hotel just perfect, and the staff were nice and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikkeSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks to this guest for the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,910 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#20 of 148 in Edinburgh
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing