We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #55 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just stayed here on a shopping trip. We arrived on an early train and were surprised that our room was available straight away. Room on bottom floor was clean and comfortable. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the food was lovely. Restaurant was doing a trial run before opening fully after refurbishment and staff were very attentive. Just a couple of things to suggest we were confused when presented with a bill for food and wine when we only needed to pay for wine. Staff said it was the system but this should be remedied to resolve this for customers. Breakfast was lovely but staff were rushing around too much trying to serve hot drinks and items such as toast which resulted in them forgetting orders. A simple solution would be to put tea pots on tables and to have toasters for customers to help themselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen12373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear helen12373,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I am glad you were able to get into your room as soon as you arrived, so you could refresh before hitting the shops.

Our reputation and your custom is extremely important to us and we would hope that every Guest that leaves us would want to come back at some stage to experience our fine service that we are renowned for. I will continually review our operations and training over this transition period to ensure we are delivering this fine service. I would like to thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you will return to us in the very near future.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    1,047
    375
    149
    71
See reviews for
359
1,549
108
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Enjoyed three nights at this well located hotel. The Holyrood has the potential to be a Macdonald flagship, but needs to 'iron out' a few minor flaws. Positives: lovely staff, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, lovely staff- especially Matthew Thompson in the spa who went out of his way to organise treatments for myself and friends. The treatments were excellent and added significantly to the relaxing feel of our weekend break. Maria on the reception desk was also very helpful and managed to sort out efficiently a minor problem with room allocation on arrival. Negatives: organisation at breakfast a little shambolic and the quality of some of the produce not particularly good. The hotel needs to look at who is supplying bacon etc. Not everyone likes scrambled eggs and the wait for eggs cooked to order was far too long. The refurbishment is good but people like a tasty, relaxing breakfast experience. Overall, this is a very good hotel and I would definitely return if visiting Edinburgh especially if the minor blips are addressed. Proximity to Arthur's Seat and Parliament gives visitors a chance to experience a part if Edinburgh often missed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Maxs,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the hotel. I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and your boyfriend had a great birthday.

Its great you found our location handy as we are very central and in walking distance to the Scottish Parliament and Holyrood park. The team here will be touched by your kind comments, we strive to deliver a personalised customer service, I will certainly feedback this back at our weekly operations meeting.

As you have touched upon we have the making to be the Macdonald flagship for Scotland, but we of course need to continually train and develop the team here to be the best as we launch the Rocca Bar & Restaurant.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for my boyfriends birthday and it was a lovely experience. We were one of the first to try out the brand new restaurant in the hotel which looks beautiful and the food is also brilliant, we were served by the restaurant manager and supervisor both nights who were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is also great, near the Scottish parliament and not at all a far walk from princess street and the royal mile.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear LeilaB123,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I am so pleased you and your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday weekend here at the hotel and that you were one of our very first guests to be served in it.. We are very pleased with Rocca, it brings a whole new look and relaxed atmosphere to the lobby area.

We hope to welcome you both back very soon and thank you once again for your glowing review.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My room was dirty , floors not hoovered and the bed linen was unpleasant to say the least !! Towels also not clean . I was scalded three times when using the shower . The room was very tired and there was no restaurant , was only vale to order a dry old sandwich !!! Not acceptable ! The least I expect is a clean room and linens ! Would not stay here out of choice .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachhut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for your review, I am shocked and disappointed are at your feedback as this really is not true reflection of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel. As you will see from previous reviews the rooms are generally spotless and clean.

We are currently going through a refurbishment to enhance our guests experience, however we are doing our utmost to keep the disruption to a minimum.

If you would like to discuss your feedback further I would be happy to do so.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A few friends and myself have spa wk ends every year and this year thought we would try a different one and booked this hotel "BIG MISTAKE" It was dearer than we usually pay and did not include lunch on arrival day . We were only informed the day before we went that renovations were on going and dining room would not be open instead dinner would be served in a function room which was freezing and meant we would have to dine with our coats on so they sent us to an italian restaurant which was very nice and cosy but cost us £15 each more than the hotel allowance , spa area was cold and quite noisy with people walking about and talking pool looked awful dull and dingy. When you have treatments you relax no chance of that here . Breakfast was a total fiasco with every one packed into a small room toasters blowing fuses and poor staff running ragged to try and please everyone . Only thing nice about the whole experience was the staff they were getting people in their ears left right and centre and still kept smiling and very polite...must add no sign of management . Sorry but will stick to THE WESTERWOOD CUMBERNAULD in future

Room Tip: First floor was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneclamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear anneclamp,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, firstly may I apologise for the inconvenience caused during our refurbishment works. I am very disappointed to hear the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel did not meet with your expectations on this particular visit.

Following your feedback I would prefer to discuss this in more detail with you directly. If you could be so kind as to make contact with me directly then I would be happy to resolve your complaint.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The staff at this hotel made my wife and my stay just so special, nothing seems to be a hassle to them to keep you happy.
example after only one night stay we asked if we could leave our luggage with them while we explored more of Edinburgh.. Not a problem sir was the reply.
A 4 **** hotel with 5 ***** workers. keep it up,
We would stay here again not a problem... p.s . Edinburgh is just such a great City

Room Tip: we never heard 1 sound from any other rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear PETER w,

Thank you so much for a glowing review, we very much appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback.

Our primary aim here at the hotel is to exceed our guests expectations in the services and products we provide, the team will be very encouraged by your comments. I am so pleased that you were so well looked after.

I look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel very soon to see our exciting new Rocca restaurant and bar!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The room was on a discount deal which made it seem very good value for money, but the hotel is undergoing renovations making bar & catering facilities rather lacking. I would not have been happy if I had paid full price for the room & turned up to find it in the state that it's currently in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear SarahC,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was sorry to note that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have been undergoing the first phase of our refurbishment works to our ground floor areas, unfortunately we have had to relocate our bar and dining facilities to our conference and banqueting floor in order to provide as best a service as possible. As this work is now complete I do hope you give us another chance as you will be pleasantly surprise at the transformation. Please feel free to contact myself directly and I will be happy to assist with any future bookings.

Thank you once again for your feedback, such feedback is vitally important to us in order to maintain standards and monitor service.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
658 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,438 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing