We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Not too far from 'The Town' opposite a park. My room was spacious and well furnished and very comfortable bed, first time the alarm had to wake me in ages. Good food in the restaurant and breakfast was good too.

Overall very nice if maybe a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxkippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we've shared your comments with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,298 - 1,304 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We arrived quite late on a Friday evening from Edinburgh airport (about 25 mins away), but the check in was easy and we managed to get parking at the hotel which was free - just needed a notice for the windscreen from reception.
We were on the 2nd floor and after a trip in the world's slowest lift, we explored our delightful room - plenly of space and generally very comfortable. We were in room 230 and the only gripe I would have is that we were right outside the corridor firedoors and could hear people coming and going as the doors banged. There was a bit of road noise in the morning, but we faced one of the quieter streets and generally not a problem.
We got down to the restaurant at 9:30pm to be told the kitchen was closed - we queried this as reception had indicasted they were open to 10pm...and they agreed that it was a Friday and so could serve us! The menu and food was all good as was the service. Breakfasts were good with a wide variety of cooked and continental offerings.
We walked down the hill to Princess Street which was pleasant but took about 30mins and we also walked back to the hotel from the Royal Mile on evening after dinner, which was also an easy walk, much of it through parks.
So all in all, a good stay in a good location without being in the heart of the city

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for your business and your review following your visit to Edinburgh. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyable. My apologies for the slight error we made over the closing time of our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband took me to the Bruntsfield for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was an excellent choice of hotel despite the fact that we arrived during the mother and father of all thunderstorms when the staff had just discovered the roof leaked! Service at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that the majority of the staff seemed to be local. Our room was very spacious and had 2 easy chairs which was a plus as we hate double rooms which only have one chair. Breakfast was very good. I especially liked the fresh fruit and Danish pastries though I did think that better quality fruit juice could be provided. Also, as a temptation, a tray of lovely homemade shortbread biscuits was always on the reception desk. We didn't have dinner at the hotel so I cannot comment on the bistro. Another bonus was the free car park. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may prefer a room at the back as the hotel does face a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Firstly, thank you for your buisness and thank you for your review which really helps us monitor our standards of comfort and customer care. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct that you arrived in the middle of the mother and father of all thunderstorms which caused us some concerns when we thought our roof was leaking...thankfully it was not, but our down drains did overflow. We've taken note of your comment about our fruit juice....thank you. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Staryed here sometime back, had a poor experience then phoned the manager. He asked us to revisit and we were glad we did. Good sized room, and food in restaurant at night was superb. Probably the best meal I have had in this country, it was that good.
Best thing too, all on the manager, very nice.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank geordieshoreeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

On our first trip to Edinburgh, we chose the Bruntsfield Hotel. A great choice! The staff was wonderful, the rooms large and clean, and the location was great. Very comfortable bed with lots of fluffy pillows! We chose the Bed & Breakfast option and were served a good
hot breakfast each morning. We also had dinner there one evening and were not disappointed! Good neighborhood, beautiful park across the street for an evening walk, and bus stops right outside the hotel. About a mile from the train station. We would definitely choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: First floor suite faced street w/ no road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelsALot1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We really do value all guest comments as it allows us to monitor our standards. We appreciate your business and look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spent our first few days in Edinburgh at the Best Western Bruntsfield and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was spacious (compared to London, it was immense!) with high ceilings, huge windows (ours looked out on the park), a modern bathroom and a fabulously comfortable bed. The breakfast (included in our package) was great with lots of hot and cold choices. The restaurant had a lovely outdoor patio also; sadly, we were unlucky with the weather, but it looked beautiful. I saw some people say they took the bus into town, which is a fast and easy option. But we enjoyed the 15-20 walk into town; lots of stores, restaurants and services along the way. The fact that it was a little west of the city centre and across from a big park were real bonuses for us. We loved the quiet neighbourhood and enjoyed evening walks in the park. The only negative point was the wi-fi connection. It was so slow it made it almost impossible to do any kind of research (forget about loading a map!). But overall, it was great value and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Call for the pre-paid rate with breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We value all guest comments as it really does help us monitor our standards. I note that you had an issue with the WiFi connection being slow. Even though we have substantial bandwidth and excellent equipment we do sometimes have an issue when multiple, consecutive downloads are in progress. However, thank you for the feedback as we will definitely investigate the issue just to ensure that we have no technical problems. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I must admit I wasn't expecting the Bruntsfield Hotel to be particularly good, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Best Western are usually very "hit or miss" with their standard and this one was a hit. Our Executive King room was large, well appointed with all that we required for 1 night. Breakfast was the usual fare with freshly cooked hot meals.

There is a bus stop a short distance from the hotel which provides easy acess to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiDiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that we were able to pleasantly surprise you and that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing