We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super stay in Edinburgh ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #55 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super stay in Edinburgh ”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel in Edinburgh. The hotel itself was lovely; nice and clean, well equipped. The thing that made all the difference was the staff. They were very attentive and made us feel that no problem was too small. The pool and health club were very impressive and the restaurant food, both breakfast and dinner, was super. I cannot say how good our stay was for a very reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Nicholas W,

Many thanks for offering your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

It was very encouraging to read that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable. We appreciate all our guest feedback in order to tweak our service and standards where necessary, so thank you for sharing this with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future, if we can be of any assistance please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    1,023
    368
    148
    70
See reviews for
353
1,526
104
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay in early April. Got one of the refurbished rooms. The room was clean, bed comfortable. The bathroom extractor fan seemed not to work, so bathroom got very steamy when having a shower. Noted a few blobs of bathroom sealant over the tiles in the shower, so the workmen are not getting their work checked well. Having said that, this in no way impacted on the enjoyment of our stay.

Breakfast was good, staff friendly.

Of particular note was the assistance given to us for finding out about the box office ticket collection from the Head Concierge (Gareth?). He went beyond the call of duty and gave us the service that we know comes from Macdonald hotels.

Will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skottydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Skottydog,

Many thanks for submitting your review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel from your recent break with us.

We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. The refurbishment works are still on going here until the end of May to which we will have all our rooms snagged and double checked to ensure they are finished to a very high standards, thank you for pointing this out to us we do hope this did not cause you any inconvenience. I will ensure our own maintenance team look into this.

It’s wonderful to hear that you will return to us and use the hotel again. Gareth will be pleased that he was able to enhance your stay and offering his valuable local knowledge.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have just returned home to Manchester from a 2 night stay at the hotel.I cannot sing the praises highly enough of the staff, restaurant and the ambience of this lovely hotel. In particular the bar/ restuarant staff that we met..David, Keir and the two Laura's, such warm, polite, friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. We dined in on Tuesday evening, Rocco,s is a gem, food superb, congrats to the chef! Our room 301, a junior suite although not refurbished was spacious, smart and very comfortable. I also need to mention the breakfast staff, reception and the concierges. If staff within the the McDonald hotel chain are half as good as the Holyrood then hats off to you.

Room Tip: A junior suite, overlooking Holyrood Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Chris F,

Thank you for such a glowing review of the Hotel and the team.

I am so pleased that you had such as wonderful stay with us. We are very proud of our newly refurbished Rocca Bar & Restaurant, the food, service and ambiance brings a great new vibe to the hotel. The team in there will be touched that you mentioned them by name, I will be sure to inform them when we have our weekly meeting.

Across the company we are committed to delivering excellent customer service and offering the best products possible, as you touched upon this is clear from the staff and the fine service they offered you during your break with us.

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to offer your review we very much appreciate it.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

V disappointed with the Spa which was surprising given the hotel. The pool was very cold and there were only a few chairs around the pool. No jacuzzi. Small treatment waiting area so no real place to sit and relax. Treatment was good but was given a hard sell on products.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TalktoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear TalktoPG,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel spa.

I am sorry you were disappointed with our spa and leisure facilities. We have just recently invested a large amount of capital in upgrading them. We don’t have a Jacuzzi and do not advertise that we have one, however I thank you for your honest feedback and am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Edinburgh at a similar time last year and decided to return to The Macdonald Holyrood over the Easter break.
We had a hectic schedule so sadly didn't get to use all the facilities the hotel has to offer i.e. spa, new restaurant for evening meal.
Bedroom had been updated and was fabulous. Bed was huge and so comfy. Colour scheme in rich tones - classy! Beautifully fitted and pristine bathroom (power shower,no bath)
Desk situated in the room and with good free wifi access would make this hotel a good choice for business use as well as leisure.
Reception and staff that served breakfast on the Sunday morning - top notch customer service and the cooked breakfast was delicious. The newly refurbed bar area and restaurant have an upmarket boutique hotel look to them.
All in all with just a ten minute walk from the train station makes this hotel an ideal choice for us and should we return next year we will check in for a 3rd stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear MrsBlack044,

Thank you so much for your glowing detailed review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your 2nd visit to us, it was our pleasure looking after you. We do hope you enjoyed the show at the Playhouse. Then next time you will have to reduce your schedule in order to take advantage of our relaxing leisure facilities and our fabulous Rocca Restaurant!

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year for visit number 3.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

No complaints really here. We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter weekend recently and from the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough to help us - especially the breakfast staff who were attentive and very quick to respond to any requests we had. The room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. Given how small Edinburgh is, location is not going to be an issue however this hotel being situated towards the bottom of the royal mile was ideally placed to access all the attractions we were looking to visit. To add to all that, the leisure facilities were perfect for what we needed to relax after a long journey.

We will stay again and will be recommending to family and friends

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear DamierjOR,

Many thanks for taking your time to offer your feedback from your recent Easter break with us here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

It’s lovely to hear that you had such a relaxing weekend and that the team looked after you so well. We certainly take great pride in the fine customer service we offer to all our guests that come through our doors. We wish that everyone feels as though we are a home away from home!

Thank you for your recommendations to your friends and family. I will look forward to personally welcoming you back to us very soon. Please do contact me if we can enhance a future stay for you.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 days - 2 nights on a family Easter break. From pre-check in to check out, everything was fantastic.

The Concierge was knowledgeable and helpful, the Check-In Team were pleasant and polite, the whole atmosphere was relaxed and professional.

Then the room - we had Room 301 and as a family room it was superb. Large room with 2 x TV's, separate bedding area for the kids, large bathroom. What more could we want?

The pool area too was excellent - clean, quiet and plenty of room to swim. The steam room and sauna as well as the changing areas were spotless.

The breakfasts each day set you up for the day and had massive variety and options. Again the service here was exemplary.

Clearly the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is a well run hotel with highly trained staff who genuinely put the customer experience first. All this coupled with a competitive price and a great location made this a brilliant stay - it will not be our last visit........

Room Tip: Room 301 for families - massive.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkTraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear YorkTraveller1962,

Thank you for taking the time to offer such a glowing detailed review of your recent Easter break with us.

I am really pleased to learn that we looked after you and your family so well. I will surely pass your feedback onto the team as they are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to you all returning soon for another family vacation. If I can be of further assistance with future bookings please feel free to contact me directly here at the hotel.

Thank you once again and best wishes.
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#63 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing