We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and very good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is very well situated for seeing dynamic earth, the Scottish Parliament, Holyrood House, and lots of other great places. The Royal Mile was walkable, and there is a taxi rank right across the road for those who do not want to walk. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times - there is a major refurb going on, and an amazing amount of trouble has been taken to control noise and disruption to guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Greebo1,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a great review following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your visit, in particular the service from the team and our location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,027 - 2,033 of 3,084 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went with a large group - overall rooms were fine and buffet lunch and breakfasts were excellent. Most of the staff were friendly, particularly at the front desk. The reason I am not giving a better rating is the appalling bar service we received in the late evening. We had to argue with the bartender to serve us. It was getting near closing time but he said the bar was open but then could not work out how to pour drinks. We complained about the poor service and then he stormed off to the front desk. We were not a noisy crowd and considering we had over 20 rooms booked over two nights, we should have have been treated a lot better. Not sure if the bartender spoke English, but if he doesn't, this may have contributed to the confusion.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberlour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Aberlour11,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased that you and your group enjoyed the stay overall, however I am sorry for any confusion that was caused with the bartender on the evening you were with us, I will have the matter addressed by our Bar Manager.

We do hope you will return when visiting Edinburgh in the very near future and if I can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me directly here at the hotel.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh and the MacDonald hotel. The staff were very welcoming and keen to help you resolve any issues (I found the room a little cold so they bought me an extra sheet and an electric heater!) Spa facilities were very good too with a good size pool, big enough for lengths, and sauna and steam room attached. The female changing room was about to undergo a refurbishment which would definitely be a benefit. Breakfast pretty good too. Location just behind the Royal Mile makes it perfect for people wanting to explore the history of the city. Would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FairyTaleDreamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear FairyTaleDreamWorld,

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel this last weekend as it was by birthday. On arrival we were warmly greeted and ask the purpose of our visit. The next day we discovered that the manager had delivered a free bottle of wine to our room together with a birthday wishes card. This is more than a typical hotel has ever given us before. During our stay the staff were polite and could do too much for you without being pushy. The spa was well run and getting an appointment was easy. The breakfast was filling and of a very good standard. Dinner in the hotel was of an excellent standard and portion sizes very good.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Trekmaster01,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, I am glad you liked the card and the bottle of wine for your birthday celebrations.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the staff. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived and were greeted by very helpful and friendly staff which continued through out our stay and what a great asset they are Frank the concierge was very good. We were upgraded to the 6th floor in a refurbished room which was very good. We had dinner on the first night which was included in our package which was very good as was the breakfast in the am. Location was good overall would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Once again thank you to all staff you are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Wendy f,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay here at the Holyrood Hotel.

I am pleased that the hotel and staff lived up to your expectations and that you have such a great stay. The staff are a credit to us as they have a passionate approach to hospitality and this can be seen in the service they deliver.

We are very proud of Rocca, it’s given the hotel a whole new look and feel as you enter. The Bedroom refurbishments that we are under taking are still on going and tie in very nicely.

I look forward to seeing you again on a future visit to the city.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

the hotel itself is the second best thing about MacDonald Hotel Holyrood, the staff win the title everyone of them made our stay great,
it's 2/3rd's of its way through a fantastic refurb (quality at every corner), just ask for a refurb room = great stay!!,
it sits 50m from dynamic earth, 60m from the Scottish Parliament, 100m from Holyrood palace & 200m from the second largest park in the world, 800m from Edinburgh city centre
if your fit enough climb the 800ft hill outside your window to the top and get one hell of a view from Arthurs seat (a dead volcanic plug hole).

Great Hotel well worth a stay.

Room Tip: make sure it's been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eamonn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Eamonn O,

Many thanks for your glowing review, it was lovely to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

The team here strive to deliver excellent service. It’s very rewarding when our guests acknowledge this. They will be very encouraged by it when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, maybe you will have timeand energy to climb up Arthur’s seat!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here in early Jan 14 for a belated Business Xmas team get-together. The building & rooms are pretty impressive and it's located in a lovely position. Food was well below the presentational standard of the hotel though and the bar was disappointingly shut at 2245 when we arrived here after an arduous trip up from Bristol. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Jerry G,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood hotel in January.

I am sorry our new Rocca Restaurant did not live up to your expectations, its disappointing to hear as we have been having such fantastic feedback telling us otherwise. This of course is your opinion to which we thank and I will certainly ensure we are quality checking the food daily. As for the bar, yes we did close the bar on quiet evenings in January if there are no residents looking for drinks, however we offer lounge service after that through the night.

Thank you once again for your feedback which we will take on board. I am pleased you will chose to return on the future.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,682 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing