We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still a super hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent some time in this hotel 12 years ago. Hubby and I decided to have a mini break in Edinburgh and I chose this hotel because of my previous knowledge of it. The hotel, staff, quality of room, linens, bar, food etc was STILL, first class. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is also located at the bottom of the royal mile, two minutes walk to Holyrood Palace and a lovely 10 minute walk to Princes Street. Just go!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraineandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear lorraineandtim,

Thank you so much for returning to us after staying with us 12 years ago.

I am so pleased that you still found everything to be first class! We endeavour to exceeded our guests expectations with continual training and development of the team along with reviewing our mystery audits. This ensures that we are maintaining our usual high standards.

We very much look forward to you returning to us, but please don’t leave it another 12 years before you return!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    1,035
    374
    149
    71
See reviews for
355
1,538
106
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, MT
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have to preface this review by saying I was part of a 30 person tour group that was booked into this hotel by the tour company. So I’m not sure of the price per room, but I want to share what I experienced and know about this place. This hotel is located at the end of the Royal Mile, close to the Parliament building, Holyrood Castle, and the Earth Museum. Highly recommend. Probably one of the best of the 11 hotels we stayed at during our trip. Hotel was clean, roomy, and comfortable, probably closest to an America Style hotel, similar to a Westin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear washmont,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to offer it after your trip to the UK.

I am glad the hotel exceeded your expectations. It’s very rewarding when our guests enjoy their stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team at our weekly meeting.

We do hope you have a trip back across the water soon and look forward to you returning to us.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ask for room on 5th floor as most rooms on other floors seem to be very out dated and look as if they have not been refurbished for many years. poor quality mattresses that dip in the middle in the 'classic rooms' are not large comfortable beds as described on website. Would not stay here again unless garunteed one of the newly referbished rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear CarolineJ19,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was sorry to note that you found the hotel disappointing due to you being in one of the original classic rooms. It is our on-going commitment to invest in our properties so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. It is the company’s intention to have the remaining 2 floors of rooms fully refurbished in spring 2015, due to the high demand at present we are unable to take these rooms out of service, however they are well maintained and fit for guest use.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope that this will not deter you from re booking.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of her 60th birthday celebrations. From check in on Friday to check out on the Monday, we found the staff very helpful, friendly and courteous. The food in the Roca restaurant on the one night we ate at the hotel was superb.
Special thanks to Sally, Julius and Justine for helping to make our stay so special.
We would certainly stay here again if we were visiting Edinburgh

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Crags and Arthurs seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rboorman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear rboorman1,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a glowing review of your recent stay with us.

It was lovely to note that the team especially Sally, Julius and Justine made your wife’s 60th birthday celebrations very memorable for you both. They will be pleased when I tell them that they contributed to this.

We are very proud of our new Rocca Bar & Restaurant, its our dedication to offer the very best food quality that makes us different. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our Head Chef and his team.

Looking forward to you both coming back for more special celebrations soon!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we visited Edinburgh recently for a graduation. the hotel was lovely, the room was good, well appointed and clean. food was good and staff were attentive, especially Tina on reception and David in the restaurant. A special mention also to "Mr Larne" no question or request was too difficult, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Joan1717

Many thanks for offering such a lovely review of the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team especially Gina on Reception and David in the Restaurant, they will be touched you mentioned them in person.

Please do come back and visit us very soon!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family and myself visited Edinburgh for the first time last week and we stayed for 3 nights at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. From the outside the Holyrood is a typical modern building but inside it is an absolute gem. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. We were lucky enough to be on the exclusive Club Floor and luckier still to be in 2 lovely suites that had wonderful views over Arthur's Seat. The only very small issue with my particular suite was the skylight in the sitting area does need a blind fitting as the sunlight creeps in rather early. Good selection of food both at breakfast and dinner, the décor in the restaurant is really nice. Would definitely recommend and stay here on our next stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tink2599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Tink2599,

Thank you for submitting your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. The hotel certainly has a new lease of life from its recent refurbishments after running successfully for 15 years. It’s nice that you called the inside a ‘gem’.

I will have our Head Housekeeper look into your feedback regarding blinds for the sky lights in the suites at the front of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we very much appreciate all the reviews our gusts offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here with a friend over Fringe Fest and well what an epic stay. We arrived super early on the bus from London and asked if we could leave our bags at reception...and instead they let us check in at 8am which was great win as we hadn't had a good sleep on the bus.

the rooms were absolutely spacious and comfy. the bathroom was also very big and clean.

the staff were so generous and so willing to give us advice on what to do and see.

i would gladly go back again. location was ideal for fringe festival as it was close to all the shows but also a little bit out of the centre of it all and therefore very quiet.

thank you to the team!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lungi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Lungi89,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay here in August 2013. We very much appreciate your feedback.

It was lovely to note that you had a great time here whilst the fringe festival was on, shame you’re not coming back this year.

I will gladly pass your comments onto the team as they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#66 of 148 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing