We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing response” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing response”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

A couple of weeks ago I stayed at this hotel and sent complimentary comments about my stay which had been very pleasant. However, I did mention that the pillows in my room were temptingly soft, but too much so for my liking. Two days ago I returned to stay again and the hotel had arranged, spontaneously, for me to have firmer pillows! They had spotted my comment, noted I was returning and put different pillows in the room - all without me asking. That's what I think is real customer service. Thank you Apex European. I had a great sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldlyOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    417
    138
    54
    19
See reviews for
89
424
61
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed here for 1 night before flying out early next morning from Edinburgh Airport. This Hotel is ideally situated near Haymarket Station. The room was a good size with a large flatscreen TV on the wall and had tea coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits. The room had no air conditioning but a large fan was provided which worked perfectly well. The bathroom has a large walk-in shower and Elemis products and also a duck which you can take with you. Furnishings were of a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. A special mention to the Staff on the front desk both and check-in and check-out - they were extremely friendly and courteous. I would highly recommend this Hotel both as a stopover and also for a longer holiday.

If you are going to the Airport from the Hotel you have to walk back to Haymarket Station to catch the Airport Bus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

The service in all the Apex hotels in Scotland is excellent, from the minute you arrive it is friendly and efficient. The room's are clean and well maintained with great facilities whither on business or for a holiday. The restaurant is excellent with a great choice for dinner and breakfast. Room Service is quick and again there is a great choice of meals and snacks. I stay in other hotels in Edinburgh and Dundee if the Apex Hotels are full but I always return as they provide an excellent all round service and a great night's sleep. The Apex european is located close to Haymarket Station and there is easy access to all the sites in Edinburgh. If you stay at any of the Apex Hotels in Edinburgh you can have access to their spa, swimming and fitness facilities at their hotel in Grassmarket.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I particularly appreciate your kind comments regarding our high level of service, it's something we pride ourselves on! We have recently replaced all our mattresses to ensure you always have a comfortable night with us. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwinn, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This hotel is a few miles from Edinburgh City Center but traveling on the city busses were a snap and fares where reasonable. The desk clerks are great people and have a smile for you allthe time. Rooms are somewhat small but very comfortable also has a refrigurator and treats. The beds remind us of our own back home in the states. The whole place is really clean and also has an elevator. The restaurant has a seletion of good meals and very fine scottish breakfast buffet. We would say this hotel was a great place to stay for your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frost6935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Scotland. Habeeb loves his photo!

Kind regards
Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was the fifth different Apex we’ve stayed in and, although an above average hotel in general, didn’t seem quite as good value as the other Apex hotels.

The hotel is only a few minutes’ walk from the Edinburgh Haymarket train station, and has bus stops right outside for buses into Edinburgh city centre. It’s not too far to walk either – about 15 minutes to Princes Street.

As with all the Apex hotel staff we’ve met, everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and cheerful. Check-in was very quick and easy. We arrived quite early and were able to leave our bags until a room was ready.

Our standard City Room was the smallest we’ve stayed in at an Apex but was still very well equipped, including large flat-screen TV with Freeview and a DVD player (you can hire DVDs from the hotel library), a small safe, bath with shower, nice quality toiletries, etc. Complimentaries included tea, coffee, bottles of still and sparkling water, hot chocolate, and cookies.

The hotel also has free wi-fi throughout, with a PC (plus printer) opposite Reception free for guests to use 24hrs for accessing the internet.

Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking a main road, but two layers of double glazing mean that it was very quiet …However, the room was also very hot (with no air conditioning). This meant that we didn’t get too good a night’s sleep because we had to chose between being much too hot or opening the windows and suffering traffic noise.

During our stay we got our fifth rubber duck – a red one this time! (Each Apex Hotel has a different coloured duck waiting for you in the bathroom).

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent but relatively pricey.

So all in all, heat/traffic noise issues aside, we enjoyed our stay at the Apex European but will probably pay the extra to stay at one of its 4 star sister hotels next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We had to wait 20 minutes after check-in before we could go to the room. In the end we were put into a different room because the one we had booked was still not ready.

Once shown to the room, we found a thick layer of dust lining the windowsill and fridge. The air smelt of sweaty socks and generally felt stale.

Not pleasant and would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thank you for your review and for also taking the time to discuss your concerns with me directly after your departure. We strive to have every room ready for our guests on their arrival, regardless of the time of day but unfortunately, when we are very busy this is not always possible. I was glad to hear that we were able to move allocations to ensure you were given a room only 20 minutes after your arrival. I would also like to apologise that you felt that the room we allocated you did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

stayed in Apex European Hotel for 2 nights. Greate location, near Haymarket Station, bus stop nearby. Staff are helpful. Yet rooms facing the main street are quite noisy at night. Better ask for room facing the backyard.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yip_Yip_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind regards
Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing