We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with all services centrally located in Edinburgh.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #55 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with all services centrally located in Edinburgh.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Have stayed at this hotel twice in the last week. Great hotel with a gym in the basement. Excellent rooms with everything you would require. Service outstanding and very helpful, polite staff. Will definately use again.By the way the food is also eccellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winkleEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear WinkleEssex,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visits. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your overall stay, twice in one week!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    1,022
    368
    148
    70
See reviews for
353
1,524
104
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff are brilliant. Very friendly and helpful. Downstairs the hotel is beautiful with comfy sofas and very smart ladies washrooms.
We stayed 2 nights on the 5th floor. The room was large and clean with a big tv and luxurious towels. It was let down however by a hard mattress, the headboard obviously the wrong size for the bed and the bed valance sheet being on the wrong way round, so the legs of the bed were visible at the end. Little things but not what you expect from a Macdonald hotel.
Would stay here again though as is in quiet location but not far from the Royal Mile and Holyrood. 15 minutes walk from the station. Didn't use spa or have breakfast so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Heather R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was very pleased to hear that the team made your stay special and that they were helpful throughout your stay.

It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests and I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to advise us of your comments. I am sorry you found that mattress to be uncomfortable. The Hotel is currently undergoing a £1.5 million refurbishment to 4 floors of our bedrooms, which will allow for all the interiors to be replaced along with new beds. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holyrood Hotel again in the future to experience this fantastic transformation.

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for a weekend on a B&B deal that made this cheaper than other travel hotels. The staff were excellent and made us feel welcome and were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDustB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear DJDustB,

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

I was delighted to note that you have a lovely stay with us and that the team looked after you so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Another lovely stay at The Holyrood Hotel. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and comfortable and we appreciated the turn-down service and chocolates. Thank you also to the unseen person who polished my husband's shoes when he left them in the basket outside the room.A beautiful job!
Rocca's arrival at the Holyrood has brought an inspired change to the outdated restaurant that was previously there.There is now a stylish bar where you can enjoy a cocktail(I can recommend the Rob Roy!) wine or beer before moving through to the restaurant which has been beautifully refurbished.
A good choice of menus from pre-theatre, market menu or a la carte caters for all tastes I also noticed they offer a lovely inexpensive set lunch menu.
Rocca St Andrews ( a personal favourite) has justly achieved 3 AA rosettes and I imagine the Edinburgh team will be hoping to emulate that success. Good luck with that!
Finally a mention to the delightful staff. You make each return visit to the hotel a pleasure I look forward to seeing you again in April. Irene

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STARKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear STARKEY,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your return stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team and your dining experience at our new Rocca bar & Restaurant. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in April and thank you for your continual custom!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

let me begin by saying many thanks to terri on reception who handled my left wallet situation very quick also the irish gentleman on the bar and in the restaurant in the evening whom was very professional at his job also to sally our waitress who was very polite and ensuring that we had everything we required,the evening meal was very good value.The holyrood hotel is a great hotel with great features swimming pool sauna steam room therapy rooms our executive suite was very well cleaned good standards and had a great deal of space we found everything to our satisfaction now for the breakfast i must say for a 4* hotel the breakfast falls below the 4* standard compared to other hotels in edinburgh which excel in this area,i had scrambled egg with smoked salmon which was sent back the scrambled egg was fried which in my opinion is'nt the best way it overcooks to quick ( may have been liquid egg?) the salmon was not smoked as it said it was.i look forward to seeing if breakfast will be of better standard on my next visit to the holyrood hotel

many thanks

Mr Oldfield

Room Tip: we had an executive suite i would recommend one to anybody whom stays at the holyrood
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptourisuminspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear toptourisuminspector,

I was delighted to read your review following your visit to our hotel and in particular Rocca.

It was a pleasure to learn of your enjoyment and I will ensure the team receives a copy of your feedback as I know they will all be encouraged to hear it, especially the staff you named. I am sorry to note that you did not find our signature breakfast to your liking, we pride ourselves in the fantastic produce and quality we offer which is disappointing when our guests do not experience this. I will certainly address this with our Head Chef.

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I booked the hotel on hotels.com and made a mistake by booking a day later than intended. the mistake only became apparent when we turned up a day early. completely my fault but the hotel were understanding and worked with hotels.com to waiver any penalties to rebook for the day i wanted. the hotel was undergoing renovation but we were not troubled by this, any disruption was kept well away from guests. the bathroom was in need of some work but obviously will be done during renovations. breakfast wasnt the best but there was a very good choice. my biggest complaintbabout the stay was the £20 parking fee.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear sjmate,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, we very much appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback.

I am glad the Reception team were able to assist you the mix up with your booking, however I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast and felt the car parking charge was over priced.

I would be happy to discuss your feedback in more detail if you would be like to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your value feedback and I do hope you will choose to return to us on a future trip to Edinburgh.

Kindest Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland traveller
Level Contributor
242 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Busy hotel in Edinburgh near the Royal Mile. We're staying here because we have a meeting round the corner in the morning. The room was comfortable, noisy fan for the heating, and decrepit armchairs, broken cup on the tray - bit lacking in attention to detail. Booked the dinner package - great value at this time of year. The food was good. Served the wrong drink - lack of attention to detail again. Breakfast was the most "gruelling" experience... the porridge was completely disgusting (don't even try it) - you couldn't even put up wallpaper with this bowl of brown lumpy, watery, mush. Clearly not a Scottish chef. I make mine overnight in the Aga and it's heavenly. Go for the continental if you stay here... Overall average, average and average.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear 60-degrees-north,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your overall stay and found us to be average. I can assure you that this is not at all reflective of our usually high standards and service we have set ourselves.

I will certainly take your feedback on board with the porridge and the attention to detail in our rooms as we undergo our £1.5 million refurbishment.

We do hope that you will choose to return in the very near future and if I can enhance a future stay for you then please feel free to contact me directly here at the hotel.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing