We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historical touch - Ernest Shacketlon 100 years ago”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical touch - Ernest Shacketlon 100 years ago”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked into Channings for our last night in Edinburgh before leaving back to France. Upgraded to the top-floor suite: Endeavour.

A wonderful touch of history: Ernest Shackelton lived here a century ago and he's one of my all-time heroes as an explorer and as a people manager. Images and reminders are all over the hotel.
Room was comfortable with black-out blinds, not common in UK. Bathroom was a treat!
I'll say no more ...
Breakfast was copious in the conservatory. Would be better if you did not have to ask staff to fill up on coffee ...
Location is good, quiet and a short cab drive to city center.
Enjoyable stay

Room Tip: No air-conditioning - top floor suites on North Side are better than South side due to heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your high rating of Channings. I am very pleased to hear that you are a big admirer of the famous explorer and it is great to see that our rooms met with your approval. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    399
    126
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
700
57
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My advice would be; don’t stay at Channings!

This is the first hotel I have ever checked out of because it was totally unsatisfactory. You can read my sorry tale below but in summary; the hotel offers relatively expensive rooms that are uninhabitable when the weather turns warm. The staff and management largely ignore your complaints and do nothing to resolve issues.

We subsequently checked in to the G&V hotel in the Old Town and had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh and were reminded of what a good hotel is like!

The Channings Debacle;
I booked to stay at Channings for 7 nights. On arrival, we were informed we had been upgraded to a junior suite. I was initially pleasantly surprised but this was quickly replaced by horror when I entered the room; which smelt of stale body odour and had a temperature of over 90 degrees.

Scotland is famed for many things but hot weather is not one of them. The room in question; Nimrod, is in the converted attic of the original building. The ceilings are low, it is south facing, the windows had been closed all day and there was no through draft or air conditioning. I believe other ‘superior’ rooms are on the same floor and would suffer from the same problem; a badly executed conversion of a lovely Georgian building.

I asked the staff at reception if we could move in to the room we had originally booked; this was no longer available. They bought up a single fan and assured us the room would cool down shortly. Given the construction of the room we knew this would not happen and we spent a sleepless night lying in a room with a temperature of 93 degrees; which would be unacceptable to anyone.

The Duty Manager confirmed the excessive heat in the rooms were a known a problem but the Management team have clearly felt in unnecessary to invest in air conditioning. They instead charged us £230 for the nights’ accommodation but in their words; let us off any cancellation charges. How generous!!

I have written to Jamie Nelson ( Front Office Manager) asking for a full refund. Apart from an acknowledgement of my email I have heard nothing back from him after 1 week.

Other complaints I could list include; the hotel WiFi does not work, it disconnects every minute forcing you to reconnect all the time. The room décor was ‘tired’. Breakfast was served in the basement and was understaffed. The buffet ran out of items and we had to ask for virtually everything to be topped up.
All in all a terrible experience!

Room Tip: Avoid any room on the top floor in the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AlisonHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We got off our flight into Edinburgh at 6:30 am. Armed with our luggage and very little sleep we headed to Channings planning to stow our bags and find some place to sit until our room was ready. When we got to the hotel, we were treated to breakfast while our room was made up, we got in a nap on a comfortable bed and were ready to begin our exploration of Edinburgh that afternoon. Channings is a 20 minute walk from the city center or a quick bus ride. Away from the hustle and bustle, but still very close. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davysclark2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your favourable comments on Channings. I am very glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could contribute to your memories of Edinburgh. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

How well we were looked after on Sunday. We were celebrating a 60th Wedding Anniversary and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We weren't hurried away when a group of us just wanted to sit around talking afterwards. Thanks to all the staff

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PAnn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review of Channings. It is a pleasure to see that you have chosen us for your 60th Wedding Anniversary and that you have enjoyed your visit. Thank you once again for your high rating and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Channings appears to have had almost a complete change of staff since we last visited, and the bar has been refurbished, which was long over-due (doesn't quite continue the 'Town House' theme, but that's just really a quibble). I'm pleased to say that, with the notable exception of the member of staff in the restaurant who seemed to be chewing gum as she took out order and obviously hadn't been trained to serve wine properly, the new staff maintain Channings' high quality of service (especially where overseas visitors are concerned, which is always good to see). Usual excellent breakfast, good coffee and friendly attentive service from the 'breakfast staff'. Furniture in the rooms is still a little battered and 'tired' in places (which may actually add to the hotel's charm!) and the rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean, which is a real credit to the house-keeping staff. The food in the restaurant is OK, but nothing really special and there is a lot of competition from the restaurants in nearby Stockbridge, which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view of the gardens, and the road is not particularly busy as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I have just enjoyed a lovely short break in Edinburgh. The stay at Channings Hotel was great. The room we stayed in was superb with lovely unusual decor, large comfortable bed and large bathroom with underfloor heating . The breakfast was beautiful and plentiful with a good choice.The staff are very professional and friendly.We only had one evening meal in the bar which was disappointing as the chips were not fully cooked. We should have complained, along with another diner, but did not want to spoil the good time we were having.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for Princes St. which is about 15 mins walk away or you can take advantage of a regular bus service with a stop nearby. All bus journeys in Edinburgh cost £1.50 regardless of distance or an unlimited day ticket costs £3.50.
A slight inconvenience is the lack of free parking and the nearest free street parking is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. However , because of the proximity of the town centre , we never found this a problem. We simply parked up for the duration of our stay.
I hope we can visit Edinburgh again as there are so many things to do. We would look forward to staying at Channings again.

Room Tip: Our room was actually a suite on the top floor and is probably the nicest room we have ever occupied
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a positive review of Channings. It is always good to see that our guests enjoy their stay with us and would choose us again in the future. I would like to apologise for your dinner experience regarding the chips, and I can assure you it will never happen again. If however you will experience something that you feel is not up to standard please bring our attention to the problem and we will try to fix it as soon as possible.
In regards to the parking spaces, we hope it did not cause much inconvenience as Edinburgh is a very difficult city for parking and since we are located in the residential area most of the spaces are offered to the locals.
I am more than glad to see that our service met with your approval and please be sure that your comments will be passed on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back at Channings!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After deciding very last minute that we needed a wee break, I made contact with Jamie at Channings who was wonderfully efficient, helpful and determined to get us to stay at the hotel. After negotiating a good rate inclusive of dinner, breakfast and wine, I booked up. Upon arrival at the hotel we checked in smoothly and then made our way up to our room - we were in the Discovery Suite, one of the Shackleton Suites. The room was absolutely fantastic with masses of space and places to sit down and relax. The bed was very comfortable but perhaps the best thing about the room was the bathroom. It was massive and had a lovely shower (although temperature was difficult to get right at points) and a massive bath. The decor throughout was tasteful but classy. Dinner that night was absolutely lovely - we both had the scallops to start followed by the fillet steak. Desserts were also lovely and we had cheese and biscuits and the chocolate mousse - no complaints at all and the waiting staff (our server was from Romania) were top class. We slept soundly on an unusually warm Scottish night and both opted for the full Scottish breakfast the next day. This too was top notch and we will have no hesitation in returning to Channings again at one point in the near future!

Room Tip: Discovery - amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrburrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time and writing a review of our town house hotel.I do appreciate your positive feedback of our rooms, services and amenities. Please be sure that I will pass on your comments to the rest of our team; they will be definitely delighted to see that they have contributed to your spontaneous break.
Thank you for choosing Channings and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing