We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly quality hotel with good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly quality hotel with good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Travelled with a group of 13 who all were very happy with this hotel. Rooms of good quality well finished and very clean. Staff genuininely very friendly and helpful. We will visit again shortly. Good location with only short ride to centre.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbeamimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    387
    125
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
691
55
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

We really enjoyed our stay, only 15 minute walk into the city centre which was very pleasant. All staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Discovery Suite which was gorgeous - very comfortable bed, spacious and wet room bathroom roll top bath which had a cracking view. Breakfast was lovely, great choice and plenty of coffee offered. We drove up, the staff top up the meter to save you returning, we got a spot right outside the hotel. There is a computer that guests can use in the foyer free of charge which was handy. Everything about our stay was lovely, it was a very memorable trip for all the right reasons - I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something a bit special and will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biz-traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We absolutely loved Channings! The room, staff, and location were wonderful! We would definitely stay here again. Everything about the place is charming and romantic! To top it all off, the price was unbeatable. The only downside (for us) was the restaurant/bar. The food and atmosphere were great, but the service was definitely lacking. No big deal, though...we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caledonia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

The staff in Channings made me feel very welcome and looked after from the moment I booked in and even helped me to track down an item I left behind in the taxi, for which I am very grateful. The room was very comfortable with a lovely outlook over Edinburgh. The hotel is in a quiet, leafy area away from traffic noise. As well as the main restaurant, Channings serves light meals in its relaxed, cozy bar, which is perfect for a solo traveller. Breakfast was of a high standard with both continental and cooked food on offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Hotel was excellent, really made us and kids feel welcome.
Assisted with kids in any way they could such as warming bottles of milk, keeping milk in bar fridge for us to use as required, room was set up with additional beds for children.

Were staying and attending a family wedding in the hotel and it was excellent from every perspective and we look forward to going back there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConorEoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

My wife and I stayed in Channings at the weekend for a short romantic break. Channings is tucked away on a quiet residential street of beautiful townhouses. Parking is free on street outside at the weekend. It is a good 10 minute walk from Channings to the west end of the Princes Street, but is only £5 back in a taxi after a few cocktails.

We took a junior suite and you couldn't have wanted for more - the bed was huge and very comfortable, the linen was immaculate, there was a large sitting room with a huge bay window with a fabulous view over Edinburgh, and the big bathroom had a huge bath (big enough for 2!) and a separate shower, all of which were immaculately clean. Molton Brown toiletries are also provided.

The restaurant within Channings is excellent - the menu is a touch unusual, ranging from extremely fine cuisine to simple baked potatoes and every stage between, but this kinda works because no matter what mood you are in there will be something that suits. The restaurant itself is also a touch unusual - it is very stylish, but is also very relaxed - again it is appropriate to whatever mood you are in. All of the food we ate was excellent, and reasonably priced too.

So why only 'Almost Perfect'? Good as our stay was, there were a few things about Channings that could use a little reffinement:-
- the TV remote controls for both TVs in our suite were very tempermental to the point of being useless
- the room was distinctly cold because despite it being early October in Edinburgh the hotel hadn't yet switched it's heating on for the season
- they don't chill their drinks - we had to send back our white wine at the restaurant because it was room temperature, and the fruit juices served with breeakfast were also warm
- they also made a complete Horlicks of our breakfast tray delivery - the items delivered were similar to what was ordered, but even at that there was neither milk nor cutlery included.
- they offer chapagne and strawberries for breakfast, but then advise later that they can't get fresh strawberries and produce tinned strawberries in syrup as an alternative.

However please understand that these gripes above were relatively minor and only take away slightly from what is otherwise a wonderful hotel. Nonetheless, to my mind the gripes I raised above also point to a lack of attention to detail that you don't expect from a hotel of this quality, and I write this as much for the benefit of the hotel management as for the potential visitor. And regardless of those minor issues, my wife and I had a truly wonderful break and would definitely recommend Channings to anyone.
-

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andylovescatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

I had a very enjoyable short stay at Channings. I booked a special offer "Petite" double room and it was very good value for money. Rooms rarely resemble the photos on hotel websites but this time it didn't disappoint. The room was compact but had a comfortable double bed and was extremely quiet. The only gripe was that there wasn't always much hot water in the bathroom and the bath had no hand or grab rails. Staff were very friendly and the hotel had the feeling of a welcoming house rather than a faceless city four star. Breakfast was pretty good and the staff seemed to try to accommodate the most difficult of guests (of which there was one while I was there). It was a 10-15 minute walk to the end of Princes Street and about another 10 minutes to Waverley Station from there. It was a nice quiet location yet not too far out. I would certainly recommend it to friends and would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing