We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Generous reviews led to my stay however pubic hairs caused alarm in both the first AND the second rooms!! The third room was a little better but very dated, tired and by now you start to really note failures.

Not 4 star standards! Try any of the many other hotels in area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Martin C,

Thank you for taking time to write your review of your recent visit to the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was disappointed to note the issues you raised in relation to the Housekeeping standard, as you can see from the previous reviews our standards are very high and we generally have excellent feedback on this. The Head Housekeeper here was advised at the time of your findings.

I am sorry I didn’t get the opportunity to meet with you whilst staying with us. I would welcome any further feedback you may wish to share with me.

Once again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and if I can assist further then please feel free to make contact with me here at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    1,017
    367
    147
    70
See reviews for
353
1,510
103
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I usually try to get away as a birthday treat, and in March for my birthday we decided to go back to Edinburgh having enjoyed a weekend break there a few years before. We opted for the MacDonald Holyrood for its location as we wanted to be close to the city centre but not right in the heart of it.

On arrival, the staff were welcoming and helpful and we were delighted to be advised that our room had been upgraded. The room was very clean and tidy, had a modern feel and was well equipped. We particularly liked the added security of having restricted access to the floor, which meant that only guests with rooms on our floor could actually take the lift to our floor.

We started our trip with a Champagne Afternoon Tea in the Lounge Bar area. The bar prices were very reasonable, and the service was excellent with very friendly and attentive staff.

While I stayed on in the bar to enjoy another drink, my wife had booked in for a Hot Stone Massage, followed by a manicure and facial. Whilst I can't comment on these myself, she found them very enjoyable and relaxing, and says she'd certainly recommend these services to other guests. Again, the spa prices were realistic, and the facilities were first class.

In the evening we decided to go into the City Centre for a meal and a few drinks. The weather was not at its best and I wasn't looking forward to flagging down a cab while getting soaked, but never fear, Frank at the Concierge Desk stepped up and got us a taxi, and made sure we were dry.

The bed was comfortable and we both enjoyed a relaxing nights sleep. Prior to heading out for the evening, the hotel offered us a "turn-down" service which we declined but it was a nice touch.

Breakfast was excellent, a full range of hot and cold options were available, in large or small quantities as required.

On the second night we opted to take Dinner in the hotel restaurant, and were certainly not disappointed. The selection of courses and options available was sufficient to meet a variety of tastes. While I was able to opt for an Italian style of meal, my wife was able to select something more traditionally British which suited us both very well. The food and service was excellent, the staff were helpful and the meal didn't break our budget.

Again, we slept well, had another excellent breakfast, and were sorry to leave.

We'll certainly look at MacDonald Group Hotels for our next trip, and would be happy to go back to the Holyrood if we were to visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear David A,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the hotel.

I am so pleased that you returned to us after your first visit a few years back, you will have noticed a considerable different with the investment the company has put into the Holyrood.

It’s great that to hear that you had an enjoyable birthday weekend and that it was memorable for all the right reasons. Your detailed review was very encouraging to read, I will certainly share this with the team as they are always encouraged when I share the reviews with them.

We do hope to see you return back for very soon, so please don’t leave it a few years this time!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel in Edinburgh. The hotel itself was lovely; nice and clean, well equipped. The thing that made all the difference was the staff. They were very attentive and made us feel that no problem was too small. The pool and health club were very impressive and the restaurant food, both breakfast and dinner, was super. I cannot say how good our stay was for a very reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Nicholas W,

Many thanks for offering your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

It was very encouraging to read that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable. We appreciate all our guest feedback in order to tweak our service and standards where necessary, so thank you for sharing this with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future, if we can be of any assistance please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay in early April. Got one of the refurbished rooms. The room was clean, bed comfortable. The bathroom extractor fan seemed not to work, so bathroom got very steamy when having a shower. Noted a few blobs of bathroom sealant over the tiles in the shower, so the workmen are not getting their work checked well. Having said that, this in no way impacted on the enjoyment of our stay.

Breakfast was good, staff friendly.

Of particular note was the assistance given to us for finding out about the box office ticket collection from the Head Concierge (Gareth?). He went beyond the call of duty and gave us the service that we know comes from Macdonald hotels.

Will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skottydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Skottydog,

Many thanks for submitting your review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel from your recent break with us.

We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. The refurbishment works are still on going here until the end of May to which we will have all our rooms snagged and double checked to ensure they are finished to a very high standards, thank you for pointing this out to us we do hope this did not cause you any inconvenience. I will ensure our own maintenance team look into this.

It’s wonderful to hear that you will return to us and use the hotel again. Gareth will be pleased that he was able to enhance your stay and offering his valuable local knowledge.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have just returned home to Manchester from a 2 night stay at the hotel.I cannot sing the praises highly enough of the staff, restaurant and the ambience of this lovely hotel. In particular the bar/ restuarant staff that we met..David, Keir and the two Laura's, such warm, polite, friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. We dined in on Tuesday evening, Rocco,s is a gem, food superb, congrats to the chef! Our room 301, a junior suite although not refurbished was spacious, smart and very comfortable. I also need to mention the breakfast staff, reception and the concierges. If staff within the the McDonald hotel chain are half as good as the Holyrood then hats off to you.

Room Tip: A junior suite, overlooking Holyrood Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Chris F,

Thank you for such a glowing review of the Hotel and the team.

I am so pleased that you had such as wonderful stay with us. We are very proud of our newly refurbished Rocca Bar & Restaurant, the food, service and ambiance brings a great new vibe to the hotel. The team in there will be touched that you mentioned them by name, I will be sure to inform them when we have our weekly meeting.

Across the company we are committed to delivering excellent customer service and offering the best products possible, as you touched upon this is clear from the staff and the fine service they offered you during your break with us.

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to offer your review we very much appreciate it.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

V disappointed with the Spa which was surprising given the hotel. The pool was very cold and there were only a few chairs around the pool. No jacuzzi. Small treatment waiting area so no real place to sit and relax. Treatment was good but was given a hard sell on products.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TalktoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear TalktoPG,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel spa.

I am sorry you were disappointed with our spa and leisure facilities. We have just recently invested a large amount of capital in upgrading them. We don’t have a Jacuzzi and do not advertise that we have one, however I thank you for your honest feedback and am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Edinburgh at a similar time last year and decided to return to The Macdonald Holyrood over the Easter break.
We had a hectic schedule so sadly didn't get to use all the facilities the hotel has to offer i.e. spa, new restaurant for evening meal.
Bedroom had been updated and was fabulous. Bed was huge and so comfy. Colour scheme in rich tones - classy! Beautifully fitted and pristine bathroom (power shower,no bath)
Desk situated in the room and with good free wifi access would make this hotel a good choice for business use as well as leisure.
Reception and staff that served breakfast on the Sunday morning - top notch customer service and the cooked breakfast was delicious. The newly refurbed bar area and restaurant have an upmarket boutique hotel look to them.
All in all with just a ten minute walk from the train station makes this hotel an ideal choice for us and should we return next year we will check in for a 3rd stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear MrsBlack044,

Thank you so much for your glowing detailed review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your 2nd visit to us, it was our pleasure looking after you. We do hope you enjoyed the show at the Playhouse. Then next time you will have to reduce your schedule in order to take advantage of our relaxing leisure facilities and our fabulous Rocca Restaurant!

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year for visit number 3.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing