We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parliament House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$490
US$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$283
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$167
US$151
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
380
507
165
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
507
165
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalton hillgreat locationprinces streetwaverley stationwaterloo placeshower screenno liftlovely hotelfull scottishwould stay here againmini bartop floorreception areaquiet streetroyal milesmall hotelhaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The reason we booked Parliament House Hotel is the location to Waverley Station. This worked well for returning a hire car.
The room was small, I managed to put my suitcase in the cupboard, my husband's suit case beside his beside table and lugged a chair over to the window and pushed it back as far as I could, we could breathe; the room space still limited. The tv was archaic but the lovely girl at reception came and showed us how not to get a red screen. Other staff were very helpful and there was wifi freely available. As it was raining we attempted to go out, however we dined at the Bistro attached and it was excellent.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When we arrived, having booked on a tip from relatives, we found that room we had booked (one of the better, more expensive ones in the property) was simply enormous. Well furnished, great views, near the train station, easy walk to both Royal Mile and New Town. Good value. Unfortunately the toilet leaked -- clean water from the point where the water went into the tank, but still, enough to be a problem. The desk staff, and especially a gentleman who i think was the assistant manager, worked assiduously to fix the issue. While a plumber was unavailable on the (all simultaneous) final weekend of the Tatoo, last days of the Fringe, and conclusion of the music and book festivals, they made it bearable. With every hotel in town fully booked, and Parliament House itself full too, they did what they needed to to make it work. I'll always remember the gentleman responding to my worry that he'd ruin the knees of his suit (by fiddling with the plumbing and a wrench) by saying that it was his job to do whatever it took to make our stay pleasant. PS: our rate included a private walking tour of the city, and the guide they arranged was terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincent1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel in good location. Booked for 2 nights as visiting Edinburgh for Tattoo. Although clean, room was very small, probably too small for a double so was inadequate and my husband and I kept knocking into things. Also, small things like tea and coffee canister not being checked, what sachets in it were old and indeed one had split open and spilt. Also, no milk provided, so guessing room not checked for a while maybe. Also, breakfast not included and this was not value for money. Nor unfortunately was the room, it was very expensive for what it was. Appreciate did pay a premium for visiting during The Fringe period. Shame really, have visited Edinburgh 3 times previously and always had a pleasant all round experience, just a shame about the hotel this time. This was a special trip for us and it was spoilt a little by our stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on basement level, maybe those on upper floors were better sized and had better views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishArlesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Conveniently located 5min from Waverley Station and Princess St Shopping yet remarkably quiet. .Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast consistent and good quality. Although only small we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homebythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely hotel with quiet well appointed rooms. I was there with a large group of french speaking friends. Staff were friendly and helpful although no one spoke french which was a suprise. Bistro restaurant was lively and all the staff in the breakfast room were first rate. We had a haggis evening in a beautiful private room overlooking Edinburgh - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoupLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews