We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

On reading some comments after booking this hotel we arrived rather apprehensively. The reception staff were very helpful and our car was taken away to be parked. The room was clean,spacious and well equiped. Although there were major refurbishments going on they did not spoil our stay. The room that breakfast was served in was acceptable and didn't seem to cause any problems on the morning we used it. Yes the breakfast wasn't as hot as I would have liked it but we certainly didn't go away hungry and the waiter with the tea/coffee was continuously walking around. If we were to stay in Edinburgh again we would return to this hotel and look forward to seeing the refurbishment facilities.

Room Tip: 502 had good open view of Arthur's Seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMERC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear JMMERC,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I am pleased you found you room to be clean and in order when you arrived and that the reception team took care of you.

We are undergoing an exciting refurbishment that will most certainly add value to our guests experience here at the hotel, along with the on-going commitment into our bedrooms and spa facilities in January 2014. I am glad that you could see the service changes in breakfast that we have been acting upon and will continue to work on whilst in this temperately location.

I look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to see this dramatic transformation. Please feel free to contact myself directly if I can be of any assistance with this.

Yours sincerely,
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 3,138 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Dated hotel, dated room poor mattress and very noisy. Breakfast fatty and swimming in grease ,overcrowded table setting - poor service . Thank goodness we got a deal but to be honest would only have been prepared to pay half again has we known what it was like!!

Room Tip: No tip for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear momg23,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

It was disappointing to note that you did not enjoy you stay with us.

We have acted upon our guests feedback, and as such our hotel is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests.

I do hope that you will return in the very near future to experience this and I can assure you, you will have a memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about ten times in the last 2 years and from thinking it is a fantastic hotel my recent visit has made me reappraise this. The room I had was clean but it really needs a makeover. The wardrobe door fell off, the sink was badly chipped and the carpet stained. The highpoint of my previous stays were the breakfasts, they were fantastic. Unfortunately the ground floor restaurant is being refurbed and the breakfast is now "served" on the first floor. The room has so many tables crammed in there is no room to get to the buffet. Maybe that was an omen as having reached the buffet it was terrible. Fatty bacon and no eggs (you have to order them which takes some time). Staff were very quick to serve an initial cup of coffee/tea but it seemed impossible to get their attention for top ups. Clearly the management are reading the poor reviews on the breakfasts but it seems they are not acting on it. On the positive side the reception staff are really pleasant and helpful and the location is great. Based on this stay I will use another hotel until the reviews start to show improvements.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Jar1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very disappointed to hear the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit.

As you can see from other reviews on trip adviser, the vast majority of our recent guests feedback is relating to the relocation of our breakfast service and quality of food items. Daily I am reviewing all our guests feedback and acting upon it with the team in both service and in the kitchen. I am very sorry to hear on this occasion you feel otherwise and did not enjoy it. Breakfast Service will resume next week when our newly refurbished and rebranded restaurant is up and running. Our bedroom refurbishments will commence in January 2014 along with our spa facilities.

It would be a great shame to lose you as a valuable Macdonald hotels customer due to this temporary enhancement that you will most certainly benefit from, as when complete the hotel will be drastically transformed.

We do take our customer feedback very seriously as it is vital in helping us maintain our high level of standards, therefore, I do hope you will choose to reconsider and return.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel and sadly our last. We were visiting Edinburgh and chose Macdonalds as we really enjoyed our previous experiences. The hotel is undergoing a refurbish programme and the dining room has been allocated to the first floor. The function room lacks any warmth or atmosphere not at all the kind of room you would want to have breakfast. Food was cold, and unappetising. On one occasion there wasn't even any scrambled eggs. I asked staff for some and when they arrived they were disgusting. They certainly did not taste like fresh eggs, I noticed other guests had the same view as myself as there was plates with scrambled eggs left on most the tables. Very disappointing.
On the plus side reception staff were all lovely. Very chatty and friendly.
Our room although dated was very clean and comfortable and serviced daily.
It's such a shame standards have slipped , hopefully once the refurb is finished things will get back to how they once were.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dunhallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Dunhallin,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your recent stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

As mentioned we are undergoing the first phase of our refurbishment works to add value to our guests experience. I am sorry you feel let down due to this and the breakfast service we are offering, as you can see from the previous reviews we have relocated our breakfast service to our conference and banqueting floor whilst the works are complete. We are still offering a full buffet style breakfast with freshly cooked eggs to order which is not uncommon across Macdonald hotels and reports.

I am glad that you found the Reception team pleasant and that room was clean.

Its most disappointing that you have chosen not to return to us to experience this fantastic transformation, along with our new bedrooms and spa. Should you reconsider in the near future then please feel free to contact myself directly and I will be happy to assist .

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for two night 9th/10th November as it was my partners birthday we thought a trip away would be nice. The room itself was nice, clean and spacious. There was a minor issue with the wardrobe doors not sure what was wrong with them but they didnt run smoothly, we just left them open saved the hassle of battling with them.
The main reason we booked this hotel is because it provided spa facilites which meant we could enjoy the use of the pool and relaxing in the sauna/steam room whilst there. The area of the pool and facilities itself was clean, well maintained however the changing rooms was a different story the tiles were chipped and tatty looking in the shower area, the whole changing area looked dated (broken lockers, dull light showers, damaged tiles) could do with an upgrade.
There was building work going on when we stayed at the hotel, the resturant was closed (this wasnt mentioned when i booked and the receptionist never mentioned it on booking in) As a result Breakfast was serviced in a function room on the 1st floor. Breakfast was a BIG LET DOWN. The selection was limited a few types of cereal, no cold meats and cheeses. The cooked breakfast was awful - sausages were pale barely cooked, bacon was really fatty again barely cooked, scrambled egg tasteless. The only other items to choose was mushrooms which looked soggy, tomato that wasnt exactly fried/grilled and beans. What me and my partner did have of the cooked breakfast on the first day it was all cold and we couldnt stomach it. Not only this but the toasters were also out of action. It also took the serving staff a good 10 minutes to come round and fill my cup with tea...........there was loads of staff too. On the second day the cooked breakfast didnt look much better so we just had cereal. (I have to say a rather expensive cereal breakfast considering we paid to have what we thought would be a good cooked breakfast) Premier Inn breakfasts are way better! Could learn a lot

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat21x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Kat21x,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Firstly may I apologise for any inconvenience caused during our refurbishment works.

As you have touched upon the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we are currently offering breakfast in an alternative area. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are very limited to space in the temporary dining room. We are still offering the full Macdonald signature breakfast from shaving dishes in a buffet style with eggs to order, however the food items are all still them same. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we will continue to review our operational plans daily so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum over the remaining week. Our bedroom & Spa facilities will start to be refurbished in phased sections commencing in January 2014.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and experience this exciting transformation. If there is anything I can do to enhance a future stay with the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel then please feel free to contact myself directly.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night at this Hotel.
On booking we were advised a parking space would be available, this was not the case and we had to park our car at the NCP further away.
The Hotel was undergoing refurb during our stay which we were not advised of.
The breakfast was served out of a function room.
On arrival for breakfast we were told there would be a 15 min wait, no refreshments were offered. Inside the function room it felt like a soul less airport lounge. The hot buffet was appalling - fatty bacon, watery tasteless eggs, slimy mushrooms, undercooked sausages. The continental choice had some basic cereals and fruits. No pastries, cold meats, cheese, yogurts or bread variety. Very poor selection. On check out we advised reception of our disappointment, they acknowledged that others had also complained.
Definitely not 4 star, and will never go back and will not be recommending to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivarioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear vivarioja,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Firstly may I apologise for any inconvenience and mix up in relation to our car parking. We do advise guests to book as we are limited to space, I am sorry this may have been over looked by the team upon arrival.

I was surprised to note that our signature breakfast did not meet your expectations. As you have touched upon we are undergoing an extensive refurbishment of our bar & restaurant to which we have relocated breakfast temporarily into another part of the hotel, however we are still offering a full Macdonald breakfast range with cooking all eggs to order. I can only presume you arrived at a peak time when such items were being replenished. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans so that we keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum.

Thank you once again for your comments, such feedback is a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary.

We do hope that you will reconsider and return to the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel to experience our amazing transformation along with a memorable stay for all the right reasons. If there is anything I can do to help enhance a future visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Holyrood Hotel from 7th - 10th Nov. We were on the 6th floor in an executive room which was clean and warm so not what others have reported.

Hotel does look a bit tired and a few areas need attention-- linen in bedrooms worn or just poor quality and curtains -- the latter looked dated. Breakfast was mediocre--eggs limited to scrambled --but this may have been linked to building works at least I hope so.

However, the staff were welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate requests e.g fresh milk in bedroom for tea, check in early. Nice touches like chocolates left in bedroom each evening.

As far as the position of the hotel is concerned we found that it was perfect as we quite like walking as you discover what a great city Edinburgh is --most sites were within a 10 min walk
but the Scottish Parliament and Holyrood just round the corner 3 mins away.

I think with some refreshing/modernisation of the decor , investment in bed linen /bedding and the opening of the new restaurant Holyrood might get more positive comments.

Web loved our time in Edinburg at the Holyrood and would return.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th Floor Room 614 at the back of the building -- so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Gerry52_12,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

Within Macdonald Hotels and Resorts we do actively listen to our customers feedback. As you are aware the Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment work and is benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in them. As a result of this work we are currently offering Breakfast in an alternative area. Whilst we are endeavouring to deliver the same high standard we are very limited to what we are able to offer. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, however we are offering a range of eggs to order. Please be assured that we continue to review our operational plans over the remaining weeks.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our central location and that the team were warm and welcoming. If I can assist with enhancing a future stay then please do feel free to contact myself directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to experience our fantastic transformation.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,833 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing