We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My boyfriend and I came to Edinburgh early in October so I could take part in the Bupa 10k Edinburgh race. We arrived at the Apex European hotel where the male receptionist was very efficient and friendly, got us checked in no problem and very kindly booked us a taxi for later in the evening which was very helpful!

The room was small but very cosy, clean and all you need for a city break. At night it was very quiet, warm and the bed was very cosy! Had a great nights sleep!

All the staff are very friendly and accommodating, they were aware that I was taking part in the run on the morning of departure and allowed us to have a late check out which was great so I could have a much needed shower afterwards!!!

We received a £10 food and beverage voucher for booking online and the bar staff went out of their way to give us an excellent experience that you want to enjoy during little breaks away!

There is a train line just at the end of the road which takes you into the centre of the city in a matter of minutes for just a couple of pounds. We really enjoyed our stay and would defiantly stay again when we return to Edinburgh!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed there for a weeked. Unfortnately work was going on in the restaurant so a bit dusty at breakfast time. Lift was very small so never used it. Otherwise room was pleasant and faced rear car park so was quiet. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Small negatives first - as mentioned in previous reviews yes the reception area and rooms are small and the lift bouncy but apart from these small issues we had a very pleasant stay.

The room facities were very good - plenty of towels, tea and coffee as well as bottled water and a dvd player with the TV as well as freeview channels. There were 3 windows which allowed plenty of air in but when shut there was no street noise at all in the room - excellent for a light sleeper like myself.

The location was excellent - about a 20 minute walk to Princes Street or a 5 minute bus trip. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel where you can also get a bus to the Zoo in approx 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlouisew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband stayed here for two nights. It is a typical chain hotel with nothing special to make it stand out.
It is about a twenty minute walk to Prince's street but there is a bus stop outside the hotel so catching the bus is the best option. There are lots of road works happening in and around edinburgh at the moment this is to aid the installation of a tram system which should be finished in 2014 and will go past the hotel, but at the moment getting to the hotel is quite a feat.
The hotel does have carparking but not a lot so if you are lucky enough to get a space leave the car there for the length of the stay as I'm not sure where you would be able to park otherwise.
We had brekfast which was nice with lots of choice and cooked to order but book it when you get to the hotel as we paid £11.00 each through our on line booking agent and it was only £10.00 each when booked at the hotel.
Rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom was adequate. There was the usual hairdryer and iron and ironing board in the room along with a safe which was a nice touch

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Functional hotel. Tired decor, nondescript rooms in need of a lick of paint. Staff were friendly but could not manage to make up for the student residence block feel. Better hotels are available in the city so try and get one of them.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernow_bys_wyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Service.
The service we received was great, the staff members could not be more helpful or polite. Receptionists offered maps and advice where to go, bar staff were great, room service had a great selection and overall I was impressed.

Room.
Perfect and just what you would expect from a hotel at this price. At £85 a night at the time we travelled the only other hotels in the same price bracket were Premier Inns and more central Travelodge's. I'd much rather have the 10 minute walk to Haymarket and stay somewhere nicer. You even get a free rubber duck to take home which is a cute touch.

Location.
I'd looked at the map before travelling to Edinburgh and thought that Haymarket wouldn't be too far to walk and if I had to I could hop on the train. It's really not very far to walk and there's some nice pubs and restaurants near this hotel. The train station is 2 minutes walk from the hotel if you were to want to get the train into the city centre. Alternatively, there are a number of buses that go from outside the hotel around every 5 minutes. The location was great for the zoo, we walked there (1.8miles) and hopped on the bus on the way back.

Negatives.
The only thing I found I didn't like about this hotel was the lack of parking. I understand that the hotel offers limited parking but I didn't expect it to be under 10 spaces for a hotel of this size. We arrived on a Friday and the car park was full of staff cars. Luckily, within 10 minutes of arriving, we managed to get into one of the spaces after someone else checked out. If this hadn't have happened, I'm not sure what we would have done as the streets around the hotel only offer parking for a limited amount of hours from what I could tell.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SN4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed for the August Bank Holiday weekend. Very reasonable rate for the room, although it was a bit of a challenge driving to the hotel on account of the tram line building. Hotel offers limited but free parking, got a space clearly a bonus for a city centre location.

Staff were friendly and helpful, room was very nice, although it was very hot. Was great to have a breakfast cooked to order, rather than the usual buffet affair.

Will definitely stay again. If you are driving to the hotel, get directions from the hotel staff, sat navs are really no help at all in the roadworks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyHoudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and Edinburgh Airport, Apex Haymarket Hotel, is the perfect base for both business and leisure stays. All rooms are stylish and modern featuring luxurious Elemis toiletries, an LCD TV and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Traditional British and international dishes are on offer at Metro West End Restaurant, the ideal place to catch up with friends or watch the world go by outside. If you’ve got a late finish or early start, 24-hour room service is available to suit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing