We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about this hotel”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2006

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend arriving on Friday 8th September. We stayed in room 12 with a jacuzzi bath!

From the minute we arrived until the time we left the staff could not have been more helpful but were never intrusive.

The building itself is beautiful but comfortable and in no way pretentious.

Our room was clean, nicely furnished with the aforementioned bathroom.

All in all we had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — Spacious, well furnished room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Bear in mind 10 - 15 min walk to City centre
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2265tah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    399
    126
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
700
57
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Channings recently and had an absolutely fantastic time from the minute we entered the front door.

The reception team and porters are some of the friendliest and helpful people we have come across in hotels. Nothing was a problem and ladies some of guys are quite cute!!!!!

We were lucky enough to have booked one of their fantastic new Shackleton rooms on the top floor, like one of the last reviewers we too had the yellow room but we loved it! It has the biggest bathroom I have ever seen, underground heating, wet room shower and a huge bath what more do you want?! Yes the style is slightly different from the rest of the hotel but it is slightly more modern and looks great! Reading the other person's review made me laugh she/he obviously sees themselves as critic/author. We used the info book and found 2 fantastic restaurants, if you like Italian go to La Piazza!!!!

Breakfast portions are a bit on the small side but they have a decent size of buffet that suited me better as I prefer the healthier option in the mornings.

The only real bad thing about our stay was that we had to leave!!!

We will definitely be going back!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — distance from city centre
  • Tips/Secrets — booking the top florr rooms!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TouringTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

I booked this hotel for a one-night stay for myself and my partner.
We managed to get one of the suites on the top floor and it was superb - large bedroom, great views over Edinburgh and an amazing bathroom with walk-in splash shower and stand-alone roll-top bath.
We live in the surrounding area, so the touristy point-of-view wasn't that important for us - we just wanted somewhere special where we could spend a relaxing night.
All I can say is that we got that in abundance.
Ate in the restaurant downstairs and I can echo what other reviewers have said - excellent food, but portions could be bigger. The same applied to breakfast the next morning.

All in all - I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Fantastic room
  • Disliked — Meal portions
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you take a look around the gardens of the hotel...
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astrange4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

Tried to book Stuarts B&B but did not know I was booking during the festival and the tattoo! This was a good "second"
Great room. Overlooked the inspiration for Hogwarts. We ate at the pub one night. Food was fine although the pub was ultra modern and not cozy. The service was fine. Breakfast was mediocre, service, choice, etc. They were going for cost control which was understandable for a cost accountant. You could get to Princess St. in 15 minutes and we even walked to the royal mile from there. You need to be willing to walk about 5miles for that but it is well worth it. You can also get a bus for 1 GBP, just 200 yards (meters) or so from the hotel. Taxi is 6.50 GBP from the main train station sans gratuity. Overall service was fantastic.
Includes free internet.

Helpful?
1 Thank francissp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braganca, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2006

We spent 4 nights at Channings...and what 4 nights!!!
From check-in to check-out there were no negative points to be found.
The service is outstanding: check-in, breakfast, dinner, bar and housekeeping...
everything was flawless.
If you want to go out for dinner, think twice...
stay in and Fiona will take care of you. The kitchen is one of the best we have experienced so far.
Myself and my partner work in top hotels in London and for us this was the perfect break in Edinburgh.
THANKS CHANNINGS!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank LeLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Felt I just HAD to write in about and tell all about the fantastic time my mother and I had at Channings early this month. We decided to come here for a shopping trip and picked here because of the reviews on this site, we figured so many people couldn't be wrong - and they most certainly weren't.

Loved it as soon as I arrived. Our porter Richard was very charming and immaculately presented. My mother said he was the nicest young man she had encountered in many a year and even offered to take him home! He respectfully declined. We also encountered another Richard on our trip - a manager - who was equally charming. If you come across them I promise you are in for a treat. First class.

Room was great, lovely view, extremely clean and comfortable and had a great entertainment system. The beds were superb but so high off the ground! They looked so neat and tidy it was a shame to mess them up.

Food at night was second to none but the service wasn't what we expected after such excellence in the lounges but I suppose you can't win them all. They were not unpleasant just a bit short with us and the bar tender seemed uninterested in talking with my mother.

Fortunately, it will not put us off returning. Will reccomend and will be back

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Stayed 2 nights.Taxi frem airport to Hotel - much quicker than a bus or coach.
Room was not ready as we arrived early however friendly staff held our bags whilst we went off exploring Edinburgh.
First night room overlooked Edinburgh skyline, but the room was not as great as expected / assumed from site.
Second night had one of the superior rooms on th top floor (same price), alot better - bigger rooms and massive bathroom - get one of these rooms if you can.
With any luck the hotel will re-fit the other rooms to the same standard.
Flat screen tv, big bed, large shower... only thing missing was a fridge - I do hate those little milk cartons they never taste great and you always get one thats gone off!

Anyhow, first night ate in the hotel - menu limited, good quality food, presented well, good service but small portions - you wont get fat here.
It would not cost the cook much more to add some veg to the plate. Anyhow overall good.

Cooked breakfast was good - however again portions were v small. Service in morning not so attentive (different staff). Stick to the contentinal if you are on room only.

Second night the guy at reception arranged a table at The Tower that overlooks the castle & taxi to get us there - well worth it for a meal, if rather expensive.

Next day went to the museum (same building as The Tower - go there its free and worth lookign around, then goto the very top floor for the views.

Overall: good hotel, and good service (I dont often say that). Will return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Horace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing