We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Sunday Night DBB”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We booked the special Sunday night dinner, bed and breakfast deal for 2 for £99 through the hotel website. This included standard double, three course dinner and full breakfast. It was a bargain for what we got.

Firstly the room was great. We previously stayed here in 2006 and booked an upgraded room. The only difference was that the upgraded room had a roll top bath and separate shower, while the standard had a normal bath with over bath shower. The room itself was just as nice. So for the difference in cost I would say its not worth the extra.

Location. As said in the other reviews it is a 15 minute walk up to Princess street. The hotel is situated on a lovely quiet residencial street with great views if you get a room looking the right way. We felt the walk into the centre was quite picturesque and just right if you want to be slightly away from the hustle and bustle.

The food was also good. We really enjoyed the dinner, although the menu had a limited selection due to the deal, with a choice of 3 starters, mains and sweets. The cost for just visiting the hotel and having the 3 course set menu was £25 a head, which we though was quite pricey as there are a lot of places in Edinburgh, with better food and better ambience for the money, by the time you add in your wine. Breakfast was pretty average.

The staff at the hotel seemed very nice and helpful, especially the concerirge at check-in. The only little niggle we had was when we went down to the bar at 11.30. Granted it was a sunday night and the staff wanted to get home, but we were on holiday. When I asked for a certain cocktail I had 2 years ago I got a blunt 'we dont do that' - no offer of any alternative. We then sat in silence in the empty bar drinking our £4.50 G&T's and when we got up to leave, nice lounge music was turned on!

Overall though this deal/hotel represents great value for money in pricy edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2009

The Welcome -
Simply wonderful and very personal. The staff are a credit to this hotel and really make the stay. They are all extremely happy to help and indeed, go out of their way to do so.

The Room -
I had a petit double which in fact was larger than I expected. It was lavishly decorated with regal blackout curtains and a very comfortable bed. I had a great night's sleep. While the bathroom was nice, my only gripe would be that there was no cream/body lotion which is unusual for a hotel of this standard. The water pressure was also rather low.

Room Service -
Fabulous. Very quick, beautifully presented and the best baked potato and wine I have ever had! I never thought a baked potato could be so luxurious!

Breakfast -
A nice spread but very disappointed that you have to pay extra (!) for hot chocolate!!! When I heard this, I chose not to order it but when the manager heard that I do not drink tea or coffee, she very kindly gave me a sumptuous cup of hot chocolate on the house. While very grateful for this, I do not think it is fair to charge extra for this generally.

Location -
This was perfect for my business trip but I did not evaluate this as a tourist. The staff are extremely helpful in directing or recommending trips. It is perhaps a little far out for town.

Overall -
A really very enjoyable and impressive stay - I will definitely stay again. Check out the hotel website's own internet offers - very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissFussyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Stayed here with my partner between Christmas and New Year. We like hotels which have traditional features, not the usual hotels with cheap, modern furniture.
Had a brilliant stay, gorgeous room with lovely view of the city. Large, comfortable bed and lovely, warm room! Lovely furniture and nice big wardrobe. Bathroom was slightly small but clean and adequate to our needs.

Staff were very friendly and able to offer advice on places to eat etc.
Cosy lounges have fires which add to the ambience of this traditional hotel.
Delicious breakfasts-everything you could ask for. Would definately stay here again.
Channings is situated on a quiet street, only a short walk from the nearest bus stop. Lovely surroundings and an excellent hotel to retire to at the end of a busy day in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Our booking was a last minute whim, in order to visit two of our sons in Edinburgh; as most of the reasonably priced hotels were booked we thought we would treat ourselves to some luxury.
The hotel is luxurious, but we both felt more could have been done in little things to warrant the £185.00 we paid for one night.
We ate in the restaurant, knowing that we were paying high prices for what we imagined would be fine dining.
It was mediocre for the price,two of the party had rib-eye steak; which looked as if it would fared better in a sandwich.
Ran out of sausages and smoked salmon for breakfast.
expected guests to pay for water in bedroom.
I felt so sad that we had paid so much and received so little for price.
Only recommend to friends if they have money to burn.
Julie from Aberdeen

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank juspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Booked this hotel on the strength of reading TripAdvisor reviews.

Our superior bedroom was lovely with all the usual trimmings. Flat screen TV and internet, crisp white linen sheets, bottled water, hospitality tray, trouser press, Gideon bible.

The turndown service and bottle of wine was a nice touch. Reception staff and the Concierge were cheerful and helpful. It does make a difference.

However breakfasts were just OK and the breakfast staff were brusk throughout our stay. The first morning the waiter looked at his watch when we came down to breakfast at 9.45.

We did not try dinner as the dining room didn't look so welcoming - empty and without atmosphere.

Also wish the hotel was nearer the city centre. It was a good 15 minute walk.

So location and breakfast slightly disappointing, everything else was great.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moody_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We stayed here for my husbands birthday and had a fab time.
The hotel was in a great location - it takes about 10 min to walk to the town centre.

The staff were great, very welcoming and only to happy to help, from giving advice on where to go in the city through to the friendly bar staff.

We arrived early and were suprised when we checked in to find our room ready for us.

The room didnt let us down, it was large and had all the mod cons whilst decorated to a high standard.

The boozy snoozy lunch was great and excellent value for money - so if you are staying at the weekend it is worth booking.

Both my husband and I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure and we both felt this was one of the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NellyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Small hotel in a quiet residential area, but very close to Princes Street. Lovely rooms with high quality furnishings. Free parking at front at weekends.

Very friendly and attentive staff.

Fantastic breakfast - especially the french yoghurts!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NigelAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,379 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,297 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
896 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing