We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
919
531
95
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
531
95
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrebisque brasseriewestern hotelslovely hotelgood sizeprinces streetroom was largesuperior roomfour poster bedlovely roomcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentreception staffgood nights sleepbus stoproyal milefamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
950 - 955 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely hotel, although it is obviously an older building it manages to create a great blend of modern and traditional. The room we stayed in was spacious and spotless, the bed was the most comfortable I have experienced in a hotel and the bathroom was modern with a great shower and good selection of toiletries. In room wi-fi was excellent although the TV was a bit infuriating as there seemed to be quite a delay between pressing the remote buttons and the TV reacting. The staff were friendly and helpful with housekeeping being especially efficient. Nice bar with good selection of wine (although prices more hotel than bar). Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely use this hotel on our next visit to Edinburgh. PS I feel I should also give a mention to Jess at booking centre in York who could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Compared to other hotel booking centres that I contacted (eg Hilton and Mercure) Best Western are in a completely different league.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear GR
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and found your room comfortable and clean. Not sure why there was a delay from remote to television but we will work at a solution. Look forward to welcoming you back alter in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here in February the hotel is friendly comfortable and without that hermetically sealed air-con atmosphere - the bedroom windows even open to allow for fresh Scottish air! I have walking difficulties which is why I came up for Physio and Chris in reservations gave me a really great room near the lift and with views over Edinburgh to the Firth of Forth. I had a four poster bed which was way to big for me but incredibly comfy, the TV's in the room were a good screen size, easy to use seemed to have a great choice of Freeview channels. Another clever trick is they always switch on with mute volume, so no nasty surprises to you or the next door room! Everyone is really helpful and the service was great in particular room service which was delivered extremely quickly with a smile.
I ate in the fabulous Bisque restaurant, the menu choices are varied and yummy, lots of Scottish dishes and a particularly good fish soup. I never felt out of place travelling alone. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want unpretentious comfort and easy access to the city which is about a 6-7 minute taxi or bus ride.
I'm definitely coming back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sweepea55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sweepea55
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and that Chris looked after you. I agree the fish soup is yummy. Hope the physio went well and look forward to welcoming you back at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Have just returned from a very enjoyable and relaxing 3 night stay at the Bruntsfield.
On Friday the check in was quick and efficient with smiling friendly staff - our twin room was large and spotlessly clean with a lovely view of the castle.( Room 143 )
We ate 2 nights in bisque and the service was first class and the food very good, the cooked breakfast in a morning were certainly amongst the best we had ever eaten.
Beds were very comfortable and we both slept very well after busy days taken in Edinburgh's many sights.
The hotel is well situated for a enjoyable short walk into the centre of Edinburgh and there is a good choice of pubs and restaurants near the hotel - we had a drink or two in Bennets Bar and ate 1 night in The Blackbird both very enjoyable.
Edinburgh itself has so many attractions we visited Camera Obsura ( Brilliant ), Scottish Whiskey Experience ( warming on a cold afternoon ), Mary Kings Close ( fascinating ) and Evita at the Playhouse ( grand old theatre ).
We thoroughly loved our stay in Edinburgh and when we return we will definitely stay at the Bruntsfield again - it was first class and absolute value for money.

Sean and Pat - Doncaster


.

Room Tip: Only saw our room but it was faultless.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Sean R
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your three day break and thank you for your comments about Bisque. Hopefully you never saw all the attractions in the city and you may be tempted to return later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Delighted to stay again at the BW Bruntsfield Hotel, warm welcome from a reception team who recognised us from previous stays.

We decided to eat in this time and what a treat, attentive staff who looked after us brilliantly, great food from a really busy restaurant.

We look forward to returning to visit a brilliant destination.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RhysRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Rhys R
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you found the staff attentive and the food great. I look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews