We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, delicious breakfasts, lovely room, helpful staff and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #22 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value, delicious breakfasts, lovely room, helpful staff and great location.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed at the Bruntsfield Hotel for three nights in April 2013 with my young son, this was my first visit to Edinburgh and I was very pleased with my choice of hotel. It is perfectly located just a 20 min walk into the city with bus stops just outside that take you directly into the city centre. Close enough to access all the main attractions whilst being located in a quieter area overlooking a park. The buses only accept the correct fare and don't give change but the hotel reception were happy to change notes for us. The hotel and restaurant staff were all very helpful and the breakfasts were delicious - I particularly recommend the scrambled eggs with salmon! We stayed in a twin bedded room on the ground floor, it was a good size with a fab shower (and bath - perfect for soaking tired feet after lots of walking the Royal Mile!!) in the en-suite and the beds were super comfy! There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel - essential if travelling with an 11 year old boy who gets withdrawal symptoms if he's disconnected for too long!! The hotel has a small car park which is free to residents throughout their stay. I can't find anything negative at all to say about this hotel - at £75/night for two people including breakfast I thought it was excellent value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineWLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    499
    87
    19
    6
See reviews for
247
701
77
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Went to Edinburgh for a couple of days over Easter Weekend. Now living over 300 miles away this meant driving and trying to park a Land Rover that in size is comparable to the hotel itself. In addition to the never-ending tramworks in the city centre (they're almost historic now!) this ruled out a lot of hotels as they didn't have parking.

Chose the Best Western primarily as it has free parking (although be warned, there are limited spaces, and maneuvering a large vehicle will test your hand-eye coordination somewhat), yet was still close enough to walk into town. 15 minute walk which was pleasant as even though it was snosticle-formingly cold, it was dry and occasionally sunny.

The hotel is also located in Bruntsfield which itself is full of different restaurants and cafes, so you don't have to go far for a quick bite to eat. Didn't try the breakfast at the hotel for this very reason (not even sure whether it was included?).

The hotel itself is simple but excellent - extremely friendly and helpful staff to kick the stay off with a warm welcome, the room and bathroom were both generous in size, and the whole place was genuinely spotless. Comfortable beds and linens, and good heating - all made for a great night's sleep!

One word of warning - not even a Cambridge degree in Geography stopped me from getting a bit lost when taking the stairs up to the 2nd floor. Taking the lift is slower, but easier. Or perhaps just bring a ball of string? Fresh fruit and shortbread kindly provided near reception, along with a selection of books - both nice touches, and can keep you occupied during your quest to find your room.

If we go back to Edinburgh again, wouldn't hesitate for a second to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a rear-facing room, and that was lovely, overlooking a yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is the first time, we stayed in a Best Western hotel and will stay again. We had a family room on the second floor which was spacious and warm. The cooked breakfast is good. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel has a nice warm feel about it. We were fortunate to have great weather as we heard the weather was very cold and snowing just a few days prior to our arrival so the 20 minutes walk into the city centre was no bother. The route to the town through the park opposite the hotel is very pleasant which takes you by the university so some nice sightseeing on the way and also a children's play ground. Car park on site is very handy on a first come first serve basis. All in all a very relaxing and warm welcome stay with good location if the weather is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We generally choose Best Western hotels anyway, but hadn't stayed in this one before. It is a great hotel - comfortable, clean, good staff. We had room only because good breakfasts are easy to find close by. Just across from Bruntsfield links and a short walk through them and the Meadows into the city make this a great location for any stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have not stayed at the Bruntsfield as many times as other reviewers but our first stay two years ago and our stay just gone this March was just as good as our first. I am amazed that this hotel does not come higher up the hotels list on T/A for Edinburgh.
I dont want to repeat what most others have said about the good quality service, staff and food etc. It is a credit to the hard work that the staff put in and how they interact with the guests. For others researching Edinburgh for hotels. For the price and location you will have to go a long way to beat the Bruntsfield.
The only very small thing negative i have to say is our room (218) was a bit chilly at times even with heating. A very big room.
But very minor. A great stay. Thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigade40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We came across this hotel while looking at spending some Tesco vouchers on a mini-break in Edinburgh, and it really was a good find even if we did not use the tesco vouchers in the end. We couldn't have asked for anything else, it is just on the edge of the city centre and the main attractions are a nice walk away. We really had a great stay here and the area of the hotel is superb with little shops and restaurants/bars. We found a The three birds restaurant a couple of streets away for a fantastic dinner one evening. Our room appeared to have been refurbished recently and if all the other rooms are of a similar quality then you will have a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

In my busy life I need an oasis at the end of a worked day. Whilst in Edinburgh that oasis is The Bruntsfield. They consistently demonstrate high standards of service and I am made to feel as though this is my temporary home. It's nicely located and provides excellent food and drink in their bistro and restaurant. I love the bedroom they regularly allocate to me; excellent size, amenities and view.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,261 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing