We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good things.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was a little hard to find and was a bit of a walk from the train station but worth the walk when I got there.(but next time I will use a taxi) The room was large and clean worth 4*. The bathroom was lovely tiled from floor to ceiling and also clean. There was a gym and pool although I went to have a look at them I didn't use them but they looked good. I can only say nice things about this hotel except lower the price of your breakfast and you might fill your restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bounty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Bounty2013,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback from your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We very much appreciate such feedback as its a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    1,017
    367
    147
    70
See reviews for
353
1,510
103
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The restaurant was being refurbished, we weren't informed until arrival. Our booking had been strongly influenced by the restaurant presentation on the web site. We found it impossible to locate a good restaurant in Edinburgh for 5 people at the last moment on a Saturday evening.
The car park was full. We parked in the street outside. Breakfast was self service in a conference room canteen style and was below expectation.
Hotel is OK but has many rather dark corners and is not as clean as you would expect. Pool is nice , but as they appear to have removed hotel guides from the rooms you have to know it is there. Wait until the refurbishment programme is complete before staying here.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Bob R R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

As stated we are undergoing some refurbishment works of our bar & restaurant that may have caused you some slight inconvenience. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are known for we are very limited to space in the temporary dining room & bar. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit in relation to the car park being full, however we do recommend that you pre book a space so as not to be disappointed.

We will take all your comments on board and use them to better our guest experience during our refurbishment works.

I look forward to you returning to see this wonderful transformation after the works are complete.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Valley parking and check in very good, upgraded room on this occasion. Currently under going refurbishment which meant the downstairs bar area was closed and the upstairs bar left what can only be described as a lot to be desired poorly stocked no cocktails available and despite promoting Hendricks Gin had only 3 empty bottles on display resorted to asking what was in stock, bar staff not remotely interested.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alexniuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear alexniuk,

Thanks for submitting a review of the Macdonald Holyrood following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with our temporary bar. As you have touched upon the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are operating with limited stock items. Please be assured that we will continue to review this over the remaining 2 weeks.

I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to experience this fantastic transformation.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had a one night stay this month due to business and would have to say the hotel has nothing going for it other than location.

The rooms are very tired, the decor is poor, the cleaniness is below average, the shower had a mind of its own, jumping between freezing and scalding. The bed was not comfortable at all and the breakfast was "ok" at best.

I would not choose to stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear scott y,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very disappointed to hear the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit.

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of the usually high standards and quality that we pride ourselves upon delivering at the Holyrood. As you are aware the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast service in an alternative area. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard and award winning Breakfast it does appear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum.

We do hope we have the opportunity for you to return on a future business trip to experience our newly refurbished property. Please contact myself directly and I will be happy to assist with a reservation.

Yours sincerely
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked to stay at Jury's ( will be writing on their site too!!!). WE were called a week before to say that we were being transferred to MacDonald's as Jury's couldn't accommodate us, even though we had booked weeks in advance and they had taken our money. We weren't too much bothered as Jury's was 3* and MacDonalds was 4*. We arrived at 12 o clock after travelling since 7.30am. The room wasn't ready, we were asked to go back at 2pm. We went back at 4pm and the room still wasn't ready. We were left sat in reception until 4.30pm on the pretence that they were upgrading us to 6th floor executive room...they needn't have bothered. The room was tired, lighting was very poor, pillows slipped down the back of the headboard all night. The water in the bathroom ran and then totally stopped and then when it started again it came out with such gusto that it completely wet you through. There as a massive chip out of the side of the sink. The restaurant was being refurbished, we weren't told!! Breakfast was served...well you helped yourself... in a conference room. Breakfast was luke warm and very average. Will not be going back...ever

Room Tip: don't bother - stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear askjan,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you were relocated here from the Jurys Inn and that after having such an early start your room wasn’t ready upon arrival.

As you have touched upon we are carrying out some renovations on our ground floor area and we do inform as many of our guests as possible. The refurbishment work is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast in an alternative area. I will however monitor the day to day operation to ensure we are not compromising on service.

I am sorry that you have been let down by your experience with us, however I can assure you that this is not a true reflection on our usually high standards and customer service we are best known for.

Should you be in the area again please contact myself directly at the hotel and I would be delighted to arrange your booking.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had been to this hotel before and liked it so that it would be good to go again for a short break with my Daughter. It was nothing like a four star hotel and they did not inform us of a refurbishment programme. The bedrooms are very dated and the twin beds were soft and lumpy.. I asked for them to be changed twice . The Manager did not help us and thought a bottle of wine would help us sleep. The breakfast room was like a canteen and they had queues to seat people. Breakfast was cold and the area around food not clean. We paid a lot of money for this and it was a disgrace. Will never go to this chain of hotels again.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear EllenGourock,

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of the usually high standards and quality that we pride ourselves upon delivering at the Holyrood. As you are aware the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast in an alternative area. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are very limited space whilst we undergo these works. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your return visit. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum

Thank you once again for your comments, I do hope that my assurances will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. I am also confident that should you return after the works are complete you will be pleasantly surprised at the transformation. If you please contact myself directly on opsmgr.holyrood@macdonald-hotels.co.uk I would be happy to assist you.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the city. The room was of a decent size but poorly maintained as the tie backs for the curtains were falling out of the wall the bathroom had some mould on the ceiling and the water in the shower alternated between freezing and scalding which could have been dangerous if a small child was in the shower. I was aware that the hotel was being refurbished but the temporary dining room was more like a canteen and the breakfast which was buffet style was virtually cold. The other extortionate rip off was the cost of the valet parking £20 per night. We had previously stayed a few days earlier in Bowness at the Old England where the valet parking was free of charge. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel and I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Suzanne J,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

As you are aware the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast in an alternative area. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum.

Being a city centre hotel many like us are limited to garage space, however we offer a valet service at a very competitive price in comparison to the neighbouring NCP car parks.

We do hope that you reconsider and return in the very near future to see for yourself the fantastic transformation.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing