We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reasonable Apex Hotel ...And a red duck!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #72 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Reasonable Apex Hotel ...And a red duck!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was the fifth different Apex we’ve stayed in and, although an above average hotel in general, didn’t seem quite as good value as the other Apex hotels.

The hotel is only a few minutes’ walk from the Edinburgh Haymarket train station, and has bus stops right outside for buses into Edinburgh city centre. It’s not too far to walk either – about 15 minutes to Princes Street.

As with all the Apex hotel staff we’ve met, everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and cheerful. Check-in was very quick and easy. We arrived quite early and were able to leave our bags until a room was ready.

Our standard City Room was the smallest we’ve stayed in at an Apex but was still very well equipped, including large flat-screen TV with Freeview and a DVD player (you can hire DVDs from the hotel library), a small safe, bath with shower, nice quality toiletries, etc. Complimentaries included tea, coffee, bottles of still and sparkling water, hot chocolate, and cookies.

The hotel also has free wi-fi throughout, with a PC (plus printer) opposite Reception free for guests to use 24hrs for accessing the internet.

Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking a main road, but two layers of double glazing mean that it was very quiet …However, the room was also very hot (with no air conditioning). This meant that we didn’t get too good a night’s sleep because we had to chose between being much too hot or opening the windows and suffering traffic noise.

During our stay we got our fifth rubber duck – a red one this time! (Each Apex Hotel has a different coloured duck waiting for you in the bathroom).

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent but relatively pricey.

So all in all, heat/traffic noise issues aside, we enjoyed our stay at the Apex European but will probably pay the extra to stay at one of its 4 star sister hotels next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    438
    144
    55
    19
See reviews for
92
438
67
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We had to wait 20 minutes after check-in before we could go to the room. In the end we were put into a different room because the one we had booked was still not ready.

Once shown to the room, we found a thick layer of dust lining the windowsill and fridge. The air smelt of sweaty socks and generally felt stale.

Not pleasant and would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thank you for your review and for also taking the time to discuss your concerns with me directly after your departure. We strive to have every room ready for our guests on their arrival, regardless of the time of day but unfortunately, when we are very busy this is not always possible. I was glad to hear that we were able to move allocations to ensure you were given a room only 20 minutes after your arrival. I would also like to apologise that you felt that the room we allocated you did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

stayed in Apex European Hotel for 2 nights. Greate location, near Haymarket Station, bus stop nearby. Staff are helpful. Yet rooms facing the main street are quite noisy at night. Better ask for room facing the backyard.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yip_Yip_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind regards
Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed in this hotel last weekend and could not fault it. The staff are truly wonderful, food great. Try the Taste of Scotland menu, wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMDalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay last weekend. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the Taste of Scotland menu in our Restaurant. This menu has locally sourced ingredients for all the dishes and is proving to be very popular with our guests, due to the great value offered.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Staff was friendly, helpful, and kind; restaurant and bar had excellent food for reasonable city prices; room was clean and nicely tended. I was delighted by my stay. Thanks, Apex European!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skybets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you very much for your review! I'm glad you had such a great time with us. I hope to welcome you back when you next visit Scotland.
Kind regards
Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was a great choice. THe hotel is just enough of a walk outside town centre (about 3 or 4 minutes down the way from Haymarket station), in a really handy area. Busses run right past the hotel (you couldn't hear them from our room) so you can get to wherever you like within minutes --the zoo was about 10 minutes by bus, and town centre was about a 10 minute walk. Lucy, at the front desk, was amazing, she was a local, and gave us insider information on where to get a good cup of coffee and odd little shops to check out, which was invaluable.

The hotel was incredibly clean and the room was spacious and had --to my boyfriend's glee-- a 42" tv on the wall, which was great for catching up on the news after a full day in town.

We didn't take the B&B option, choosing to eat in town simply because that's generally our preference, but having seen the quality of the hotel's amenities, I would think it would have to be in line with everything else that is of very high standard at this establishment. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki70three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Edinburgh and that you found our hotel such a great base for your stay. Being situated in the West End of town, we have excellent transport links right on our doorstep. Although we are still very much within walking distance to the city centre, many people choose to use the excellent bus links to save their energy for The Royal Mile and Princes Street!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Have just returned from a stay at this hotel - all I can say is I wish I had stayed at the Premier Inn - the rooms are so much nicer. Have a look at the pictures and judge for yourself - the room number I stayed in was is 301.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for contacting me directly to discuss your concerns. I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations on this occassion and I can assure you that actions have been taken immediately to rectify the issues you raised with your bedroom. We have an ongoing programme in our bathrooms to replace and repair grouting and silicone in bath and shower areas. The bedroom you stayed in is now a priority to ensure this is brought up to standard. It would appear that there has been some kind of water damage to the skirting boards which I am not aware of. I have asked my Maintenance Manager to replace these boards immediately. Thank you also for the kind words regarding our staff, which you mentioned when you contacted me directly.

Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and Edinburgh Airport, Apex Haymarket Hotel, is the perfect base for both business and leisure stays. All rooms are stylish and modern featuring luxurious Elemis toiletries, an LCD TV and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Traditional British and international dishes are on offer at Metro West End Restaurant, the ideal place to catch up with friends or watch the world go by outside. If you’ve got a late finish or early start, 24-hour room service is available to suit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing