We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disappointed”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We had a standard room which was traditionally furnished with a nice view but I was disappointed with the small bathroom, which had cracked floor tiles. The bed was very comfortable, although it did have two separate duvets. Not a problem. The hot breakfast on the Saturday seemed to have been cooked in advance but the Sunday one was better. Fruit and pastries, however are not replenished so if you arrive after, say 9.30 you just get what's left. If breakfast is included in your rate, fine but otherwise I would go somewhere in town. Location was a little far out for my liking. It is a good 15 min walk to Princes Street and more for any of the sights. It is not somewhere you can nip back to mid day with your shopping and taxi fare is £5+. I would recommend staying here if you can get one of the nice bathrooms I heard of and you can afford frequent taxi fares.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2007

We stayed here just after the New Year for my husbands birthday. Edinburgh was great as always. This was the 1st time we stayed in the "new town" area having always stayed around the castle before. The area was great, not too long a walk from Princess Street - about 10-15 minutes. I felt a bit disappointed in the hotel though. The staff were great, helpful & friendly. I had requested an upgrade if possible at the time of booking but wasn't given one. Hotel wasn't busy either.No mention of my request made by the booking in staff. Therefore the room we got was a disappointment. The bed was huge and overpowered the room, the cushions were stained & the bathroom was tiny. After reading reviews about big bathrooms & roll top baths I felt a bit let down. We ate in the bar one night & the meal was great. Service was adequate, slow and it wasn't a busy night either. We might go back but would definitely book a suite. Staff made up for the let down.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

Having arrived at the Point hotel for a well earned break from our own building works to discover they were decorating on the corridor where they were proposing to put us. The duty manager managed to get us alternative accommodation at Channings. What a lucky break for us, from the moment we arrived the staff, without exeption were wonderful.
Particular thanks must go to Marshall who salvaged a potentially awful situation and turned it into something magical.
The room (a suite) was fantastic. The bed very comfortable, one criticism the tv stand was too low for viewing from bed. But the bathroom really had the wow factor.
The food was excellent and the rib eye probably the best we've ever had. Try the grilled goats cheese starter it's seriously good.
We will return and recommend this highly for quality and service

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2007

I booked for Valentine's Day directly with the hote lfor my partner and myself, we are from Edinburgh.
I booked an overnight stay in a double room (Number 4) with evening dinner. On the phone the staff were extremely helpful and kind.
On arrival this trend continued. We checked in the evening and I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent standard of our room, it was very grand and clean with a lovely bed, and spotless bathroom, with free Molton brown toiletries. The bath was stand alone and large, with shower over it. There was also a separate shower. There were clean, crisp and freash white towels. There was plenty of drawer and cupord space with hanger if needed. Obviously we didn't need these. There was an E-TV in our room with net access and e-mail client, a buit in jukebox with a vast range of artists, good selection of movies (at a charge), it also had a remote and wireless keyboard, the screen was a tad small but a flat screen none the less.
The veiw from the window was not great because we were not in a front room, but who goes to a hotel to look out the window!
We went for dinner in the main restaurant, it was a limited selection but lovely and worth every penny we had the steak and the portions were very large and of excellent quality.The staff were polite and friendly and very sensitive to needs an wants.
We ordered room service(24 hr), again choice was limited but all tastes catered for. Lovely and well worth the money, again staff service was excellent. We odered a wake up call which we recived on time.
We checked out a noon, no ques quick and friendly service we were asked by various staff if we enjoyed our stay including the manager. We got a complimenty cup of tea/coffee while we waited on our cab home which the girl at the desk offed to call us.
Overall an excellent stay, loved it, would go back! Been recomending it to people since!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Edinburgh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

My wife and I stayed ordered a room and dinner overnight deal from their website for my birthday in January.
When we arrived midweek, the hotel was pretty quiet and we had been bumped up to a junior suite - the Ernest Shackleton 'Endurance' suite.
This was pretty much 3 regular rooms on the top floor, converted into 1 long room, including a huge bathroom, with underfloor heating, a rolltop bath, and a good powerful shower. A big wall photo of the ship trapped in ice just made it seem even more cosy!!
First class all round, and friendly staff. The food was great too !!
The hotel is in a quiet street, about a mile from the main shopping area, but with free onstreet parking.
We maybe got lucky with the upgrade, but a solid 5 stars here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scotripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2007

We booked this hotel direct and recieved a good rate for a standard room in their January sale which included dinner as well as breakfast as an wedding anniversary treat to ourselves, largely because of its reviews on this site. We experienced some initial problems caused by hotel error at the booking stage, which worried us a bit , but we stuck with the booking and were upgraded to a stunning Shackleton suite called Endurance by way of an apology.
Having this beautifull suite really made our stay as we felt like royalty at this hotel from the moment we arrived it was truly sumptious. The level of comfort was truly 5 star couldnt fault a single thing. We had stayed in standard hotel chain rooms in Glasgow for the previous two nights and believe me when I tell you that the bathroom alone in our suite was bigger than those rooms!
We ate in the restaurant which was wonderfull, great food, and attentive service. Only minor criticisms would be dissapointment that the bar area was a little small and that the lift could win a prize for the slowest in the world!
But all in, a wonderfull stay that we would love to repeat very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dreaming_of_Elysium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

Good value, but the rooms and the reception area lack any real sense of luxury. The place is perfectly functional but just rather dull. The rooms are rather small and have a slightly "bedsit" feel about them, with the bathroom built into the room like a sort of afterthought cubicle shoved into the corner of an existing bedroom. Considering it is not in the very centre of town, this is not a hotel worth seeking out and is certainly not somewhere to think of staying if you are planning to go on holiday and pamper yourself. Perfectly adequate for a short business trip on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NoPresumptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,379 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
890 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing