We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,581)
Filter reviews
1,581 results
Traveller rating
921
534
95
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
534
95
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrebisque brasseriewestern hotelslovely hotelgood sizeprinces streetroom was largesuperior roomfour poster bedlovely roomcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentreception staffgood nights sleepbus stoproyal milefamily room
Filter
Updating list...
855 - 860 of 1,581 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a short break, the staff were very pleasant, helpful and chatty, the service was good, hotel was clean as was room but could have been improved, no iron or board as was advertised on their website which was supposed to be in the room, bathroom was cold in mornings water was luke warm too hot in room at night not due to heating being on due to being very stuffy with window open restrictions for safety reasons no air getting into the room, a fan was installed in the room which was good but was far to noisey to leave on if you wanted to sleep.
The food was okay rather expensive for items listed and could have been more varied,

Maybe I am getting to fussy but I can only speak from my own experience, as what suits one does not suit another.

Dont get me wrong on the whole it was a pleasant stay and the staff could not be faulted at all but the hotel could improve in other areas then you would stay here everytime you vistited the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YorkshireElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear yorkshireElizabeth.Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and have noted the cold bathroom and warm water problems you had. The radiators in all our bathrooms are electric so it looks like your one had been turned off by mistake at the wall by bathroom door. We have three hot water boliers in the hotel and as a matter of urgency I will instruct the maintianence engineer to carry out a water temperature check in various parts of the hotel. I thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Once again thank you for submiiting a review.
Yours Sincerely
Garry Field
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stopped at Brunstfield when visited Edinburgh with a friend as I am a fan of Best Western hotels. Friendly staff greeted us on check in and were just as polite when we checked out. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. We did enjoy a meal in the restaurant which was delicious and deserved the expenses. Room was so cosy that we stopped in one night and enjoyed a "quiet night in" with no disturbances or loud noises. Is out of the main centre slightly but with a bus it is no hassle to get to. When waiting to catch a plane, we checked out of our room on time but enjoyed relaxing with our books and some food in the lounge area. Staff made us feel very welcome and looked after our bags whilst we went for a wonder so we had no stress off checking out. Would defiantly use this hotel again if I returned to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 7xfix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear 7xfix7 Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and found reception staff friendly and the breakfast and dinner delicous. The team look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Yours Sincerely
Garry Field
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just got home from a weekend staying at Bruntsfield hotel
our weekend didn't get off to a good start as our car broke down half a mile from hotel
the staff went out of there way to help us and we appreciate it so much thank you.
This was our third stay at the hotel and as always it was excellent we our already planning the
next trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone room was lovely breakfast excellent keep doing what you are doing best hotel i have stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear kelly s Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your return visit and that you found the reception staff helpful after your car broke down. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel.
Yours Sincerely
Garry Field
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent a lovely night at this wonderful hotel in Edinburgh on June 23, 2014. We were in Room 213 and it was perfect. The beds were very comfortable (loved the plaid throws on the bed) and the size of the room was exceptional, especially since there were three of us occupying it. It was very enjoyable to watch the very late sunset from the windows (10:30 pm + that evening). The bathroom was a dream and so spotless and bright. A wonderful shower and separate bathtub. We totally appreciated that all the windows opened, as we like to be able to have fresh air at night to sleep. And I can't tell you how peaceful it was to overlook the back gardens of the neighbourhood.

The staff is exceptional and the food is terrific. Full Scottish Breakfast was included in our room rate. The setting for breakfast is lovely, overlooking the back garden. We also ended up having lunch in the Bar restaurant the afternoon we left. Exceptional food.

The hotel is not in downtown Edinburgh but all it took was a quick taxi ride (approx. 6-7 Pounds) to get to and from. Since we were pressed for time we decided to go this route vs. walking or taking the bus, alternate transport choices many others have done and enjoyed. It was also fun to get the commentary from the taxi drivers about what we were seeing as we drove through the streets.

I wish we had been able to spend a few more nights in Edinburgh but we will most certainly be back and we will once again reserve with the Bruntsfield Hotel. We will also be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranBound4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear SanFran Bound4 Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and found the room and food exceptional. Maybe the next time you can stay for a few more days and do some more sightseeing.
Yours Sincerely
Garry Field
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews