We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel is a twenty minute walk from the centre of Edinburgh, but well served by buses and taxis. My room was huge and all hotel staff were extremely helpful. The hotel has the advantage of not being too huge, and during my stay it was very quiet.

Reception and restaurant staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

I would recommend this hotel for a short trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    473
    83
    18
    6
See reviews for
229
671
71
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is generally very good. Staff friendly, helpful. Rooms very clean. We had nice view of parkland. Buses 11 & 16 are very frequent and will get you too and from places like Usher hall and various spots along Princes Street and on down to the Playhouse Theatre. Other buses came past hotel, but cannot say where they all went.
Breakfasts good. Buffet and or cooked. We found one morning we had to chase up someone to organise our cooked breakfast part. But that can be put down to human error, lack of experience.
One thing we did have to keep requesting, at reception, was wee milk pots for our room.
But that is not nearly enough to make anyone one want to avoid a hotel.
A definite thumbs up to the Bruntsfield.
Oh and the restaurant prices were quite good. We ate dinner there one evening. The drinks were not very overpriced, like some hotels.
Talking of food. If you wish , there is a Thai, Italian and Indian restaurant very close by. Plus other cafes and coffee houses.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have stayed here before, but this time I had booked a single room, but in fact got a super-king room with lovely facilities. Excellent super-king bed and very clean toilet facilities. Breakfast service was friendly and there was a great selection of food and drink.

Location was perfect for me as I was visiting an elderly relative only 2 bus stops away.

Friendly and smart reception staff too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmacShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
461 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was a nice basic hotel room - not as big as in the U.S. but definitely adequate. The bath was small but, again, was adequate. There was a flat screen tv in the room, a small desk (1/2 the size of those in the U.S.). There was no a/c but it wasn’t needed. It was a short walk (15 mins.) to the Royal Mile which was nice. It’s directly across from a park which is also nice. The shower pressure was decent with plenty of hot water (it had a very small tub w/shower). It was fairly quiet here. The hair dryer is located in the desk drawer (I had to ask about it). Breakfast was good (we were charged about 5 pounds per person per day). You can order from hot from the menu as well as the cereal, yogurt, and croissants/bread that are out. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the second leg of our trip. The location is great. Easy access to get around Edinburgh. Quiet location.
Our room was very nice with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept on. Love, love the deep soaking tub in the bathroom!

Having been our first stay in Edinburgh, the staff was very helpful in navigating for us how to get around town. Always willing to take the extra mile.
Great breakfast every morning, nice bar in the evening!
Being in the hospitality business, I know what it takes to run a hotel and the managers and staff to a great job!
If traveling to Edinburgh I recommend the Best Western Plus Bruntsfield

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsvirignia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here on our way back home. From our arrival we enjoyed good service. Our room was excellent, with a fantastic bathroom, the bed was very comfortable. Our evening meal was pleasant . Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. We were able to leave our car on the car park for a couple of hours while we walked up to the Castle and down the Royal Mile. All in all a very pleasant experience and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Room 111 if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We decided to go to Edinburgh last October 2012 to see the play 'Good Grief' with Penelope Keith and Jonathan Firth. It was also an excuse to visit Edinburgh again, my favourite city in the UK!

For a one night break we decided to stay local to the King's Theatre and booked at Best Western Bruntsfield, a double ensuite room for two for around £90. We got to the hotel after stopping off at Calton Hill to see the wondrous Arthur's Seat and Holyrood Park at 3.30pm. To our surprise we even got a parking space within the grounds of the hotel as there is not much space. Many guests park around the Meadows!

On arrival, I was surprised at the customer service, I am not usually a fan of hotels, but I was impressed with this one. The reception asked about our stay and were very helpful in giving us the code for the free wireless internet.

The double room was clean and well appointed, we had a nice view of the castle from the window. The bathroom had all toiletries needed.

For the evening meal before we headed to the theatre, we went to the hotel’s restaurant called Bisque. We thoroughly enjoyed the fare we ordered, the pudding was incredible! David had the Eton Mess and I had an Italian Coupe, which was vanilla ice cream with lots of frozen cherries and amaretti! Simply divine! The customer service again was outstanding and the waitress/waiters made us feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing