We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with 1st class staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great hotel with 1st class staff”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this weekend. Had to phone on Friday morning as due to a last minute change of plan, we had to take our small wheelchair user son with us. This was no bother at all and the staff allocated us a larger room to accommodate the wheelchair! Was very impressed by this and all the other staff in the hotel. So friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back. Ps: hubby recommends Mel's Swedish massage. He's going back for that alone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeshun_Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear titan_diva,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was so pleased that you and your family all had a lovely stay with us . The team will be very encouraged by your feedback.

We look forward to you coming back for Mel’s Swedish massage!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    1,052
    377
    149
    72
See reviews for
364
1,555
109
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here from 3rd to 5th January. Location is 10 mins walk or a £4 taxi journey. Every member of staff we spoke to was polite/friendly and helpful. General public areas were very well kept only slight issue was it was cold in the bar/lounge area even with a fire and additional fan heater.
Bedrooms- we stayed on the 5th floor they were clean. Some grubby stains on carpets and as previous comments the mattresses have seen better days BUT I slept well so I can't complain there was no noise and the rooms were dark enough.
Food - we stayed on a Dinner and breakfast package. Breakfast was superb. The choice was amazing and the quality fantastic. Saturday was very busy but the staff continued to smile through the service. It would not surprise me if there was mistakes but were all human. Dinner, the choice was limited menu but again unable to fault any of it. Overall a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIMEEB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear AIMEEB _9

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay despite the limited menu with the seasonal restrictions and that the hotel was full which meant breakfast was exceptionally busy.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Have stayed here several times and on each occasion the staff have been delightful.....nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are comfortable but my only complaint is that in some rooms the quality of the bed is poor....the mattresses in some rooms are obviously either very old or of poor quality....I wake with backache due to a soft saggy mattress.
A pity such a small detail spoils the experience of this otherwise excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Didge1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our delightful staff. I am sorry that you found your mattress to be of poor quality, I do hope your back is ok? We are about to undergo a £1.5 million refurbishment which commences on Monday, this will see all our rooms fully equipped with me beds.

We appreciate your continual custom to us and I hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon to experience this for yourself.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel early 0812 am to my surprise the room was ready 10/10 and Frank the concierge showed us to the room what a great guy, best part of the hotel. This is where it goes badly wrong. Breakfast into restaurant 0930 am. Over a period of 1 hour & 15 minutes, the waitress asked us 4 time what we would like for breakfast, and then our hot breakfast arrived totally the opposite to what we ordered. I complained to the restaurant manager and to the hotel shift manager. The time of writing this review. I've still not had an explanation as to why we had such poor service. Out of 4 breakfast's only one breakfast we were serviced with, had the correct food. Other people had the same problem as they sometimes had our breakfast. Vis Versa
The hotel generally is pretty good. However the room we had which was on the 6th floor and for £250 per night was ok "but well overpriced". However there were some nice touches to the room, but not enough for £250. Silly little thing like the plug in the basin was attached from it's chain so you had to plunge in and try and pull the plug out. Leisure facilities ok again it need refurbishment.Checking out at 0630am there were severl items incorrect on my bill that's all we needed. But I must say the concierge guy sorted it out. Sorry don't know his name, but thank you. Would I stay at this hotel again YES but not at £250 per night. Sorry forgot to mention bar staff excellent.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money on the 6th floor not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear WalesHowell,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your detailed feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am sorry for any inconvenience that was caused to you during your breakfast experience with us, this is certainly not reflective of our usually high standards that we have set ourselves. Appropriate action and re training has been taken given your feedback to which I would be happy to discuss directly with you. We do take on board all guest feedback for training and development needs in our business.

We are about to embark on an exciting £1.5 million bedroom refurbishment that will co inside with the new Rocca Bar & Restaurant. I do hope that you will return to experience this and that you will have a memorable stay for all the right reasons.

If I can be of further assistance with your concerns then please do not hesitate to contact me directly here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holyrood hotel and thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

You have to pay £20 a night to park your car.I have never had to pay for parking in any hotel I have stayed in, and to add insult to injury they tried to add £1 for charity on the bill!. This is not openly advertised on there website ,so bear this in mind when booking.
The hotel, facilities,and the conscierge were 1st class though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear IanF,

Many thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback from your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

Like many city centre hotels here in Edinburgh there is a charge to have your car valet park and kept secure in a garage overnight. This charge is very competitive with both the surrounding car parks and hotels. This charge is clearly displayed at Reception along with our optional charity donation that the company supports.

Thank you once again for your feedback and your kind words about our Concierge team.

We do hope you return again soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Macdonald Holyrood on New Year's Eve just in time for Edinburgh's street party celebrations. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean and a very good standard, we didn't have enough time to test out the hotels spa facilities, maybe next time. A nice touch on New Year's Day morning, was a complimentary glass of Buck's Fizz to celebrate the new year, the breakfast was tasty with a wide selection and on New Year's Day we had an evening meal in the hotel and all 4 of us enjoyed the food immensely (especially the steak !). The hotel staff were all helpful and friendly, overall this was a very good hotel and we would highly recommend it. Kris, Jo, Mal and Lorraine

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kriss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Kriss L,

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your New Year celebrations at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

The Head Chef will be glad you had the opportunity to dine in our fabulous Rocca restaurant and enjoyed the food, we are certainly very proud of the new concept.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, or for Hogmanay 2014!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First class hotel with excellent facilities. Our room was perfect and we made the most of the spa facilities. The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble, especially Frank the concierge. Would certainly love to use the hotel again on our next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary-with1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear gary_white1r,

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel.

It was lovely to note that you have such a great time and that staff especially Frank made your visit memorable. He will be pleased to hear your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#71 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,002 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,479 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing