We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a really lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“This is a really lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We have stayed here before and maybe even reviewed it. However this time we doubled our stay to two nights and again managed to get a deal, with Last Minute.com (all the other online booking sites were considerably more) so that we only paid a fantastic £81 per night including the delicious breakfast.
We were effectively upgraded, being given one of the best cheaper rooms ie no 55 on the second floor and wow what a great bargain! We must have been favoured as this was a considerably larger room than in our previous stay when we had found ourselves on the 3rd floor.
We had set ourselves a maximum spend of £100 a night over a Saturday and a Sunday and in fact had quite a few alternative options but after a great stay here last time decided we could do no better.
Parking was a factor and here we had no problems at all just using the street outside which was free on weekends. The hotel is based in leafy Learmonth overlooking one of those beautiful finely kept private gardens with a sublime view over the New Town to Comely Bank and beyond. It is the most beautiful building superbly well kept and with excellent facilities including totally free broadband wi fi access in the rooms and everywhere in the hotel. Excellent clean bathroom and lovely spacious light bedroom with a mighty double bed (two single beds together) and divine crisp sotton sheets. Tea and coffee making facilities and the complimentary biscuits reappeared on the 2nd morning after I had consumed them.
Breakfast is exceptional quality and offers a very varied choice - restaurant quality and plenty of it. Superb coffee.
The reception is friendly and helpful and check in could not be easier or more polite. Check out likewise.
Frankly ten out of ten, even at twice the price!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    387
    125
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
691
55
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

First impressions certainly count! Walking into Channings, after a stressful journet was like walking into an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The lounges with their open fires and deep, comfortable sofas looked inviting, the staff were very welcoming and my room was lovely. Big, comfortable bed and a huge, well appointed bathroom. Excellent breakfast and conveniently located about 15 minutes stroll from Princes Street. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed here between christmas and new year and absolutely loved it! The staff were so friendly and helpful they couldn't do enough for you! Our room was lovely and spacious and the bathroom was massive and gorgeous, the room was clean and cleaned daily during our stay.
The breakfast was good and would definitely recommend this hotel, would have been perfect if it was a bit closer to the centre, when we stayed there was lots of snow so walking to and from the city centre all day was a bit of a chore but taxi prices were reasonable.
The hotel staff sorted the parking out for us during our stay we just left our keys with them and paid for parking at the end of our stay but it was very reasonable price and they didn't charge any extra for this service. Would definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hll562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haute-Nendaz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed for three nights, and found pretty much everything to be perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff, and we could relax, just as if we were at home. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. The quiet room was lovely, with very comfy beds, and a great view over the rooftops. Walking distance to some great restaurants. Nice bar. Open fires (gas flame) were cosy. The only thing I wouldn't rate very highly (and I'm being a bit critical here) was the afternoon tea. I thought it was a bit overpriced. Perhaps the chef was having a bad afternoon as it didn't reflect everything else! Will definitely go and stay again; no question.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birminham, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Me and my partner visited Channings for his birthday. We stayed there two nights and we both feel in love with it! From the outside it looks like beautiful old buildings. On the days we stayed the parking on the road was free which the front desk informed us on our arrival. They then upgraded our room from the basic room, found by laterooms.com and which we got at a reduced rate!
The room was the most amazing I have ecer stayed in! The free standing bath was big enough for two, the bathroom itself was very big and modern with an excellent shower.
The bedroom was big with a wide screen television and the bed was so big I felt like I was sleeping alone!! There was room service but we didn't use it. There was also a good selection of coffees, teas and hot chocolate with a kettle and cups on top of a beautiful desk. The room was in the attic and offered amazing views of Edinburgh. The breakfast was delicious and there was a good selection of continental style and cooked! The restaurant looked very good but we never had chance to eat there.
In terms of location it was just central enough that you felt out of the way and secluded however it was a twenty minute stroll into the heart of Edinburgh.
This hotel made our trip very romantic and my partner thought it was the perfect birthday suprise! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_clarke_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

I got married at Channings in January 2010 and do not have a bad word to say about the whole experience from start to finish.

The hotel is beautiful, intimate and spotless. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was to much trouble and their memory for names amazing.

Many of our guests commented that in future business and leisure trips to Edinburgh they now knew where they would stay every time.

The location is central and the food was perfect, thanks for making our special day, very special indeed.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Lovely hotel off the beaten path. Bed and bath were huge, though room and TV small. More than I expected from a European/British hotel. Quiet street and very pleasant staff. Very good restaurant and bar in the basement that makes for a lovely place to have breakfast or a quiet night in. Only downside was we had our iPod stolen in the lobby. Were able to access WiFi from our second floor room. Computer with Internet available for use in the lobby, along with several maps and books. Staff was great about advice and getting taxis. City center is a good walk, but we did it several times. We felt safe at night; there were several people out and about.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatherineG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing