We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #21 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place and staff”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Had a free night here courtesy of Best Western group but would have paid. Nice building and lovely area. Me and partner had a nice walk into town that night and were closer than we thought. The staff were really friendly and room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damejudistokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    486
    84
    18
    6
See reviews for
236
689
73
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We've stayed here before & it's a great location by the Meadows - lots of lovely small, interesting shops to visit close by, like Oh Ruby Shoes, The Cocoa tree (and if you're a cycling fan; Edinburgh Bicycle company). Car park is very small, you need to arrive early to get a space. Rooms are large, but quite nondescript & a bit dated. But clean & absolutely fine for an overnight. In common with most Edinburgh hotels, it's probably overpriced - but that just seems to be the way of things in Edinburgh & they're always full! We looked over a side street & it was quiet, as was the hotel, even though it was very busy.
Breakfast selection was good & the service was very good, even though it was very busy. Reception staff were friendly & welcoming

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (overlooking the side street will be quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieMacW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear LizzieMacW

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. It is important to me to receive guest feedback as it enables an honest appraisal of the level of customer satisfaction we provide. We do our very best to be special for all our guests and the great majority of the time we do this. I was pleased to read your postive comments about our housekeeping standards and our level of service. Rest assured that we'll be working hard to add special touches so that all our guests notice the difference of a stay with us. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to give me valuable feedback..

Your sincerely

Russell Imrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is really nice. A pleasant-looking old building, situated just by the Meadows - so a great view, and also a nice place for a wander. There is a good array of shops and restaurants very close by, and the hotel's well-located for getting into town. The bedrooms (or at least the one I stayed in) are exceptionally nice and well-furnished - a very good size, extremely comfortable and large bed, the usual TV and tea/coffee making facilities, good desk/working space, and a big bathroom with posh toiletries. My only complaint would be that they can get very hot (I was there in May, and the room was like a sauna), and that the noise from the street can be a bit much if you keep the windows open. The hotel has a bar and restaurant (although no need to use it much - as above, lots of good restaurants within very close walking distance) - breakfast was excellent and with really friendly service, dinner wasn't so fantastic and the wait staff were pretty lackadaisical about the whole thing. My other grumble is the appalling Wi-Fi service - it's free, but seems to go down on an almost daily basis, and takes a while to be fixed. And there's a bizarre setup of tea and coffee on a table in the reception area which also seems to ask guests for a 50p charge to be put in a glass jar - very strange indeed?!? But ... all in all - the pros certainly outweigh the cons. It's a lovely hotel, and definitely above-average rooms.

Room Tip: Those overlooking the Meadows have a great view, but can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Bruntsfield. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff very friendly & helpful. We had breakfast & dinner in the hotel restaurant and both were very good. The hotel is in a great neighborhood with many lovely restaurants and shops within an easy walking distance. The walk to the old city sight was a bit long, but we enjoyed the sights along our stroll & took a taxi back. Not sure I would have wanted to stay any closer to old city as there were swarms of tourists. One thing to note is that you must climb a set of stairs (6 of them?) to enter the hotel and we had another 1/2 flight up to our room. This was of significance to me has I have difficulty with stairs. I am sure that there is a handicap entrance somewhere, but it wasn't evident & I never did ask. If you have any disability you may want to ask about this before booking your room.

Room Tip: we had a lovely view of the castle from our twin room #143
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have no real complaints re this hotel. The bed was the most comfy I've slept in for years. The room was spotless although a little tight on the tea and coffee/milk tray. The disabled bathroom was perfect. The staff were kind, considerate, welcoming and everything you would expect. My only gripe is, Edinburgh or not, £85.50 for room without breakfast is far too much and however good the bed, the bathroom, the staff, not justifiable in my book. At a cheaper rate I would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Wigga,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your bedroom comfortable and that the staff were helpful. However we always want guests to leave us totally satisfied and it's dissappointing that you considered the £85 room rate as not representing value for money. We set our room rates very carefully and we are comfortable that this rate was competitive with other similar standard hotels in Edinburgh at the time of your stay.

Your sincerely

Russell Imrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was fine, though the bed was really comfortable. There was a connecting door to the next room, which was locked, but meant there was no sound proofing. Breakfast was of a good standard and staff were friendly. Reception staff were very helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ranger14
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Didcot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Edinburgh is so full of interest that the accommodation is less significant. But it does help to have a pleasant place to stay, and the Bruntsfield fills this admirably. Although near the centre, the hotel looks out across wide and leafy links. Most people will want to be out and about exploring the city, but for stay-at-homes and the weather-bound,there is an excellent comfortable lounge, with the same outlook and quite separate from the bar. Breakfasts are excellent, with a wide choice. For other meals, most again will wish to try the many exciting eating-places located all over the city, with some in the vicinity. We did have one meal on arrival, perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: There are some ground floor rooms without steps, and there is a lift for the others. There are high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burblage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing