We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Perfect place to stay and only a short walk away from the centre (20 minutes)
Rooms basic but fine as only need a room to sleep when visiting a city
Super size tv which was a bonus
excellent and friendly staff
very clean and would definitely stay again
highly recommended for value

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Steve,
Thanks for the review regarding your visit to the Apex European Hotel. It is good to hear that you will stay with us again and that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind comments regarding the staff to them as they always like to hear feedback from guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future,
Best Regards,
Adam Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    417
    138
    54
    19
See reviews for
90
424
61
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was staying in the Apex for 4 nights.
The room was clean and organized. Towels replaces everyday, and the general feeling
was very good. Staff was kind and glad to guide us on various issues. I also noticed
an iron and an iron board which is very nice, and a working fridge to keep cool ;)
Additionally, wifi connection is very good,

On the down side, the bathroom floor (were you wash yourself) had stains (possibly mold?)
which I was forced to stand on. So that's something I'd like to see improved. The same goes
for the closet, which is vary narrow. Additionally a few shelves had stains which made me
leave my cloths in my suitcase.

So all in all there's room for improvements. But I do appreciate the staff's work and hospitality.
I'd love to come back and see the above issues fixed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doron_fe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave detailed feedback regarding your stay at the Apex European Hotel. I am glad that you were able to make use of the complimentary WIFI and that the staff were friendly and accommodating. To address your issue about the bathroom floor – please be assured that since this review, all of the bathroom/shower floors have been relayed and the issue has been resolved.
I do hope this problem will not deter you from staying with us again as I look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Thank you again for your review.
Warm Regards,
Adam Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Spent a weekend at the Apex European and found it great in most respects. The Airlink bus to/from Edinburgh Airport, stops about 150 yards along the road. It is a little way out of the city, but perfect for Murrayfield. There is a local bus stop directly outside, which will take you into Princess St. etc. You can get a rover-type day ticket off the driver for £3.50. Rooms in the hotel were spacious, well appointed and clean, and all the little extras, like teas, coffees and shortbread bikkies, were present, correct and replenished by the Room Fairy! Fresh laundry and room serviced each day, even though we were only there for 2 nights. The complimentary £10 voucher given (available to spend on food/drinks but not breakfast) when reservations are made direct with the hotel, came in handy, as the bar prices are over the top. No draught/keg beers 'on tap'. We had one evening meal there, with most of the lads going for the 'Taste of Scotland' 3-course set menu at £19.95, which was good value for money. A couple of us had the 'Chargrilled Sirloin of Scottish Beef', off the A La carte menu, at a similar price, and that was NOT good value for money! Two of the guys had breakfast (£9.95?) which they reported was 'good'.
The staff were friendly and helpful (Gold Star for Owen!).
All in all, it added to a good weekend and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanmanWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Apex European Hotel following your recent stay and providing valuable feedback for others visiting the city.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay finding the staff friendly and helpful, in particular Owen from our Guest Services team.
I do hope you will stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the only negative the shower is very weak, wasn't worth complaining about it did it's job. Room was small but perfectly formed. Staff couldn't have been more helpful Fiona was very friendly and helpful gave us lots of travel advice local transport ect, where to go what to see. Restaurant within the hotel excellent value for money and again staff couldn't have been better. Thank you brilliant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crissyf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind review of the Apex European Hotel.
It’s always delightful to see such positive feedback about our staff and in particular Fiona.
I do hope we will see you again the next time you visit Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Gorgeous chicken - cooked to perfection at lunch
and the set menu lunch very reasonably priced overall
small restaurant - perfect for informal meeting with friends
really enjoyed myself - compliments to the chef

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likeneontubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your lunch in our Metro West End Restaurant and hope you will choose to dine with us again.
Best Wishes
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel was cheap for a city centre hotel so we didn't know what to expect, but it was clean, nicely decorated and close to the centre. There is a neat bar and restaurant which was good enough to meet up with friends in before taking taxis. we found the staff very friendly.

The only downside may have been traffic and external noise but I get that whatever hotel I stay in and it was no worse!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egrayshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your very kind review of the Apex European Hotel following your recent overnight stay.
I was pleased to see you found the hotel good value for money and ticked all the boxes, I do hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This little hotel has a lot going for it. All the reception staff I've come across have been really friendly, and really helpful, and this time was no exception. The breakfast is stunning for a tenner - full cooked breakfast, croissants, cereals, fruit, juice. In the room there's kettle, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and an iron and ironing board. And it's a three minute walk from both the airport bus stop and from Haymarket station, so it's uber-convenient.

As generally happens I had a front-facing twin room, but the road noise was no problem at all. One of the mattresses felt a bit worn, but the other was really comfortable and with great pillows this was one of the best night's sleeps I've had for a long time, including those at home.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars this time was that I paid the full whack (it's really really good value if you book far enough ahead and get it for £60 or whatever) and because the bathroom was starting to feel a bit tired - particularly some of the grout needed replacing. But that doesn't detract; there are so many positives about this hotel. I definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeplonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Apex European Hotel and providing feedback following your most recent stay.
As a regular guest at the hotel, it’s really pleasing to see that our Guest Service Team are always friendly and helpful and that breakfast is always good value for money.
I’m sure you will be pleased to hear that the maintenance and repair of the rooms is an ongoing project and we are about to commence a soft refurbishment of the bathrooms to improve the quality and overall look.
In the meantim, I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing