We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in quiet location”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I had a very enjoyable short stay at Channings. I booked a special offer "Petite" double room and it was very good value for money. Rooms rarely resemble the photos on hotel websites but this time it didn't disappoint. The room was compact but had a comfortable double bed and was extremely quiet. The only gripe was that there wasn't always much hot water in the bathroom and the bath had no hand or grab rails. Staff were very friendly and the hotel had the feeling of a welcoming house rather than a faceless city four star. Breakfast was pretty good and the staff seemed to try to accommodate the most difficult of guests (of which there was one while I was there). It was a 10-15 minute walk to the end of Princes Street and about another 10 minutes to Waverley Station from there. It was a nice quiet location yet not too far out. I would certainly recommend it to friends and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneyBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

Our last stop on our Scotland vacation, and Channings was the perfect spot to wind up our trip. We were very fortunately upgraded to a junior suite as well. The staff is exemplary, friendly but not stuffy. The restaurant has very good food, there is a nice bar as well.
At first glance I thought it was too far for walking into the city centre, but it is only about a 10-15 minute walk to the castle. It is also near two musuems within a 5 minute walk as well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We were met by friendly staff on our arrival, who were sure to point out the sights and provide directions for the city centre. The room was clean and had a great view. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the town centre (far enough out to be peaceful at night but close enough to walk to!). Food in the hotel does not disappoint - they offer the best omelettes for breakfast, all the staff are happy to help.
One of the best things is the Molton Brown toiletries, luxury. This is the perfect hotel if you are looking to escape from the hussle and bussle of everyday life.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We were made to feel welcome and attended to from the moment we arrived after an overnight flight from U.S.A. The staff could not have been more helpful and the location offered us the opportunity to explore various neighborhoods while we walked to the center of the city. Room was spacious and comfortable and a beer in their lovely garden after a day of exploring was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2togNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Scotland and stayed in this charming boutique hotel for 2 nights. We stayed in the "Nimrod" suite which was lovely. The bathroom was HUGE with a giant stand alone tub and a separate shower. The bed was a queen and pretty comfortable. The only downside to the hotel (but it was somewhat an upside as well) was the location to the city center. It would have been far to walk, but we took the bus to and from the center, which was fairly easy to figure out. The nice thing about it being away from the center, was that it was nice and quiet, minus the birds outside. The staff was very helpful in giving us directions, bus numbers, wake up calls, etc. We ate breakfast there one morning and it was sufficient with pastries, fruit, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, etc. I would definitely stay here again if traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudiegrl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Really enjoyed my stay; hotel staff were bery helpful and friendly and the room price represents great value for money. Very good breakfast. Hotel is a pleasant shortish walk from the City centre. Cant really fault

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Last August, I took my Mum to the Channings boutique hotel in Edinburgh for a 2 night stay for a special birthday. It is a beautiful townhouse converted into a charming and cosy hotel. The staff welcomed us on arrival and they were continuously helpful, friendly and professional. We booked in to the restaurant for our first night and the food was exquisite. Before our break, I had ordered a bottle sparkling wine as a surprise which they brought to the room on time and they also bought in a beautiful chocolate birthday cake. I couldn't fault a thing. In terms of location, it is walking distance to Edinburgh centre although this does involve walking up a slight incline initially - it would probably take about 20 minutes to walk in.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,310 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing