We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Hill - Parliament House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Parliament House Hotel on Calton Hill and found it be a fantastic location with comfortable rooms and great classic Scottish breakfasts!
It truly is an easy 5-8 minute walk from the

We were there Oct 6-8, 2012 during beautiful weather (i.e. no rain) and found the $185 british pounds for both nights; a good value, especially as it included VAT and full breakfasts. Though centrally located, with great views, it was quiet and charming. We could reach Edinburgh Castle via the Royal Mile or go the opposite direction to Holyrood Castle with just a 15 minute walk (rather brisk walk).The rooms have a classic, peaceful decor with the charming toy dog, a stuffed but realistic looking replica of Greyfriar's Bobby, to keep you company. The bathroom was fully equipped with bathtub and shower and room for storage.

Definitely book the full Scottish breakfast - you can walk for miles on the fuel it provides. You get eggs, toast, tomatoes,grits, mushrooms, bacon/ham and sausage and the unique portion of haggis plus juice and coffee. Who could ask for more? There is also a buffet and you can order individual items if you like. Service was quick and friendly, but not intrusive.

We'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city. Marvelous at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoEurophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Food was appalling. Medium rare steak was well done and a stone found in chips. Totally overpriced and poor menu. They have a pre theatre deal but its actually cheaper picking 2 meals. will not be returning. Very dangerous to actually exit premises due to an extremely steep stair.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TennentsAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed at the Parliament House Hotel during a weekend trip to Edinburgh. I was initially attracted by the location (very close to the main train station) as we were arriving by train and were looking for something central.

The price was highly competitive and I was pleasantly surprised by the room. We had a very comfortable bed, modern bathroom and windows that actually opened to let in some fresh air! The room wasn't huge but certainly adequate for two people for a weekend and the central location was great for getting home after an evening out without being too loud.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend break in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Gorgeous hotel, rooms were very well laid out with everything you could need and the staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable, the mini fridge was inexpensive and the bathroom was gorgeous! Directions to the Hotel are very limited on the website, and for travellers that have never been to Edinburgh before, it was tricky to find my foot. Also, the restaurant had an excellent menu, but the food didn't live up to expectation. The main was dry and the dessert was fully coated with cocoa powder, which will only make something bitter if used excessively. Don't eat in the restaurant, but do stay in the hotel. Very happy with the stay (although the dog did freak me out).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrylC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

booked an overnight stay for two couples, great place for the money I can honestly say I have not had a better value hotel at this standard, not a modern hotel ,old fashioned type, inexpensive drinks, rooms were exceptionally clean and all that you need from a smaller hotel including a fridge, allthough in the heart of the city access was up a fairly steep hill, and that was the thing wrong ! next time I am in Edinburgh I will be back there and hoping to get the deal if possible

Room Tip: unless you are active and capeable of walking up a steep hill , not that far i may add, however valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chryston186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have just had a superb 2 night stay from walking in the front door our welcome was as warm as the hotel

Booking in was easy very fast everything was explained to us our room was beautiful and so warm we could not find fault with anything

Breakfast certainly set you up for the day nothing is any trouble to the staff who worked very hard (well done to you all)

My only disappointment is I came to the capital on the 25th Jan to celebrate Burns night but had to go out for a
Burns supper as there was none at the hotel which was a shame

Many thanks to you all we will be back

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MintcakeKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had an enjoyable weekend in Edinburgh with friends. This hotel is centrally located in easy walking distance to all attractions. The Parliament House Hotel is a cozy and comfortable hotel. The beds were especially comfortable. Continental our full Scottish breakfast is available. The Bistro restaurant serves good reasonably priced food. I would have no hesitation of recommend this hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#107 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,163 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing