We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #54 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here 3 weeks ago. My wife myself and our 3 kids. We had a family room which contained a double, two singles and a small sitting room with a sofa bed. We were really pleased with the size.
If you are staying with kids be careful with the windows. Make sure they are closed properly as ours was slightly open and our daughter managed to climb on the large window sill. Had we not got her in time she would have fallen out as they open down the way.
The beds aren't the comfiest but they are ok. Room was nice and clean but was quite dated.
Toiletries were in the room (more than enough for the 5 of us which was great).
the pool is lovely as was the attendant, who my wife enjoyed flirting with.
The breakfast was amazing but the hot food was quite small portions. If you are a woman you also need to stipulate that you want two eggs as they automatically bring one. Which is quite annoying given that my wife is bigger than me and she ate some of mine. She was able to fill up more on the huge selection of fruit yogurts pastries and cakes.
It was only after checking out that we realised we should have had a £10 credit for booking the hotel direct and this was given to us.
I don't think it was value for money. We paid £160 for one night but for a four star hotel with a pool and family room (Apex International) and views of the castle, we only paid £115 a night for us all. Parking is also £20 a night which is £8 dearer than Apex too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eljay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Eljay1989,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback.

I will certainly review your comments with regards to our breakfast offerings. I am generally in the operation on a daily basis and feel that we offer an ample cooked breakfast weather you are male or female. This we take great pride in and receive fantastic feedback as you can see from guests comments.

Our pricing structure is in line with our neighbouring competitors, however it does mainly depend on demand within out hotel and time of year in the city. This is reviewed weekly by our central revenue team. We also have great views too!

We do hope you will chose to stay with us again when visiting Edinburgh and thank you once again for your feedback.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    1,036
    374
    149
    70
See reviews for
355
1,539
105
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a family room on a Dinner,bed and breakfast package. On arrival was given a free room upgrade to a family suite with separate area for my oldest to sleep - thank you. Queried whether there was a DVD player available to borrow to allow the kids to watch in the evening. Had one brought to the room within 15 minutes.
Had meals in the newly refurbished restaurant which were excellent and reasonably good value. Used the swimming pool too and although a bit tired as previously mentioned work is ongoing to upgrade this area. Work is ongoing in other parts of the hotel to update the standard and decor too which is required. The one part of the hotel that does deserve 5 stars is the staff. The quality of service from check in to check out was excellent and worthy of note.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank givemeaclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear givemeaclue,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read your feedback and to have shared this with the team.

I am glad that you found our hotel to your satisfaction and that your family enjoyed their overall stay.

We strive to deliver excellent service in all areas within the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel through a passionate approach to hospitality. This can be seen through the enthusiastic staff that we employ, nothing is too much trouble for our guests.

I hope you return to visit us very soon and if I can assist with future bookings then please feel free to contact me directly here at the hotel.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just returned from a one night visit to Edinburgh in order to see the fabulous Warhorse.
Of equal note however was our stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.
We were booked on the Winter Warmer rate which was £92 for DBB in a delightful king room.(per couple!)
We were not expecting to receive such quality food as was delivered from their market menu.
Plenty of variety with good sized portions.
Staff we're exceptionally courteous and helpful, with special mention required for the young Irish manager of the restaurant, who went out of his way to see everything was spot on!
We are regular visitors to Edinburgh, so it goes without saying that we are sure to return.

Room Tip: We were in 405 which was spacious, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear RJD73,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I am very pleased to note that you have such an enjoyable weekend with us. The team will be very encouraged by your comments especially our charming Irish Restaurant Manager.

It goes without saying that we have a wonderful city to relax in for a weekend break. Please do contact me directly when you are planning your visits and I will be happy to assist with the bookings.

Thank you once again for your custom and your review.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I visited Edinburgh with two friends for the 6 Nations rugby international between Scotland and England, staying for the weekend at the Holyrood Hotel. Conveniently located for the Palace of Holyroodhouse and the Scottish parliament, the hotel is about a 20 minute walk to Waverley Station on Prince's Street. Car parking at the hotel is quite restricted with only around 24 spaces available in the underground car park. It costs £25 per vehicle per night but we found it convenient and were pleased that we had booked in advance to reserve spaces. Our room (509) was comfortable, clean and spacious. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel on both nights and were extremely pleased with the quality of the food and service. All the staff at the hotel that we met - check-in/out, concierge, restaurant/bar staff - were extremely professional, helpful and efficient, and their efforts made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelupdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Travelupdate,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a glowing review of your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was glad to note that you enjoyed your overall stay and in particular you found the team to be helpful. They will be pleased that their efforts contributed to you having a great weekend. It was a great match, just a shame Scotland failed to get any points!

We look forward to welcoming you back for the 6 nations next year.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is in Edinburgh OLD TOWN, next to the royal mile. The city area of Edinburgh is small. You can find a lot of budget hotel in Prince street area. This hotel is just a little bit far away from the station, about 10 to 15 mins walk. It is near Scottish Parliament.

The facilities of the hotel is average. It is a FOUR STAR hotel. Indeed, it is better than those budget hotel but need improvement as the mark of time can be found in the detail of furniture and facilities. The room size is good. There is a in-room iron board on the wall.

There is also a pool and steaming room in the basement, opening to the public as well. Bring your own swimming wear if you want to.

There is not much choices of restaurants or takeways near the area. But you can find good ones around the castle, maybe 10 mins walk.

However, the price was good. We got the deal about 60 quids a night without breakfast. My wife and I are non-breakfast type.

In addition, the hotel is near the Arthur's seat, the hill to get the whole picture of Edinburgh. Good place for a walk.

Room Tip: Our double bed is huge as the bed was 'constructed' by two singles. Assume the room was a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Yang W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly our central location and value for money.

We do hope that you will return again very soon and thank you for your review.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for a 2 night break and theatre trip. Our rooms were not ready on arrival but the service we received from the staff was exceptional, especially Pamela. We were staying in the newly refurbished rooms on the 6th floor. They were spacious and very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The access to the library was an added bonus along with the champagne and canapés. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, the early evening menu was very good value for money and very tasty. A good selection at breakfast but would have liked to have been able to order an omelette from the cooked selection! The friendliness of the staff is exceptional nothing was ever too much trouble. A slight glitch on checking out as the bill was incorrect but I am assured that this will be resolved. Well done to you all you, made our stay one to remember and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are newly refurbished to the highest standar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramble22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Bramble22,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

It was my pleasure looking after you all over the weekend. I am so glad you all had such a lovely stay and that you got to enjoy our newly refurbished 6th floor bedrooms.

We are also very proud of Rocca and the care and attention to detail that’s gone into planning the menu and choice. It’s great that you food it exceptional value for money.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back very soon and thank you once again for your review.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel is fine, just a little tired. . The lobby bar has an ambience which reminded me of a budget chain. Lifts are creaky, fixtures and fittings look and feel cheap. My opinion might be coloured by the cost - it was a rugby weekend but for £260 I would expect something of a better standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Pedrode,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay here at the Holyrood.

I am disappointed that you did not find our hotel to your satisfaction. No expense was spared when refurbishing our stunning new Rocca Bar & Restaurant to give it a new look and feel. We have been receiving some excellent feedback since opening our doors in December. This of course is a matter of your opinion to which I respect and thank you for.

We do hope to see you next year for the Ruby and to experience our £1.5 million pound refurbished bedrooms which will be far from tried looking!

If I can be of any assistance to enhance a future visit to us then please feel free to contact myself directly here at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#64 of 148 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing