We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife on our anniversary weekend in March this year and although they were carrying out repairs and improvements for the upcoming Commonwealth Games, it did not detract from a fantastic stay. our room with very comfortable bed was excellent and the food in their restaurant was delicious. The staff, from the restaurant to the bar staff and the front desk were fantastic, with a particular mention for Laura Burns because she was amazing and seemed to be everywhere, any time you needed her. If I plan a future weekend in Edinburgh then it will definitely be at this hotel. Coupled with the enjoyment of all this is the location because if you wish to see historical Edinburgh then this is the hotel to be staying in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB46Rossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear RB46Rossi,

Thank you for such a wonderful review from your stay back in March. It was a pleasure to read this.

As you touched upon the hotel was undergoing refurbishment works in order to enhance our guests experience. The final phase of this work will be completed early next year.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary and that the team made it a memorable one, especially Laura. I will be sure to pass your comments over to them all as they will be touched by it.

Do please come back and stay with us when visiting the city.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,027)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for 3 adults in the same hotel that some friends were staying in. We were on the 5th floor and the room was very nice with a good view over Arthurs seat. Unfortunately, the extra bed was a 'Z' bed. For an extra adult we found this a bit unsatisfactory. This was proven in the middle of the second night when 3 slats of the bed gave way.
Leisure facilities are good, great location in town for city centre. Breakfast was great. Not sure on value for money - for what we were supplied I would say poor. Great hotel spoiled by bedroom set up.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank muddies1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear muddies1077,

Many thanks for you taking your time to offer your review of your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

Its disappointing to note that the extra bed for the 3rd adult was not suffice and that this had spoiled your weekend. I have reviewed this with the Head Housekeeper who also sends on her apologies. The extra beds we supply are of a high standard, which is why I am surprised that it gave way. Again I am very sorry and I will take this up with our supplier.

We do hope that you will choose to return to us on a future break to the city and therefore would be grateful if you could contact us directly in order to enhance a future stay for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent some time in this hotel 12 years ago. Hubby and I decided to have a mini break in Edinburgh and I chose this hotel because of my previous knowledge of it. The hotel, staff, quality of room, linens, bar, food etc was STILL, first class. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is also located at the bottom of the royal mile, two minutes walk to Holyrood Palace and a lovely 10 minute walk to Princes Street. Just go!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lorraineandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear lorraineandtim,

Thank you so much for returning to us after staying with us 12 years ago.

I am so pleased that you still found everything to be first class! We endeavour to exceeded our guests expectations with continual training and development of the team along with reviewing our mystery audits. This ensures that we are maintaining our usual high standards.

We very much look forward to you returning to us, but please don’t leave it another 12 years before you return!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have to preface this review by saying I was part of a 30 person tour group that was booked into this hotel by the tour company. So I’m not sure of the price per room, but I want to share what I experienced and know about this place. This hotel is located at the end of the Royal Mile, close to the Parliament building, Holyrood Castle, and the Earth Museum. Highly recommend. Probably one of the best of the 11 hotels we stayed at during our trip. Hotel was clean, roomy, and comfortable, probably closest to an America Style hotel, similar to a Westin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank washmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear washmont,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to offer it after your trip to the UK.

I am glad the hotel exceeded your expectations. It’s very rewarding when our guests enjoy their stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team at our weekly meeting.

We do hope you have a trip back across the water soon and look forward to you returning to us.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ask for room on 5th floor as most rooms on other floors seem to be very out dated and look as if they have not been refurbished for many years. poor quality mattresses that dip in the middle in the 'classic rooms' are not large comfortable beds as described on website. Would not stay here again unless garunteed one of the newly referbished rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear CarolineJ19,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was sorry to note that you found the hotel disappointing due to you being in one of the original classic rooms. It is our on-going commitment to invest in our properties so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. It is the company’s intention to have the remaining 2 floors of rooms fully refurbished in spring 2015, due to the high demand at present we are unable to take these rooms out of service, however they are well maintained and fit for guest use.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope that this will not deter you from re booking.

Kind regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of her 60th birthday celebrations. From check in on Friday to check out on the Monday, we found the staff very helpful, friendly and courteous. The food in the Roca restaurant on the one night we ate at the hotel was superb.
Special thanks to Sally, Julius and Justine for helping to make our stay so special.
We would certainly stay here again if we were visiting Edinburgh

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Crags and Arthurs seat
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rboorman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear rboorman1,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a glowing review of your recent stay with us.

It was lovely to note that the team especially Sally, Julius and Justine made your wife’s 60th birthday celebrations very memorable for you both. They will be pleased when I tell them that they contributed to this.

We are very proud of our new Rocca Bar & Restaurant, its our dedication to offer the very best food quality that makes us different. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our Head Chef and his team.

Looking forward to you both coming back for more special celebrations soon!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we visited Edinburgh recently for a graduation. the hotel was lovely, the room was good, well appointed and clean. food was good and staff were attentive, especially Tina on reception and David in the restaurant. A special mention also to "Mr Larne" no question or request was too difficult, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joan1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Joan1717

Many thanks for offering such a lovely review of the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team especially Gina on Reception and David in the Restaurant, they will be touched you mentioned them in person.

Please do come back and visit us very soon!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,019 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 150 in Edinburgh
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £92 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing