We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a trip to Scotland and Ireland. Our 1st hotel was Holyrood Hotel In Edinburgh. Located at thee very end of royal mile. We did not have the best views but we did have superior service. We arrived early due to early flight so rooms not ready, our bags were stowed, we were given maps and suggestions for rest of day. During our stay in Scotland we had a 2 night stay in Skye, the hotel stowed our big luggage until our return. The reception staff and concierge staff, especially Frank ( sorrow I do not know last name) were very helpful

Room Tip: We were not really choosy. Our room was spacious, clean, all the amenities, ( ie coffee and tea in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWH821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear DWH821,

Thank you for highlighting the efforts of the Front Office team and in particular Frank, It certainly looks as though you have enjoyed your time with us and I hope you had a fantastic trip, and got home safe and sound.

I hope in time we can again welcome you to the Holyrood Hotel where Frank shall be waiting..

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 3,172 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We flew into Edinburgh airport, got the airlink 100 bus which took us to Waverley Street. It was just a 10 minute walk from here to the hotel. Very straight forward and no hassle. The hotel is nice, it is currently being updated. I was very pleased with our room, and our beds were so comfortable. Breakfast is good, but maybe not as much choice as other 4* hotels. We are here for 3 nights, and I am pleased with my choice. A good location, just 10 minute walks to places. Staff are attentive and helpful. A bit of early morning noise with opening and shutting doors between 6-7.30am, is the only complaint I have.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for your review and your feedback is very welcome, apologies for any early morning noise that may have disturb you, and hope this wont put you off returning again in the future. I was pleased that you were happy with your room and have enjoyed a comfortable time with us and found the location of the hotel has worked well with getting around the city.

The team shall appreciate your kind words as we work hard to engage with our guests to ensure the best possible experience for all.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend break here and was allocated a quiet room as requested. We enjoyed our breakfast both days and the air con was welcome as it was very warm at the time. We do not mind walking, so getting into the town centre was a great way to work off the breakfast and its not that far if you ask the concierge the best route. All amenities were great and the only down side was the parking charge of £25 per night. We chose to ask where the nearest NCP was and its not too far away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Allburn,

Thank you ever some much for your great review and also your recommendation, I was very pleased to read that you have had such a comfortable stay with us and the location of the hotel has worked well for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holyrood Hotel, hopefully in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Myself and a group of 4 friends stayed here in April to celebrate my birthday. We took 3 double bedrooms on a special offer rate which included B&B, use of the spa facilities and a 60 minute treatment, which was excellent value.

The hotel has lovely decor, the bedrooms were well maintained and very comfortable. The breakfast served was perfect for our hang over needs and all staff were courteous, polite and attentive.

The spa facilities were great too, although it did feel that they may have been over-subscribed as the relaxation room was full both times we tried to use it, which didn't make for such a relaxing experience, but all in all it made for a lovely short break away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Charlottie84,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased to read that you have had such a lovely time with us here in Edinburgh, we have recently gone through some refurbishment here at the hotel in many of the bedrooms, Rocca bar and restaurant and within the spa area and thank you for highlighting your comfort with the décor.

We often receive kind words about the team here at the Holyrood Hotel and I was pleased that this was also your view.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Don't book this hotel for a triple; got a double bed and a cot. The cot was the most uncomfortable imaginable, and collapsed both nights. The low rating is for a triple room specifically; otherwise the location is reasonable, the rooms clean, staff friendly, and breakfast good.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Phil H,

Apologies for the disappointment caused with this extra bed during your stay with us, we shall take this feedback on board and review this situation and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I was of course very happy to read that on the whole you have enjoyed all other areas of the hotel and the friendly team here at the Holyrood, and I hope that we can in time welcome you again when you are next in the city.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the room allocated for on previous visits I had been disappointed. It had a strange bed settee in the suite area but beside that it was a luxury experience.
Really comfortable bed and I felt cocooned and dropped off to sleep very easily.
Unfortunately I was awoken at 3.30 in the morning by the fire alarm. We were escorted to a fire assembly point and got back in to the hotel not long afterwards.
Was amazed to fall back to sleep in the wonderful bed and got my beauty sleep.

Room Tip: Only Loud because of the fire alarm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Pauline Glasgow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was very pleased to read your positive feedback with regards to the bedroom allocation on this visit, and that you have had a comfortable stay with us despite the fire evacuation and thank you for your understanding in this matter. I hope in time we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holyrood Hotel and another great stay.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel was very nice with air conditioning!!!! However, our room was supposed to be a triple and we had a double bed and a cot which was disappointing. This could be because we were on a Trafalgar tour so they cut corners where had we been paying for the room independently perhaps a more suitable room would have been available for a price.....

They had a very nice bar & Simone, the bartender both nights was very attentive and excellent!! The concierge desk was also very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Memis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Memis25

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and apologies that there has been some disappointment on the trip with your bedroom allocated. As you can imagine we have several tours staying with us daily particularly over the summer months, at all times we endeavour to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests here at the Holyrood and hope this would not put you off returning again in the future.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the Rocca Bar and Simone has looked after your needs, and keeping you suitably refreshed.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield.

Stuart Broomfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,784 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,890 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,593 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing