We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent three night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #59 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Excellent three night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for a short break during the latter part of July.The room was large, comfortable and immaculate and had recently been refurbished. We were on the 5th floor and near the front of the hotel which meant we had a view of the Salisbury Crags. The hotel staff are friendly, polite and
extremely helpful, particularly the concierge desk. The hotel is in a very convenient, yet quiet, location, which was perfect for exploring Edinburgh city centre whilst still feeling like a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Grace T,

Wow thanks for the 5 star review of your recent break at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was so pleased that you had such an excellent time and that the staff were extremely helpful. They all find it very encouraging and rewarding when they know they have delivered great service and hospitality which we strive so hard to perfect with continual training.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    1,017
    367
    147
    70
See reviews for
353
1,510
103
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent all round, lovely room, great restaurant, really friendly young staff who could not do enough to assist.

No car parking available at the time despite being advertised was my only gripe, however a secure NCP a 5 min walk saved the day.

Highly recommended by me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay with us.

Its nice to hear that me met your expectations and that the team could not do enough to assist.

I am sorry that you were not able to park your car with us due to temporary restrictions, however the next time you return we will be sure to have a space reserved for you.

If we can enhance a future stay then please do contact us directly here at the hotel.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked in for a spa day for my sisters hen party, great value for money. The spa treatments were great and the facilities were clean and well presented. The girls doing the spa treatments were welcoming and chatted away to us all which was a lovely touch. The lunch was a wee bit disappointing but tasty enough, if only there was more! Overall we had a lovely time with lovely staff and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sazzyb22,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent visit to our spa here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.
It was lovely to hear that you had such a good day celebrating your sister’s hen. The spa manager Melanie and her team will be touched by your comments and pleased that you enjoyed the treatments.

Regarding the bento boxes, we usually receive positive feedback on the quality and portion offering, I will be sure to pass this onto our head chef for review.

Please do come back and visit us soon as we have so many fantastic treatments to choice from.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week in July for work.

Rooms were a good size with large comfy bed, TV, large wardrobe, safe and modern bathroom.

Used the hotel gym which has modern techno gym kit decent weights (for me anyway prob not if you are a bodybuikder) and a bench. The swimming pool also looks good and I have heard the spa is good too!

Breakfast was good with a lot of choice. You can order the hot stuff from the menu. Service was a bit slow the first day but quicker on the second but do allow time if you're in a rush. Staff are friendly.

My only negative comments which are minor are the lack of signs to the gym and the lifts are tiny and quite scary. Other than that really liked the hotel. Its not on the nicest road and not many restaurants right next to it but the pizza express is good and 15 min walk you can find good places.

Would definitely come back for work!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear auditmunki,

Thanks for taking the time to offer your review from your recent business trip.

It was great to note that you found the hotel comfortable and convenient for work and that you would return to us in the future.

Thank you for pointing out our signage. We have recently undergone a refurbishment of the spa, gym and bedrooms and are still in the process of updating signage. Rest assure it is in hand.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and if we can enhance a future stay for you then please do feel free to contact us directly here at the hotel.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for our anniversary on Sunday, this was our second time at this hotel and again we were not disappointed with our choice. All of the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, we had an evening meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent and could not fault the service, a special mention the restaurant staff that evening. Once again had a great stay here and will definitely be back in the future. Good location, very good facilities and rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear IanG94,

Thank you for offering such a glowing review of your return visit to us here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

The team will be so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary and that you found it to be exceptional. It’s very rewarding for us when we hear that our guests have a memorable stay especially given that you have stayed with us before and that we continue to offer a great service. I will take great delight in passing your feedback over to them.

Once again thank you for your comments and we do look forward to you returning to us very soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Booked as recommended to us. Nice hotel, clean and pleasant room although not a lot to see from window. We pre booked the car park at £25 per night as it is very small, not sure where the nearest car park is. We ate in the restaurant one night, food was lovely. Breakfast was part buffet with the cooked breakfast made to order, only complaint here was didn't clear the tables of crockery as you finished with things! Had a pool and spa. Used the pool and sauna. Nice size, changing rooms and towels provided. It is located within easy walking distance to the royal mile and the old town. Uphill on the way there! Friendly staff. Would use again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Amanda L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am glad you came to stay with us on a recommendation and that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We do recommend you pre book car park when bring a car as we only have limited space, where by it would be a first come first serve basis if not booked. There is a local NCP car park which is located over at Dynamic earth (across from the hotel), however its having the peace of mind that you can have it valet parked with us along with it being safe and secure under ground.

I will certainly review your comments with the Bar & Restaurant manager in relation to your breakfast experience as the team are generally have the eye for detail and clearing tables.

Once again thank you for your comments and we do look forward to you returning to us very soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Edinburgh for 3 nights at the Macdonald Holyrood. We did not have a car so relied on walking and taxis. The hotel itself was beautiful and the staff was very attentive. We had an included breakfast which was excellent, and we ate dinner there one night. We don't usually eat dinner in hotels, but I must say that the food was excellent for dinner as well. The room was large and comfortable and well-appointed. The only downside to the hotel if you don't have a car is that it is as the bottom of the city near Parliament. Although it is a nice location, walking is mostly uphill. So on each outing, we took a taxi to the highest point we were visiting and then walked down. It worked out fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Kristin b,

Many thanks for your kind review of the hotel.

I enjoyed reading your comments and am pleased that you enjoyed your over all stay. We are very proud of our new Rocca, it certainly is going down a treat. Our guests are certainly enjoying the fine Scottish dishes with an Italian twist.

We are known as the hilly city of Scotland and even though are location is very central in the old town, yes we are at the bottom of the hill being the Royal Mile.

Your feedback is very much apprieactied and I thank you for taking the time to offer it. We do hope you come back and visit us soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing