We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parliament House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$680
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
385
510
169
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
510
169
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalton hillgreat locationprinces streetwaverley stationwaterloo placeshower screenno liftlovely hotelfull scottishwould stay here againmini bartop floorreception areaquiet streetroyal milesmall hotelhaggis
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for the second time in a year. Usually quite critical of hotels but are struggling to find anything bad to say about this place. It's a great location, lovely building, fab breakfast and staff very nice. If pushed the only thing I would say is there is no bar, however they do sell drinks to have in your room. Definitely a good find.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night - good location near to Waverley Station and Princes Street! On arrival we ended up at the bottom of Calton Hill so a mega, cobbled climb to the hotel followed - once we got our bearings we realised there is a much easier way via Waterloo Road! Surly reception staff who seemed surprised to have visitors directed us to our room - which was up two flights of stairs, along a corridor and then DOWN two flights of steep, spiral stairs - not for the faint-hearted as there is no lift! Room was nice although felt a bit like a dungeon as the tiny window let in very little light - could be claustrophobic especially if it was particularly warm outside! Nice bathroom, nice furnishings plus lovely breakfast - breakfast staff could teach reception staff a thing or two about customer service - the lady when we checked out was as surly as her colleague at check in. Would go again because of the location but would ask for a room that didn't require mountaineering!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

after staying in the hotel in august 2013 for two nights we would recommend this hotel to anybody ! we did have a slight problem but the manageress bent over backwards to help us ! exellant staff , lovely clean rooms, we booked three rooms this year and are so impressed we,ve booked six rooms for next year ! ps you,ll love the lift !

Room Tip: all rooms are exellant !
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thediscobkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been throughout Europe and lodged in assorted rooms. For the most part, the rooms are small, the beds somewhat comfortable and the decor a bit on the drab side. But, this never became an issue when I factored into the equation the amount of time I spent in the room.

And then I stood at the Parliament House Hotel and it changed my perception of what a hotel should be like forever.

The rooms are soothingly decorated in style and taste. Nothing extravagant, mind you, but also they were cheery. What's more, the furniture was comfortable. The bed in my room was enormous! And that little stuffed dog on the chair? It made me smile then and now as I think about it.

The services the Parliament House provided were phenominal. The staff was gracious, well informed and more than willing to take on any request at a moments notice.

A highlight is the small, neatly tucked away, restaurant on the lowest floor. Warm and inviting, it was a quiet respite after a days shopping and sight seeing (did I mention that Princes Street was virtually a few minutes walk from the Parlimanet House?). I had the haggis and salmon and although not experienced enough to critique the food, they were certainly tasty. But, more important, was the service and friendly attitude of the wait staff. Bravo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here for one night with my daughter as we were going to the Playhouse Theatre to see a show. Firstly I would say not to even think about this Hotel if you are not fit enough to walk up the very steep hill to the Hotel. There is steps which you can use but they are just as bad. When you get to the Hotel, depending where your room is, there is no lift. Our room was clean and nice, but I would've thought for the price we paid they could've had put out some scottish shortbread to go with our wee cuppa. We found our bed a bit lumpy and not very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews