We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, lovely...”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite simply, lovely...”
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Stayed here with my partner between Christmas and New Year. We like hotels which have traditional features, not the usual hotels with cheap, modern furniture.
Had a brilliant stay, gorgeous room with lovely view of the city. Large, comfortable bed and lovely, warm room! Lovely furniture and nice big wardrobe. Bathroom was slightly small but clean and adequate to our needs.

Staff were very friendly and able to offer advice on places to eat etc.
Cosy lounges have fires which add to the ambience of this traditional hotel.
Delicious breakfasts-everything you could ask for. Would definately stay here again.
Channings is situated on a quiet street, only a short walk from the nearest bus stop. Lovely surroundings and an excellent hotel to retire to at the end of a busy day in Edinburgh.

  • Liked — Cosy and welcoming
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    405
    129
    36
    20
See reviews for
145
706
58
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Our booking was a last minute whim, in order to visit two of our sons in Edinburgh; as most of the reasonably priced hotels were booked we thought we would treat ourselves to some luxury.
The hotel is luxurious, but we both felt more could have been done in little things to warrant the £185.00 we paid for one night.
We ate in the restaurant, knowing that we were paying high prices for what we imagined would be fine dining.
It was mediocre for the price,two of the party had rib-eye steak; which looked as if it would fared better in a sandwich.
Ran out of sausages and smoked salmon for breakfast.
expected guests to pay for water in bedroom.
I felt so sad that we had paid so much and received so little for price.
Only recommend to friends if they have money to burn.
Julie from Aberdeen

  • Liked — lounge areas , bar which was lovely and big bathroom.
  • Disliked — restaurant and price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank juspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Booked this hotel on the strength of reading TripAdvisor reviews.

Our superior bedroom was lovely with all the usual trimmings. Flat screen TV and internet, crisp white linen sheets, bottled water, hospitality tray, trouser press, Gideon bible.

The turndown service and bottle of wine was a nice touch. Reception staff and the Concierge were cheerful and helpful. It does make a difference.

However breakfasts were just OK and the breakfast staff were brusk throughout our stay. The first morning the waiter looked at his watch when we came down to breakfast at 9.45.

We did not try dinner as the dining room didn't look so welcoming - empty and without atmosphere.

Also wish the hotel was nearer the city centre. It was a good 15 minute walk.

So location and breakfast slightly disappointing, everything else was great.

  • Liked — Our room
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moody_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We stayed here for my husbands birthday and had a fab time.
The hotel was in a great location - it takes about 10 min to walk to the town centre.

The staff were great, very welcoming and only to happy to help, from giving advice on where to go in the city through to the friendly bar staff.

We arrived early and were suprised when we checked in to find our room ready for us.

The room didnt let us down, it was large and had all the mod cons whilst decorated to a high standard.

The boozy snoozy lunch was great and excellent value for money - so if you are staying at the weekend it is worth booking.

Both my husband and I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure and we both felt this was one of the best places we have stayed.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NellyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Small hotel in a quiet residential area, but very close to Princes Street. Lovely rooms with high quality furnishings. Free parking at front at weekends.

Very friendly and attentive staff.

Fantastic breakfast - especially the french yoghurts!

  • Liked — Large room, great food and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleman, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Great boutique hotel, about 20 minute walk from tourist attractions (bring raingear). Wonderful small bar with fireplace, frequented by locals each evening. We stayed over a week and used the hotel as a base for day trips. Staff was superlative. Excellent breakfasts included in room rate. Comfortable beds and pillows. Very clean. Our first few nights were in a small room with internet not working and rather stuffy. Switched to a slightly larger room, good internet access in room, nice breeze through windows. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Great staff and comfortable reading areas in lobby.
  • Disliked — Windows would not open fully.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColemanNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Where can I start! This hotel is in a fantastic location. Right in the heart of Edinburgh but on a quiet and very beautiful street! It is only a fifteen/twenty minute walk up to the castle which we did as we were staying at this hotel while we went to see a Runrig concert at the castle for my boyfriends birthday.
The hotel itself is very cozy,welcoming and beautifully decorated. The staff are attentive and the rooms are fabulous. We stayed in the James Caird superior room which was a bit more expensive but well worth it. We had a very large room with amazing prints of Shackletons adventures on the wall. The room was equipped with a large tv and entertainment system with internet, email, tv, films and a jukebox which was great to get ready to! The room also had a gorgeous and very large bathroom with a modern freestanding rolltop bath and a large shower. This made our stay that extra little bit special as did the lovely molton brown toiletries. The bed in the room was extremely comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep.
Unfortunatly our concert started early so we did not have time to sample the hotels restuarant but we did have a meal in the bar area which was very good. I had wild mushroom risotto and my other half had posh fish (monkfish) and chips which were also very tasty and well priced. On returning to the hotel we went to the bar to try the cocktails which were also very good. we were the only people sat in the bar and it wasnt even late. Apparantly it is always very quiet as it tends to be older people who stay at this hotel.
In the morning we ordered room service which was BRILLIANT! everything was cooked to order and there was lots of choice and you could tell that everything was to the highest standard-freshly squeezed orange juice etc. We felt sorry for the poor guy who had walked the three flights of stairs to carry our tray up though!
This set us up nicely before we hit the road again. We were just sorry that we could not have spent longer at this hotel and we will hopefully return one day! The only downside to this hotel that I can think of is that the different areas of the hotel are not signed at all so we had to ask everytime we were trying to find somewhere. This wasnt a problem as all the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Liked — Beautiful and comfortable surroundings and friendly staff
  • Disliked — If i really was being picky, the lack of signage to different areas of the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank looooosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#19 of 148 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing