We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveller rating
968
558
101
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
968
558
101
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre bisque brasserie lovely hotel good size superior room room was large four poster bed lovely room princes street cooked breakfast breakfast was excellent bus stop good nights sleep royal mile excellent stay family room haggis
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We had pre-ordered our choices from a specific menu and the staff could serve our meals without delay. The choices were - (1) tomato & basil soup, home-made chicken liver pate, goat's cheese caramelised red union and beetroot tart; (2) breast of chicken stuffed with haggis, goujons of sole, tartare sauce with green salad, grilled halloumi with sweet potato, aubergine, courgette, mushrooms confit of tomato, cous cous and pesto; (3) sticky toffee pudding, vanilla ice cream, creme brulee, shortbread. Clean plates all round, except mine. I had the veggie option, and as you can see, the main course had too many items on the plate, and I could not clean my plate. Although it was delicious, I struggled to finish. Service was quick and efficient. We were put in the Cardoon Suite and had the room all to ourselves.

Room tip: As we only had dinner, I could not comment on choices of rooms
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklambson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Maureen B

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel.

We took great delight in hosting your group for lunch. The team were over the moon thanks to your kind comments.

The Cardoon Suite is a perfect location for functions within the hotel.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Lambson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Just a one night stay. Receptionist answered a phone call just as I entered reception and I had to wait a few minutes whislt she dealt with trivia. Initially then I felt like I was in the way. British hotel service is often lacklustre so no real surprise. Staff training or process issues (no idea which). Once off the phone she was very helpful and I was efficiently checked in. The room was a small double, clean and reasonably well appointed with a modern tv, safe and bathroom. The corridors give a guest house sort of feel to the place and if full maybe it could be noisy. The bed was comfortable and there was tea/coffee making facilities . Dinner in the bistro (very good service) and breakfast were good. There is limited on site parking. Well located close to Morningside and Edinburgh City. Better than my last stay so would stay again.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklambson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Michael P

Thank you for reviewing BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel.

Whilst we are very happy that you found the room appointment to your liking, we were disappointed to hear about your feeling about the service.

Whilst I can understand your frustrations with a general comment about the service industry in the UK, I can assure you that the service standard to which this team inspires to is exceptional. We will however be looking into more training with regards to answering calls in front of guests, as this can alleviate guest frustrations.

Thank you for the mention of your dinner and breakfast, and the service experienced within these dining times.

We hope to welcome you back soon, so that you can experience the high standard of service that we set for ourselves.

Kind regards,

Mark Lambson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

Very welcoming and friendly hotel. Every member of staff I came into contact with was extremely pleasant and helpful. Good location- out of town but within walking distance. Our room was lovely, quiet as I had requested at booking, and apparently spotless. The only surprise there was when I pulled the chair out to sit at the dressing table there were lots of crumbs etc presumably from previous room occupant that housekeeping had missed. Didn't eat in restaurant but it looked nice. Also the room was very hot even with window open We tried to adjust radiator without success. Fortunately two fans were provided in room so that helped.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklambson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Dear Anne C

Thank you for your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel.

I would like to start off by apologizing for the crumbs found in the bedroom. This is quite out of the ordinary for us, as our housekeeping team set the highest levels of standards for themselves. The fact that this was missed on inspection is disappointing. Rest assured that more stringent checks will be put in place.

We are happy however that you found the rest of your stay enjoyable. Our team will be very pleased with your comments about their friendly demeanor.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Lambson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Comfortable Hotel with a good restaurant.Location although too far to walk into town sits on a busy bus route with multiple and frequent choice into town,at £4 a day any number of journeys
No 23 even took us all the way to the Botanic Gardens
We got this advice from a very helpful reception

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklambson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear michael D

Thank you for your recent review.

We are happy to hear that you found commuting by the conveniently located bus stop easy, and that you enjoyed your time at the Botanical Gardens.

We find our location ideally situated for those whom wish to be close to the centre of town, yet want an escape from the hustle and bustle that goes with a city centre hotel.

Bisque Brasserie is a great restaurant that we are lucky enough to have on site, meaning that our guests need not worry venturing into Edinburgh to dine, but can dine in the comfort of our very own restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Mark Lambson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Fantastic hotel. Highly recommend! Good distance from crazy crowds in city center. Great block. Beautiful park across the street. Amazing breakfast. Incredibly accommodating, international, young, hard-working staff! Only possible negative is no air conditioning in summer months. But we had fans going and it was really comfortable.

Room tip: Family room is awesome!
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklambson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Joy D

Thank you for your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel.

What a wonderful review of our team, thank you. I will pass on your comments, which will be welcomed, especially the young part!

The location is certainly a high point for us, in that we are close enough to the city centre, but far enough away as well.

The Bruntsfield Links, opposite us is a great way to walk off our hearty breakfast, and a welcome distraction from the buildings of the city centre.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Lambson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews