We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for visiting the city Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #54 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Hotel for visiting the city Centre”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for one night, found the room to be impeccably clean, with nice features (like heated towel rail in wc) and spacious considering it is a city center hotel. Friendly, efficient and helpful reception team on hand to answer any queries (thanks to Jakub & Rocia). Ample Free parking (Saturday evening and Sunday) right outside the door of the hotel was a nice bonus too. Good location only a few minutes walk from Royal Mile. Only qualm if I had to have one would be that there should be more signage for the leisure center - wee bit hard to find. All in all perfect stay, at a good rate - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diarmuidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear diarmuidv,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well especially Rocio & Jakub and you enjoyed our location.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    1,052
    377
    149
    72
See reviews for
364
1,555
109
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and i stayed at the hotel for two nights over Hogmanay and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location just around the corner from Holyrood Palace and is a lovely place to stay when visiting Edinburgh. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel and the rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Our stay included a three course dinner on the first night and the food was delicious and well presented. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice from the buffet section and the cooked items, which were served at our table, were of excellent quality. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel if you want somewhere to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybobtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear jillybobtours,

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Holyrood following your New Year stay with us. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well.

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for Hogmanay 2015!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went to Edinburgh for a wee Christmas treat (without the children!). Stayed here as it was a bit fancier than our usual family breaks and because it was a great location and had a pool! We got a good deal on price by checking around too. And it was everything that we could have hoped for! Friendly staff, lovely breakfast (definitely recommend booking the breakfast when you book the hotel as it's a lot cheaper!), a good sized pool and a great room. Could not have been happier. (Only problem was that pool was closed for maintenance once when we wanted to use it - but I suppose this can't be helped!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear RachelD,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and location.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the friendly staff, I will certainly share this with them.

Looking forward to your return on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Warm regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel overall and staff friendly and helpful. Good pool and spa area, and room nice and clean and tidy.

However the food prices are a rip off so I won t be staying again. After a long journey and working all day on route from England I was really looking forward to a nice meal. Prices were so steep I couldn t afford to have a decent size 3 course meal so made do with just the salmon main - I ve seen bigger goldfish !!

Hope breakfast is better value for money.

Avoid if you have a healthy appetite.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaleBellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear DaleBellis,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was disappointed to note that you were not able to enjoy a 3 course meal in our fabulous new Rocca restaurant. I’ve had great feedback since it opened in December about the wide choice, the quality portion size and value for money. Our prices are very favourable in comparison to many city centre restaurants ranging from an early bird offer with 2 course at £10.95, 3 course daily market menu at £25.00 to our a la carte menu with mains from £8.95 to Roasted Lamb at £17.95.

This of course is matter of your opinion to which we very much value.

I am sorry you may not wish to return due to this.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked 1 night for a theatre visit. Great location just of the Royal Mile next, easy walking distance to city centre and attractions. Although we knew Edinburgh quite well, reception staff were able to help with locations and walking distance, however a taxi rank is available opposite the hotel. Tesco Express open until 11pm just 2 mins walk away should you need it which is also handy.

Decent check in time of 2pm meant we would of have had adequate time to use the Gym or Swimming Pool should we have wished to. Parking can be prebooked for £25 overnight or you can chance your luck and get it for £20 on the day subject to availability.

Staff at the bar were very attentive and breakfast in the morning was lovely.

Only bug bear was room (424) was looking slightly tatty around the window and there was a slight draft, otherwise large spacious room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ignitionlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear ignitonlab,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay, especially our location and your breakfast experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this weekend. Had to phone on Friday morning as due to a last minute change of plan, we had to take our small wheelchair user son with us. This was no bother at all and the staff allocated us a larger room to accommodate the wheelchair! Was very impressed by this and all the other staff in the hotel. So friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back. Ps: hubby recommends Mel's Swedish massage. He's going back for that alone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeshun_Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear titan_diva,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was so pleased that you and your family all had a lovely stay with us . The team will be very encouraged by your feedback.

We look forward to you coming back for Mel’s Swedish massage!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here from 3rd to 5th January. Location is 10 mins walk or a £4 taxi journey. Every member of staff we spoke to was polite/friendly and helpful. General public areas were very well kept only slight issue was it was cold in the bar/lounge area even with a fire and additional fan heater.
Bedrooms- we stayed on the 5th floor they were clean. Some grubby stains on carpets and as previous comments the mattresses have seen better days BUT I slept well so I can't complain there was no noise and the rooms were dark enough.
Food - we stayed on a Dinner and breakfast package. Breakfast was superb. The choice was amazing and the quality fantastic. Saturday was very busy but the staff continued to smile through the service. It would not surprise me if there was mistakes but were all human. Dinner, the choice was limited menu but again unable to fault any of it. Overall a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIMEEB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear AIMEEB _9

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay despite the limited menu with the seasonal restrictions and that the hotel was full which meant breakfast was exceptionally busy.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#70 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,005 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,485 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing