We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect nights sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #70 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I slept better than I do at home, what more can I say... The room was clean and well laid out, the bed was comfortable with nice soft pillows and the atmosphere was fresh and cool. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Colm,
What a great title for a review - thank you very much for this.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and went to the extent of saying it is better than you sleep at home. That just means you will have to come and visit us more often!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent visit to the Apex European Hotel and I hope I can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a weekend break in Edinburgh and booked this hotel at the last minute.
Would highly recommend. Room was lovely with a very modern bathroom and very clean.
Staff were pleasant and very helpful.
Hotel is quite small so dining area and bar have limited space but service is excellent.
Car park has room for only a few cars but as we arrived early we were able to park up for the weekend.
Hotel is next to Haymarket Station and it is only a short walk to the City Centre and visitor attractions. Lots of great bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Gary,
Thank you for the recommendation of us to all on trip advisor and furthermore, thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback regarding your visit to the Apex European Hotel.
I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Edinburgh and I have passed on your comments regarding the staff to the team. They are always pleased to hear that guests have had an enjoyable stay that they were able to be a part of.
I hope I can welcome you back to the hotel if you are in Edinburgh again.
Warm Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I was very excited when we arrived as I thought id bagged us a bargain overnight accommodation for our trip but I was disappointed. The room we stayed in had a lumpy wonky matress and a badly flushing loo which took 2 minutes to flush. It was very noisy the night we stayed a week night but little road noise which I was glad about as it faced the road. A previous review warned us of room 301 but I forgot until we were unpacked and watching tv in room 301! Breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful with some variety. Staff were super friendly, knowledgeable and sincere. Theres a bit of tidying up needed around this hotel. Walls painting, wood varnishing, skirting boards sealing, mattresses renewing but for a 3 star hotel we got what we paid for. I had a feeling we were put in the bargain room as we got a good price for our stay would stay again but not in that room!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Lianne,
First of all, please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay did not live up to your expectations, and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to put this right. If you wish to do so, please contact me adam.gray@apexhotels.co.uk to discuss your stay further.
Please be assured that I can put a note on your account in our system to say that you would prefer not to occupy from 301 on any future stays. I am in the process of replacing the mattress at the moment in 301 thanks to your comment. As you can appreciate, I don’t often get the opportunity to stay in the hotel so the best way to make improvements is acting upon guest feedback.
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us and I hope I can welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great hotel. My partner and I booked to go to Edinburgh for the April weekend and this was one of the cheaper hotels that came up in our search. We booked it and I'm so glad we did. It was a lovely hotel. It was located right beside Haymarket train station and a very short walk into central Edinburgh. It was on a fairly quiet street but that was fine by us because after walking around all day sightseeing, a bit of peace in the hotel bar was just what we wanted. Our room was magnificent. Really large, very modern, great facilities and very friendly staff. If I go back to Edinburgh, I'll be staying here again. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Plus, you get to take the duck home! Marked the score as low for pool/fitness centre as there wasn't one (which I knew when booking).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Caroline,
First of all let me take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Apex European Hotel. I was extremely pleased to read your comments regarding staff as well as comfort. I am glad that you will recommend us and on your next trip you will stay with us again. A familiar face is always nice!
To enhance your next stay, although we do not have fitness or pool facilities out sister property does and this is just a short walk away. Our guests are permitted to use this facility complimentary also. Let us know and we can get this arranged for you.
I look forward to welcoming you to back to the hotel in the not too distant future,
Best Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was not a hotel we chose we were sent there because our first choice had been flooded out. They sent us to the Apex which they insisted was the same as the boutique hotel we were meant to stay in. It wasn't. The style of the place was non descript and the beds were very soft. The only thing I liked was the duck in the bathroom that we got to take away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Karen,
I am disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations and it is not the experience I expect guests to have either. When you get a moment, if you possible could you provide me with some more details regarding your name or arrival date etc and I can look into this further. My email address is adam.gray@apexhotels.co.uk.
Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave feedback regarding your stay. I hope to use this feedback to improve our service and comfort we provide for guests.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Warm Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was in walking distance to downtown Edinburgh with its castle and royal mile and grassmarket. With its location near the station haymarket it invites to travel even a little around the area. The hotel staff was extremly friendly and very helpful. The hotelroom was small but very nice and clean. I would definitely recommend that hotel. But the breakfast they offer was a little overpriced for that what it offered, but in the street near the hotel are some cafes for nice cheaper breakfasts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R8D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at the Apex European Hotel. Your comments regarding staff were extremely pleasing to read and I have passed the praise onto the staff personally. I am glad that you would recommend us and I do hope that if you visit Edinburgh again that you would consider staying with us again.
Warm Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very convenient, accessible for airport and city centre- good location. Staff very polite and friendly. The room - cleen ,quiet and comfortable. Only blanket was too warm for me. I think, it can be thin woollen rug. So many wonderful sheeps are in Scotland ! Everything else was perfekt.

Room Tip: Ewerything - very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 277robertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Robertas,
Thank you for taking the opportunity to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at the Apex European Hotel. Your positive comments are much appreciated and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you visit Edinburgh again and choose to stay with us (which I hope you do) please let us know your preference for bedding and I can have this arranged for you. Thinner blankets are available upon request.
I do hope you will visit us again.
Warm Regards,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,162 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
237 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £42 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and Edinburgh Airport, Apex Haymarket Hotel, is the perfect base for both business and leisure stays. All rooms are stylish and modern featuring luxurious Elemis toiletries, an LCD TV and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Traditional British and international dishes are on offer at Metro West End Restaurant, the ideal place to catch up with friends or watch the world go by outside. If you’ve got a late finish or early start, 24-hour room service is available to suit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing