We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #56 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Modern hotel that was located in a quite area but close enough to walk to all the attractions in Edinburgh.
The rooms on our floor had just been reburbished and were all very comfortable and spacious.
The only slight niggle was that the new wetrooms (no baths) had the rain forest type shower head fixed to the ceiling and when you had a shower water was spraying out onto the floor and door of the bathroom.
Staaf were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. (This was the only meal we had in the hotel)
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear PETERL,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel, I am so pleased you were able to enjoy our newly refurbished rooms.

I will have our maintenance team address the shower in the room, I do hope this didn’t cause you any inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you once again for your recommendations.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    1,047
    375
    149
    71
See reviews for
359
1,549
108
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a night on a girlie break, first room was poor, not very clean, found out this was one of the last few to be upgraded, were then moved to a new refurbished room thanks to Frank the concierge, room was fab! Can't thank Frank enough, nothing was a problem to him and he was very helpful to us when we needed information etc. thank you Frank your a true gentleman. Shelley & Pauline from Dumfries

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladyshelleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Ladyshelleycat,

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

It was lovely to hear that Frank looked after you so well during your visit to us, he is certainly a charming character. I am sorry that the first room you were allocated was not to our usually high standards. I will certainly address your feedback with the team. As you have touched upon we are currently upgrading 4 floors of bedrooms which will continue until May.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you once again for your kind review.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is fantastic, very helpful everyone....the room was not so good as another room tested two years ago. But are little mistakes...a real 4 stars hotel, I'll come back again in my next trip in Edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MauroDiTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear MauroDiTorino,

Many thanks for you kind review of the hotel.

I am glad you had a great stay and that the team looked after whilst you were with us.

With the company’s on-going commitment to enhance our guests experience we are currently benefitting from a phased bedroom refurbishment. As you can see the bar, lounge and restaurant is already been done. We do hope that you will return very soon to experience this for yourself.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip four times, and every time my room was dirty , there were food remnants on the carpet which had not been hoovered. The bedding was dirty and had to be changed on three occasions ! The water in the shower scalding hot and cold . The Window was very dangerous and broken . Rooms are very tired and in need of updating . I would not stay here out of choice . Staff were friendly and helpful when asked to change bedding .

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachhut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Beachhut24,

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel. We very much appreciate your detailed and constructive feedback.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations throughout your visits with us, I am most disappointed that you have not experienced the Holyrood at its usually high standards we are best known for.

I will certainly share and address your feedback with the senior team here. I would be happy to discuss your feedback in finer details, please feel free to contact me directly here when such a time is best suited to you.

Yours Sincerely
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while spending a weekend in Edinburgh. The location of the hotel is very good in close proximity to Hollyrood palace and the Royal Mile. It is easy to get there from the airport as a number 35 bus will drop you a few hundred metres from the hotel. The bus journey from the airport take about 50 minutes. The staff at the reception, restaurant and bar were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast choices were very good. The hotel is in a quiet area of Edinburgh. Our room had very good facilities and was nicely decorated. The rooms were reasonably priced as Edinburgh can be an expensive city. All in all a very pleasant stay in the hotel in a very pleasant city. When staying in Edinburgh we would choose to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbeanCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear JbeanCork_Ireland,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the team!

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent a three night break at this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after to the highest standard. Our room (600) a suite on a private floor was excellent, roomy, comfortable and immaculatley clean. The staffwe very helpful and engageing throughout our stay, nothing being too much trouble. One tiny niggle, the cheese board offered at the end of the evening meal at the restraunt was very poor. There is no doubt this is a fantastic hotel and I would definatley use it again when in Edingbrugh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101viper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear 101viper111,

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel for your 3 night break.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

I will investigate your feedback with our the Head Chef regarding the cheese board. We are glad that this will not afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

If I can be of any assistance then please feel free to contact me directly here at the hotel.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

As I say regularly on my reviews I staff in hotels all the time. I am not easily impressed as I am often underwhelmed by hotel chains that over promise and under deliver.

Positives

Location - really close to the royal mile
Staff - generally better than most MacDonald staff especially the lady that helped us print our boarding passes on reception - so helpful we have her a bottle of wine
Room service was great - efficient and reasonably priced £3 tray charge
Free wifi
Breakfast in room was plentiful and hot!

Could do better

Room decor was getting on a little
Shower turns scalding hot randomly

Unacceptable

Nothing at all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear FortyEngland,

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Holyrood following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you found your stay to your expectations, however I am sorry that you found the shower not to be in working order. This issue has been fully resolved with the maintenance team. Our hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment works in order to enhance our guest experience to which I do hope you return to see for yourself.

With you being a regularly traveller I do hope that you will choose to return to us in the very near future, please do feel free to contact me here at the hotel if I can be of any assistance.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#72 of 149 in Edinburgh
992 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,431 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
652 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing