We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault the Holyrood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #55 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hard to fault the Holyrood”
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We booked our two night stay through last minute. com as a 'secret' hotel so were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel we were allocated. We paid around £220 for two nights half board for the two of us which was an absolute bargain.
Agree with all comments beforehand, found hotel staff very friendly, especially Rita in the restaurant.
Thoroughly enjoyed the pool, steam room and sauna on the lower ground floor - all very clean and very quiet on the two occasions we used it.
The only negatives I would say is the location of the hotel, a little out of the main area - 20 minute walk to the centre and all uphill. Also, there are no nice views from the hotel rooms, we overlooked an office block, although I guess you are in a city centre so perhaps expecting too much.
The old town is in our opinion the best part of Edinburgh and the right area to stay so would probably use the hotel again if we could get another bargain deal.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famousfourtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    1,045
    375
    149
    71
See reviews for
359
1,547
108
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was a typical hotel room as in any chain hotel. The location was good - just off the Royal Mile - and it was quiet. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was served over a 3 hour period each morning.

The hotel strives to be fancier than it is - but it was fine nonetheless. You can't beat the price for something that's not a Travelodge or Jury's Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purkskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Our group of 22 stayed in the Edinburgh Macdonald Holyrood for three nights and had an outstanding experience. Hot breakfasts, excellent service, helpful staff, and great rates. Plus we were within steps of the Holyrood Palace and King Arthur's Seat. This was the best property we stayed at on our travels through the UK.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2009

the hotel was brilliant, we had a great time.
it was about 10-15 walk to the center of things. It had bus stop out side the door and taxi cost about £4 from pubs and clubs at night.
very quiet area so no noise at night.
small piano bar in reception area.
Staff were really helpful and advised us on places to eat, organised bus trips and taxi's.
breakfast was fantastic, full Scottish hot breakfast, with choice of cerals, pastries, juices etc. Plenty to get you started for the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington,county durham, england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

we like another reviewer had booked with lastminute's secret hotels and when we read the reviews for the hotel we were really pleased but when we arrived at the hotel it was even better than we had expected, the staff from checking in at front desk to house keeping who had to chase after us when we left because we had left a bag were brilliant the only problem we had was that we had only booked one night !!
We will definately return and we can recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DARLOMAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Absolutely lovely hotel, in a lovely quiet position next to the Scottish Parliament and Our Dynamic Earth. It's in a quiet street, off Market Street. It's hilly and about five minutes walk to either Waverley Station or the shops. We had fantastic service whilst we were there and would definitely recommend this hotel for an extremely quiet break in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstTimeHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We booked this hotel with lastminute.com on their Top Secret Hotels.We had half board which was more than enough food fo even big eaters.One draw back was that we stayed for 4 nights & the Menu was the same every night although you had a choice of 4 meals on each course.We asked the Head waiter if we could have a different meal & he obliged via the chef.The staff were very friendly & the rooms were clean.A 4* hotel which lives up to its rating.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsofFeltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#70 of 149 in Edinburgh
989 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,428 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 149 in Edinburgh
648 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing