We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We were somewhat concerned about staying in this hotel, because after we had booked, several disparaging remarks began to appear on Trip Advisor. We were not told about the refurbishment either. However, apart from almost being hit by a falling, unsecured builder's fence by the front door it was ok.
Our room was a standard double on the fourth floor (we almost booked a higher grade and thankfully decided against it). By the sounds of things we chose well. A lovely modern, clean, well decorated room. The bed was comfortable. Tea and coffee tray. Tiled bathroom. I agree with others about the shower temperature, a bit temperamental. Sink was cracked and the extractor fan was broken. Corridors tired with well worn carpets.
Plenty of room for breakfast. I only had cereal but my husband said that the cooked food went cold very quickly. Perhaps using plate warmers might combat this.
Not sure why this hotel is 4* though.
Hotel is in a great location. Arthur's Seat. Holyrood Palace. Royal Mile. Most of the attractions were within 20mins walk, even Princes Gardens.
We didn't even try to get a table in the restaurant as there are so many and varied places to eat in Edinburgh anyway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Heather L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered an unsecure builders fence as you came into the hotel, our guest safety is paramount to us and I have personally been conducting daily checks with the refurb team to ensure our H&S requirements are being met.

The Macdonald Hotel group is committed to investing in and improving its product for the future and at the Macdonald Holyrood we do have an ongoing bedroom refurbishment programme in place.

I am glad that you found our central location in the historic old town of benefit to you, along with vast variety we offer at Breakfast.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future and thank you once gain for your feedback.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 3,084 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is a little East of the old town, so a short 10-15 minute (in our case wet) walk. The hotel has valet parking which costs £20 per night which is about the going rate for DIY so good value.

Rooms are a little old fashioned but a good size. We had a flood on the first night so got moved to a second room, but this had various bits of damage (like the wardrobe door broken) so we were moved to a third “executive” room on the top floor, only accessible by key-card. I’m glad we weren’t paying more because aside from the better toiletries and bath robes it wasn’t much better than a standard room.
The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment so perhaps not the best time to go: on the second day the ground floor restaurant was being refurbished so breakfast was on the 1st floor, despite this the breakfast was consistently OK, but not great. Trying to get a cup of coffee wasn’t possible until 6pm, we were instead directed to a café along the road.
Overall it was a little disappointing, we got an excellent rate for a couple of nights, but if we’d been paying full price I think I would have been less satisfied. Perhaps worth a look once the refurbishment is finished. One highlight is the staff: they were all very good.

Room Tip: I'd stick with the standard rooms, the Excutive rooms aren't much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear GlennC002,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was sorry to hear of a flood in your room, I do hope that this did not cause too much inconvenience and that the team were able to offer another room.

As you have touched upon our hotel is undergoing a refurbishment of the ground floor. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard and award winning Breakfast it does appear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum.

We do hope that you return after the works are complete to experience the stunning transformation. If there is anything I can do to help enhance your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was a little hard to find and was a bit of a walk from the train station but worth the walk when I got there.(but next time I will use a taxi) The room was large and clean worth 4*. The bathroom was lovely tiled from floor to ceiling and also clean. There was a gym and pool although I went to have a look at them I didn't use them but they looked good. I can only say nice things about this hotel except lower the price of your breakfast and you might fill your restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bounty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Bounty2013,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback from your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We very much appreciate such feedback as its a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The restaurant was being refurbished, we weren't informed until arrival. Our booking had been strongly influenced by the restaurant presentation on the web site. We found it impossible to locate a good restaurant in Edinburgh for 5 people at the last moment on a Saturday evening.
The car park was full. We parked in the street outside. Breakfast was self service in a conference room canteen style and was below expectation.
Hotel is OK but has many rather dark corners and is not as clean as you would expect. Pool is nice , but as they appear to have removed hotel guides from the rooms you have to know it is there. Wait until the refurbishment programme is complete before staying here.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Bob R R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

As stated we are undergoing some refurbishment works of our bar & restaurant that may have caused you some slight inconvenience. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are known for we are very limited to space in the temporary dining room & bar. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit in relation to the car park being full, however we do recommend that you pre book a space so as not to be disappointed.

We will take all your comments on board and use them to better our guest experience during our refurbishment works.

I look forward to you returning to see this wonderful transformation after the works are complete.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Valley parking and check in very good, upgraded room on this occasion. Currently under going refurbishment which meant the downstairs bar area was closed and the upstairs bar left what can only be described as a lot to be desired poorly stocked no cocktails available and despite promoting Hendricks Gin had only 3 empty bottles on display resorted to asking what was in stock, bar staff not remotely interested.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank alexniuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear alexniuk,

Thanks for submitting a review of the Macdonald Holyrood following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with our temporary bar. As you have touched upon the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are operating with limited stock items. Please be assured that we will continue to review this over the remaining 2 weeks.

I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to experience this fantastic transformation.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had a one night stay this month due to business and would have to say the hotel has nothing going for it other than location.

The rooms are very tired, the decor is poor, the cleaniness is below average, the shower had a mind of its own, jumping between freezing and scalding. The bed was not comfortable at all and the breakfast was "ok" at best.

I would not choose to stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear scott y,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very disappointed to hear the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit.

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of the usually high standards and quality that we pride ourselves upon delivering at the Holyrood. As you are aware the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast service in an alternative area. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard and award winning Breakfast it does appear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum.

We do hope we have the opportunity for you to return on a future business trip to experience our newly refurbished property. Please contact myself directly and I will be happy to assist with a reservation.

Yours sincerely
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked to stay at Jury's ( will be writing on their site too!!!). WE were called a week before to say that we were being transferred to MacDonald's as Jury's couldn't accommodate us, even though we had booked weeks in advance and they had taken our money. We weren't too much bothered as Jury's was 3* and MacDonalds was 4*. We arrived at 12 o clock after travelling since 7.30am. The room wasn't ready, we were asked to go back at 2pm. We went back at 4pm and the room still wasn't ready. We were left sat in reception until 4.30pm on the pretence that they were upgrading us to 6th floor executive room...they needn't have bothered. The room was tired, lighting was very poor, pillows slipped down the back of the headboard all night. The water in the bathroom ran and then totally stopped and then when it started again it came out with such gusto that it completely wet you through. There as a massive chip out of the side of the sink. The restaurant was being refurbished, we weren't told!! Breakfast was served...well you helped yourself... in a conference room. Breakfast was luke warm and very average. Will not be going back...ever

Room Tip: don't bother - stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear askjan,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you were relocated here from the Jurys Inn and that after having such an early start your room wasn’t ready upon arrival.

As you have touched upon we are carrying out some renovations on our ground floor area and we do inform as many of our guests as possible. The refurbishment work is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast in an alternative area. I will however monitor the day to day operation to ensure we are not compromising on service.

I am sorry that you have been let down by your experience with us, however I can assure you that this is not a true reflection on our usually high standards and customer service we are best known for.

Should you be in the area again please contact myself directly at the hotel and I would be delighted to arrange your booking.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,680 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing