We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel with a personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband took me to the Bruntsfield for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was an excellent choice of hotel despite the fact that we arrived during the mother and father of all thunderstorms when the staff had just discovered the roof leaked! Service at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that the majority of the staff seemed to be local. Our room was very spacious and had 2 easy chairs which was a plus as we hate double rooms which only have one chair. Breakfast was very good. I especially liked the fresh fruit and Danish pastries though I did think that better quality fruit juice could be provided. Also, as a temptation, a tray of lovely homemade shortbread biscuits was always on the reception desk. We didn't have dinner at the hotel so I cannot comment on the bistro. Another bonus was the free car park. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may prefer a room at the back as the hotel does face a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Firstly, thank you for your buisness and thank you for your review which really helps us monitor our standards of comfort and customer care. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct that you arrived in the middle of the mother and father of all thunderstorms which caused us some concerns when we thought our roof was leaking...thankfully it was not, but our down drains did overflow. We've taken note of your comment about our fruit juice....thank you. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Staryed here sometime back, had a poor experience then phoned the manager. He asked us to revisit and we were glad we did. Good sized room, and food in restaurant at night was superb. Probably the best meal I have had in this country, it was that good.
Best thing too, all on the manager, very nice.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank geordieshoreeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

On our first trip to Edinburgh, we chose the Bruntsfield Hotel. A great choice! The staff was wonderful, the rooms large and clean, and the location was great. Very comfortable bed with lots of fluffy pillows! We chose the Bed & Breakfast option and were served a good
hot breakfast each morning. We also had dinner there one evening and were not disappointed! Good neighborhood, beautiful park across the street for an evening walk, and bus stops right outside the hotel. About a mile from the train station. We would definitely choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: First floor suite faced street w/ no road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelsALot1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We really do value all guest comments as it allows us to monitor our standards. We appreciate your business and look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spent our first few days in Edinburgh at the Best Western Bruntsfield and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was spacious (compared to London, it was immense!) with high ceilings, huge windows (ours looked out on the park), a modern bathroom and a fabulously comfortable bed. The breakfast (included in our package) was great with lots of hot and cold choices. The restaurant had a lovely outdoor patio also; sadly, we were unlucky with the weather, but it looked beautiful. I saw some people say they took the bus into town, which is a fast and easy option. But we enjoyed the 15-20 walk into town; lots of stores, restaurants and services along the way. The fact that it was a little west of the city centre and across from a big park were real bonuses for us. We loved the quiet neighbourhood and enjoyed evening walks in the park. The only negative point was the wi-fi connection. It was so slow it made it almost impossible to do any kind of research (forget about loading a map!). But overall, it was great value and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Call for the pre-paid rate with breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We value all guest comments as it really does help us monitor our standards. I note that you had an issue with the WiFi connection being slow. Even though we have substantial bandwidth and excellent equipment we do sometimes have an issue when multiple, consecutive downloads are in progress. However, thank you for the feedback as we will definitely investigate the issue just to ensure that we have no technical problems. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I must admit I wasn't expecting the Bruntsfield Hotel to be particularly good, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Best Western are usually very "hit or miss" with their standard and this one was a hit. Our Executive King room was large, well appointed with all that we required for 1 night. Breakfast was the usual fare with freshly cooked hot meals.

There is a bus stop a short distance from the hotel which provides easy acess to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiDiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that we were able to pleasantly surprise you and that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband was in Edinburgh for a business trip and we decided to latch on a nice weekend break and therefore booked a room in the same hotel he was already staying in. The room had a nice alcove, which made it rather romantic, looking out to a small park that linked into the Bruntsfield Links, a nice original old park and we could just walk out to the incredible Holyrood Park (hiking in the middle of Edinburgh just unbelievable). At breakfast you can actually order dishes from the menu (included, yummy). We walked to the Edinburgh castle from the hotel. And a shopping tip: you'll pass this incredible running store Footworks with a separate woman's department (!!) where I went crazy on gear and the staff is very helpful. Nice flatscreen TV for some leisurely hanging in the room. The only downsides: as it's an old mansion of some sorts, there are lot of steps and small stairs to get to your room, even though they do have an elevator. And secondly, the couple nextdoor liked to turn on the TV to a deafening volume in the morning which cut our mornings short. Nice touch: they can keep your luggage for you, even have a special luggage scale and the guest bathroom has 2 vanity tables. Classy : ))

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia21Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for your very positive review following your recent stay at our hotel. We're delighted that you were comfortable and that you found the hotel a good choice for a leisure break following your husband's stay on business. Our team always strive hard to give good service and they really appreciate it when guests recognise this. Thank you for your business and thank you again for your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My family group of three (two rooms) stayed at the Bruntsfield for three nights. The hotel is somewhat old style in a good way -- rooms have a clean, lived-in feel and the beds are excellent. My double room was good sized and had a wonderful view of the hotel courtyard and a distant view of Edinburgh Castle through the trees. As others have written, the levels of floors & hallways in the hotel sort of go up & down. The place is very quiet and people at the desk are cheerful & helpful (especially with regard to transportation).
We did not eat either lunch or dinner in the restaurant but the breakfasts were quite satisfying -- you could use the plentiful buffet (lots of fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses etc) and also order hot entrees from the kitchen. Breakfast was included in our room rate making this one of the best deals on our UK trip (breakfast at our London hotel was twenty pounds).
The only drawback about The Bruntsfield is its location. It is in a less touristy area (with only a few dining options) and about a mile plus from the main downtown sites. However, buses run frequently and the walk in good weather is quite doable.
We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard Castle view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeawoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming and even more delighted that you found us great value for money. We appreciate guest comments as they help us monitor our standards. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,310 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,026 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing