We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
US$276
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Place(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$80
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,218)
Filter reviews
3,218 results
Traveller rating
1,466
1,124
394
160
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
1,124
394
160
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdynamic earthroyal milescottish parliamentparliament buildingarthur's seatlovely hotelspa treatmentssauna and steam roomcooked breakfastgood sizeper nightexecutive roomleisure facilitiesbreakfast servicebooked this hotelweekend breakenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,024 - 2,029 of 3,218 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was very nice. Nice rooms, very accommodating staff and good location. It was only a three block to the Royal Mile. The Hop On-Hop Off bus stopped within a block. Breakfast and dinner were very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TennesseeCounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Tennessee Counsel,

Wow thank you so much for the fantastic rating and your very kind words, we are really pleased that you have had a great time with us, and have also very much enjoyed your evening meal in the Rocca Restaurant & Bar, and breakfast the following morning.

Thank you and Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent, very clean modern hotel. Heated bath towel bar is a great touch. Impressed with the anti-fog mirror after showering. Apparently a heated wire is installed behind the mirror to keep it clear. Location at the foot of the Royal Mile.(opposite end from the Castle). Excellent buffet breakfast with wide selection.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear jkcollin,

I am really happy that you have had such a comfortable stay with us here at the Holyrood Hotel, and found the breakfast offering to be excellent.

We place a lot of effort to ensure all items are sourced locally, fully traceable and to the highest quality possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a trip to Scotland and Ireland. Our 1st hotel was Holyrood Hotel In Edinburgh. Located at thee very end of royal mile. We did not have the best views but we did have superior service. We arrived early due to early flight so rooms not ready, our bags were stowed, we were given maps and suggestions for rest of day. During our stay in Scotland we had a 2 night stay in Skye, the hotel stowed our big luggage until our return. The reception staff and concierge staff, especially Frank ( sorrow I do not know last name) were very helpful

Room Tip: We were not really choosy. Our room was spacious, clean, all the amenities, ( ie coffee and tea in room) We were facing a busy street but room was very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWH821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear DWH821,

Thank you for highlighting the efforts of the Front Office team and in particular Frank, It certainly looks as though you have enjoyed your time with us and I hope you had a fantastic trip, and got home safe and sound.

I hope in time we can again welcome you to the Holyrood Hotel where Frank shall be waiting..

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We flew into Edinburgh airport, got the airlink 100 bus which took us to Waverley Street. It was just a 10 minute walk from here to the hotel. Very straight forward and no hassle. The hotel is nice, it is currently being updated. I was very pleased with our room, and our beds were so comfortable. Breakfast is good, but maybe not as much choice as other 4* hotels. We are here for 3 nights, and I am pleased with my choice. A good location, just 10 minute walks to places. Staff are attentive and helpful. A bit of early morning noise with opening and shutting doors between 6-7.30am, is the only complaint I have.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for your review and your feedback is very welcome, apologies for any early morning noise that may have disturb you, and hope this wont put you off returning again in the future. I was pleased that you were happy with your room and have enjoyed a comfortable time with us and found the location of the hotel has worked well with getting around the city.

The team shall appreciate your kind words as we work hard to engage with our guests to ensure the best possible experience for all.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend break here and was allocated a quiet room as requested. We enjoyed our breakfast both days and the air con was welcome as it was very warm at the time. We do not mind walking, so getting into the town centre was a great way to work off the breakfast and its not that far if you ask the concierge the best route. All amenities were great and the only down side was the parking charge of £25 per night. We chose to ask where the nearest NCP was and its not too far away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Allburn,

Thank you ever some much for your great review and also your recommendation, I was very pleased to read that you have had such a comfortable stay with us and the location of the hotel has worked well for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holyrood Hotel, hopefully in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Broomfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews