We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #56 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spa experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My friend's partner treated us both to a spa day at Macdonald, Holyrood. Our experience was very strange - nothing like our previous spa experiences. We arrived in good time for our booked lunch at 1 pm only to be told that we should have arrived at 10.30 am and booked our 'lunch box' which was to be consumed in the library. There was no explanation of this at the time of booking.
We were sent up to the restaurant where it was apparent that we were neither expected nor welcome.

After a lengthy wait, we got a lunch - my chicken was underdone so I was unable to eat it. The staff were very formal and did try their best, but I felt most uncomfortable.

After lunch, we ventured to the spa suite. Our treatment was booked for 4.30 pm. No-one gave us a tour of the facilities so we had to find our own way around. The receptionist in particular was less than helpful. The pool was on the cool side, the tiling round the pool area was in poor condition. The toilet seats were loose in the ladies changing area.
We aired our concerns and the lady we spoke to was very symptahetic. She agreed to give us a complimentary voucher for another spa day. However, she left before we were able to get to the reception, despite agreeing to meet us there after our treatment.
All in all, what should have been a very relaxing spa day with a friend ended up being quite stressful and I won't be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    1,048
    375
    149
    71
See reviews for
359
1,549
109
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Spent a wonderful weekend at the four star Macdonald Holyrood (16/17 November 2012). The location of this hotel is perfect just within a 15 minute walk to the old town and Princes Street for shopping or sightseeing.

The staff were most welcoming, and our room was very clean, comfortable and pleasant with tea and coffee making facilities. In fact we ran out of milk on Saturday, and when we asked for more in was no trouble to them at all, and it was brought up to our room almost immediately. The bathroom was very clean and kept well stocked with toiletries.

Breakfast was good. However, the letdown was the evening meal at the hotel on Friday night. The meal was very expensive, and we ate the food only because we were hungry. We do not recommend the evening meals at this hotel. Most definitely not up to the standard expected for the price charged. There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs within a 10/15 minute walk offering better value for money.

I would definitely go back to this hotel, but avoid having the evening meals there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanohara_browwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just returned from a two night stay - just wish it could have been longer! My friend & I were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Unfortunately we had to wait approx half an hour for our room but we spent the time chatting to the very helpful concierges.
The room had all we would expect and very comfortable - just one thing we didn't expect, mould in the ice bucket!
Hotel location is great, a pleasant stroll up the Royal Mile & down onto Princes Street. I think we must been in every shop along the way. Also bus very near to hotel to get to Ocean Terminal & Royal Yacht Britannia which was well worth the visit.
Hotel breakfast was excellent, kept us going all day. Sadly we did not have time to sample the leisure facilities but hopefully there will be another time.
All staff we came into contact with we're enthusiastic, friendly & obviously enjoyed their work.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Hotel found as result of last minute.com secret hotel booking. Amazing find especially for the room we received on the 6th floor over looking Arthur seat with small balcony able to stand on.

This hotel is further out than apex's and radisson granted, although it is 10 mins walk away. We walked frequently and from hotel to princes street at jenners was 15-20 mins walk, via close turn right on leaving hotel and 2nd on right past bbc scotland building take out on to royal mile and then Jeffery street takes to Waverley bridge where can go down to Waverley station in around 15 mins walk. Edinburgh castle 15-20 mins walk up the royal mile.

Hotel spotless, had chocolate mint on pillow 2nd evening. Concierge very helpful, checked us in online for flights we had.

Hotel had lots of facilities we did not use due to length and purpose of stay. It includes spa, swimming pool and library .

Did not have breakfast or eat in hotel so unable to comment on food and drink.

Room Tip: We were given room 624 which not only overlooked local landmark of Arthur's seat. It had floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C1aire_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Fantastic staff so helpful and obliging from the minute we arrived .
Excellent restaurant and beautiful dinner / top class service at all times no matter what we wanted at the hotel
Downside was expensive parking but handy to get to all places by bus . The number 36 stops right outside and takes you right to Princes street . Bus ticket £ 3.50 all day and can use on any bus - fantastic bus service in the city
Would certainly stay there again and would recommend

Room Tip: we werre on 4th floor absolutely no noise at all which was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for one night for my girlfriends birthday. We arrived before the scheduled check in time and were shown straight to our room. The room was cosy and stylish with more than enough room for 2 untidy people. The free additional gym, steam room, sauna and swimming pool are a sweet touch. The breakfast was second to none, 5 minute casual walk from the train station, the only downside of the entire experience was a slightly wonky lampshade!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Situated close to Holyrood House this hotel was ideally situated and not too far from the town centre and railway station. Breakfast was very good - one of the few hotels to give you crispy bacon when you ask for it. Room excellent - only downside was parking wasn't included in rate and was very expensive.
Would definitely use again if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#70 of 149 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#67 of 149 in Edinburgh
664 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,439 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing